Muckka wrote: » I wouldn't have a clue really excuse my ignorance. I remember myself and my son a few years ago went into a place to eat off O'Connell Street. One mother was saying to her boy, he was around 8 comere ya little bollix ya FFS come on ya little shoite ya... My son didn't know what to think, I was laughing to myself... Two muckers in the big smoke, then we seen two car chase's, people scraping.. People falling around like Zombies it's worth going up there to see the other side. Although Shannon and Ennis has its fair share of junkie's and there's always someone getting arrested outside supermacs on a Saturday night... It's happening in every crossroads, village, town and city in Ireland...
Muckka wrote: » Thanks for the English for dummies lesson. My very own magicmarker, but all jokes aside. I didn't mean to derail the thread. It's serious and sad to hear about killings, I'll not interrupt the flow of the thread. Sorry.
Southdubin6 wrote: » I’d rather be sleeping in a tent in a lane in Dublin then living in Ennis. Hahahah
hatrickpatrick wrote: » Slightly off topic, but Darndale was reconfigured a number of years ago to make criminal activity more difficult and improve the safety of residents, but does anyone know what was changed and what it was like before? I've heard some bizarre stories about it involving flipping houses back to front (as in, the back door becomes the front door and so on) so that the fronts of houses face the main road now as opposed to the lanes and cul de sacs, but I honestly don't see how that's supposed to make a huge difference in terms of safety...?
Jeff2 wrote: » Yes, they flipped them around as you say. It was a case of your front door in an alley. I'm not sure if they blocked the alleys or put gates on them.
Dante7 wrote: » The little courtyards were havens for drug dealing and anti-social behaviour and were impossible to police. I'd expect a huge effort from the Gardai to prosecute those responsible for this latest murder. It's one thing to have gangsters wiping each other out, bit this was a working man with no convictions or involvement in crime who was murdered on his way to work over an apparent personal dispute.
paw patrol wrote: » it's very worrying that a working man gets shot over a row. I hope the garda come down very hard on this.
Sam Quentin wrote: » What? A guy gets shot in Darndale and apparently it's the pits.. looks like an ok area to me,. anyone can get shot anywhere.
Turner wrote: » I can assure you Darndale is a complete sh1thole
Rows Grower wrote: » Jaysus, that's a tad harsh.
Ush1 wrote: » Can it be any worse than parts of Tallaght, Finglas or Ballyfermot?
Turner wrote: » No, certain parts of all the above are absolute sh1tholes too.
El_Bee wrote: » I mean, give that guy the benefit of the doubt sure, but so many of these guys are eulogized as "family men" etc. I mean look at that Zach Parker guy, quiet young man, had his whole life ahead, mixed up in the wrong crowd, good guy at heart all that stuff, then some of the northside's most dangerous violent criminals roll up to his funeral?
Gadgetman496 wrote: » Assuming the victim was the target. Someone goes to the bother of getting a gun, stealing a car in Jan for use in Feb, stalks the individual, approaches and shoots dead the individual in front of many others, leaves the scene and burns out the car, accepts that the consequences are severe if caught, people don't do that over nothing.
Rory Straight Jumpsuit wrote: » Its the absolute truth though. Darndale is a complete and utter sh*thole. I used to do take away deliveries from Thang Congs in Priorswood. We had to use a runner/helper because a driver couldn't leave his car without it getting robbed. You had to wait for the young lad to come running safely back to the car like a bat out of hell. I lost count of the times they were robbed and beat up. They were desparate times and I needed the money, I wouldn't go near the place now unless it was to straff it from a helicopter gunship (and napalm bombs too, and maybe white phospherous too).
Gadgetman496 wrote: » Dad John Lawless described as 'quiet family man' with no known links to criminal activity.https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057832446&page=182
Collie D wrote: » Am I missing something with the link?
not yet wrote: » Would you give a 10 min warning:D