El CabaIIo wrote: » Yeah, that's what I meant by cutback weeks. The plan has already them built in but the way the 30 minutes are been added to the longer runs means that they don't exist now. If you add 30 minutes to a Sunday moderate 80 minutes moderate long run, it's caught up to the 2:15 long easy long run in mileage because the moderate section is so much faster. The way luke designed that plan, there's a cutback week every second week because the effect the long run has on beginner runners.
OOnegative wrote: » I’d agree with you!! Only thing I can possibly add is 3 weeks on/1 week off. What I mean by that is 3 weeks of decent mileage followed by a week where you scale it back to recover somewhat and let the training take effect per se. Keep a close eye on the niggles & body also. If you’re constantly feeling tired pay heed to it.
El CabaIIo wrote: » Fine, ye can feck and figure out ye're own thoughts on it after this though:p The Grads beginner plan is fairly low intensity and I would really consider it a base plan rather than a really specific marathon plan so in that respect, the mileage itself is probably the biggest obstacle in terms of getting it done. There's probably a few ways you could look at, is it better to be running a load of 90 minutes plus runs at a slow pace or running less mileage at a faster pace. You'll probably get a 1000 different answers from a 1000 different people on that. I'd say and a load of people here would probably disagree with me that there is nothing inherently wrong with running for that long most days when the intensity is low if you can handle it but there's a few things that catch my eye that I would worry about. 1. You haven't had any cutback weeks since this log started(fitness is gained during recovery) 2. You are adding a lot of running to workout days- last week you had two runs lasting around two hours which had moderate efforts included. Your two hardest days were also your two longest days Higher intensity days should be the last place you add mileage to imo. Although you have the option to add 30 minutes. If it was me, I would add it to the short or off days where the volume is low or a rest day and not on top of the the biggest days or hardest days. Thay way, the week is more balanced and you are running it across 7 days, not 6 and you won't have as many 90+ minute days. 3. With the plan overall, you have moved the long run up to Saturday which is fine but you haven't moved the Wednesday workout or medium easy up a day to compensate for the closer long run. If you want to keep the long run on Saturday, move everything else up a day too so the week starts on Sunday. 4. You are tired and dreaming of Ice cream:pac: Sure fire sign that you aren't getting enough good carbs in. With the amount of training you are doing, it makes a huge difference to just how much you need to eat to support that volume of activity. I have a feeling you aren't eating enough So in conclusion. More cutback weeks like the plan has built in Better spread of volume to low or off days rather than adding to big and higher intensity days Move the whole plan forward a day to compensate for the long run being on Saturday Look after your dietary intake And for god sake, look after yourself!
skyblue46 wrote: » Truthfully I'd say I have a fear rather than a conviction. :pac: As the plan looks for more over the next few weeks I'd be afraid I'd see 4 or 5 two hour runs a week and running for 12 hours a week. The plan suggests adding 30 mins of VERY easy paced miles to the plan up to 3 times a week tops. In all honesty I'd love to hear what someone like El C would think. I'm not remotely knowledgeable enough
ariana` wrote: » I'll be truthful and say i had wondered seeing your training runs on strava and the very regular occurrence of an additional 30 mins. I hadn't noticed the pacing issues you mention but have been fearful of burn out due to the number of hours you've been spending on your runs (and also in complete awe i must add!). However as i failed miserably at the plan last year i didn't feel in any way qualified to comment but i'm interested to see feedback from others around these parts. You've been incredibly dedicated and deserve to have an absolutely great race. Keep it sensible now for the last stretch and i really think you will be flying the Irish flag with great pride in Manchester
Applegirl26 wrote: » Ah I always appreciate the feedback! I knew myself my pacing had gone silly. I was feeling tired but I had a lot of stuff going on too.I don't want to leave my marathon in my training... Do you think I'm running too much? I've been adding on the extra 30 mins to most of the midweek runs.
Applegirl26 wrote: » Ah I always appreciate the feedback! I knew myself my pacing had gone silly. I was feeling tired but I had a lot of stuff going on too. I don't want to leave my marathon in my training... Do you think I'm running too much? I've been adding on the extra 30 mins to most of the midweek runs.
skyblue46 wrote: » Aw now it wasn't a ticking off...it was a well intentioned word of advice. :pac: It's really a word of caution. Your training last week amounted to over 10 hours and there are still 4 weeks I think before the plan hits its peak week. I'm just afraid you leave your marathon on the streets of D15 and the PP. The amount of running you are doing, at the paces you were falling into and talk of tiredness had my alarm bells ringing.
Strawberry Swan wrote: » I have to say, you really are an inspiration! You put in crazy amount of training at crazy times with a crazy busy life which mine doesn't come close to. If you can do it then no reason I can't. The training is going so well you will be awesome in Manchester :-)
AuldManKing wrote: » Manchester is such a lovely race - some of the towns & villages that you run through have choirs etc - its just amazing. Yes, theres a stretch near the end in the countryside, but you'll defo remember the crowds at those towns.
Applegirl26 wrote: » Thanks so much bluesquare. My race is in April. I ran Raheny and Trim. My next race is Bohermeen. Then it's Manchester.
Bluesquare wrote: » Bohermeen is a great race ! A very nice course! I'm going back for the third time this year !! My favourite half.
Bluesquare wrote: » Great running - your so positive even when tired etc. when is your race? Are you dong any smaller ones before hand?
Kellygirl wrote: » Are you having carbs and protein with the soup? Might help especially when running so early the next morning. Even some bread with the soup and a protein yoghurt after? Same after your run in the mornings though I assume you have a good breakfast then anyway?
Applegirl26 wrote: » Thanks Kellygirl. Yes, the early ones are always on empty bar a few sips of lucozade like on Thursday or this morning. I eat OK if I've been at home the day before but at work it's very busy and I usually don't get a break in the evening. I often have some homemade soup when I get home. It's easy to digest and only takes a few minutes to heat up.
Kellygirl wrote: » You are doing great as always. Are you doing all those morning runs on an empty stomach? Can’t imagine you get time to eat beforehand at that hour. Are you eating well the night before?
Bluesquare wrote: » Well done on your pb ! I was at Trim as well and I did notice the pacers seemed to go out a little quick - I started right at the back and it seemed to take too long to catch them . The second half was hillier and the wind was in our faces so maybe that's why. Respect for the early morning runs.
eyrie wrote: » Two terrific races L, well done! Utterly unsurprising given your consistency. I love that your son enjoyed his so much too. Oh and you definitely earned the 3 fig rolls - I would call that a very modest post-race treat
Kellygirl wrote: » I know what you mean. I wish I had discovered that I liked running when I was much younger. I always thought I couldn’t run. It’s funny when people say that now and I tell them I started running 1 minute at a time and I think they still don’t believe that. I didn’t run this morning as it was raining and my husband is home so I knew I could go this eve - and I nearly bailed then this eve. You are so right to get it done in the morning before anyone or anything can stop you.