Fr_Dougal wrote: » It’s a popular saying down in Kerry, derived from the Irish word for mother.
Day Lewin wrote: » And when did the expression "I said..." get replaced by "I'm like..." ???
Zayden Nervous Lump wrote: » Around most gaeltachts tbh. I didn't grow up in one but within driving distance. Everyone said/says "Mom". To have someone tell me that it's unIrish is as hilarious as it is tragic.
bodice ripper wrote: Some of us actually have this accent and are sick to the back teeth of dealing with middle aged men, who believe they are the salt of the earth, thinking they've made some insightful observation when they have you cornered in a pub.
Tell me how wrote: » Whatever about the mid-Atlantic twang spoken about above, what I find really irritating is the vocal fry as practised by the Kardashians and the likes.
Succubus_ wrote: » I say mom, I was raised to say mom and most of my friends used ''mom'' too. There were some lads that used to tease us about it because they said mam but otherwise it seemed fairly normal. I've noticed it seems to be a middle class city thing. Like middle class children in Cork city and Dublin city seem to grow up saying mom.
Wibbs wrote: To be fair yeah that's a pain if you are an American/Canadian and it's just your accent.
bodice ripper wrote: » Or, to be fair, anyone who spent some of their childhood in international schools. A blanded out accent on a native English speaker is usually interpreted as an American accent.
Wibbs wrote: » I'm middle class, born and bred in Dublin as are most of my friends I grew up with and not a "mom" user among them, "mam", or "mum" were the variants(though I've noted two of them are using "mom" more, but it's a recent thing). Now I'm older than you, which suggests a generational change and one I'd mark down to circa the 90's, which again strongly suggests no "Irish language" influence and much more a US cultural influence as both the interwebs and more TV channels spread throughout the country. I'd personally reckon the interwebs and spellcheckers had more of an effect. Why? well being as I said a Dub, as a child in the 70's and 80's we had "piped TV" so more channels than those beyond the Pale and a lot of those TV programmes were American and British. Sesame Street came up in a thread earlier and I adored that show as a kid(picked up some Spanish from it) and grew up and feasted on Kojak, Starsky and Hutch etc, absorbed US Marvel comics like sunlight(remainder stock in little shop across the road from Eason. Dirt cheap:D) and yet neither me nor my peers had American or British accents. I do recall getting static from an English teacher for using an American spelling in an essay(I remember clearly using "thru" instead of "through". The shame. ), which I almost certainly picked up from Spiderman or whatever. That made me so twitchy then I still use "gaol" instead of "jail", when almost nobody does anymore. So I can well understand with wall to wall American TV and American interwebs how many, particularly younger folks are picking up the accents and spellings. If I had been born in say 2000 I'd probably be talking like that too. After all look at threads here on Boards over the last only few years, with talk of "cucks" and "liberal" and "SJW" and "alt-right" and all sorts of the dafter American political identity nonsense(when I saw Irish Boardsies use MAGA... Jesus). They didn't hear that in any gaeltacht. EDIT. I notice S you said it was mostly lads who mostly highlighted you saying "mom". I remember reading somewhere that young women are more likely to absorb accents(and peer slang) than young men and I have noticed the mid Atlantic accent to be much more prevalent in Irish women than in Irish men. A mate of mine has three kids, two girls and a boy, the boy sounds entirely "local", whereas both the girls have the "American" accent thing, the younger being the more accentuated of the two(There's a ten year gap between them). Another mate of mine's parents who are fairly old; his mother says "mom", his father "mam". It's interesting stuff this accent/language thing.
bodice ripper wrote: » We never get asked are we from the States by Americans.
Succubus_ wrote: » When I lived in Dublin people knew I wasn't a Dub but often couldn't place me, just as a culchie
sbsquarepants wrote: » And this one time, in band camp.... I can not stand it, fúck right off you pseudo sceptic, valley girl wannabe shower of dicks!:mad: I remember years ago being hit on by this fairly hot Calafornian girl and having to actually leave the pub - when single, I'd get up on cracked plate but this girls accent was hurting my very soul, I just couldn't bear it. If she had of just shut the hell up, there'd have been no problem, but nooo!!!
Deleted User wrote: »
Day Lewin wrote: » Saw an article once, and the author claimed quite persuasively that it could all be traced to "Friends" Apparently before 3/4 of the world's teenagers watched that show, the upwards-ending-sentence was not heard in the other English-speaking countries. Not to mention A B Ceez and X Y Zees. And when did the expression "I said..." get replaced by "I'm like..." ???
Church on Tuesday wrote: » Wait, what? you were (I assume) single, a hot Californian girl was hitting on you... and you just upped and left?! because of her accent? That was... not very clever.