Brantley Fresh Trend wrote: » An awful lot of bait taking from the OP who just talks bollox all the time. European standards - exactly. There is barely any snow in this country and therefore no point in spending on infrastructure and we aren't used to it. But thankfully we have superior beings like you who just happens to be different to the rest of us plebs, to tell us what's what.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » Some of the oddballs over on the weather forum are in a state of arousal at the thought of some snow. Getting excited about stocking up on tinned goods, gas canisters, and candles.
AllGunsBlazing wrote: » You dismiss Irish snow days at your peril, OP Lest we forget imo... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFEZ5_zlS0w
oneilla wrote: » Was it ever discovered if he is alright?
Renegade Mechanic wrote: » Drivers need to learn to drive too. If I get stuck behind one more 2nd gear crawler, I'll blow the ditch away to get around them :mad:
VinLieger wrote: » Ive lived in Ireland for 33 years before last year the last time snow caused any issues was in 2009 and 2010 and even that was just a day or two of inconvenience, before that ive no memory of snow causing anything like what you describe
VinLieger wrote: » 1 week of snow in 1 year is not reason enough to spend 10's of millions to purchase the equipment and then all the resulting overheads of storing and maintaining the equipment.
questionmark? wrote: » How dare people who are nervous of dangerous conditions take their time whilst thinking safety over been on time is more important!!
Renegade Mechanic wrote: » I simply REFUSE. I normally leave home and take a half hour. Today - like all days like this - I take 45 minutes. 5 minutes brushing off snow and clearing all windows/mirrors and lights while my yoke warms up and 10 minutes on a head start because roads on which 50 or 60mph are the norm become roads on which 30 or 40 is safer. I should not have to sit behind someone crawling at 15 because their summer Wanlis "passed the NCT" and they find it difficult to see through the football sized hole they made in the condensation. Or because they are terrified of ice. At 15 mph it's easy to stop and let someone pass. If they can see them. Which they can't.. Feck em. I will dig myself to the core of the earth on this
Duffy the Vampire Slayer wrote: » Parts of the north-west have shut down because of snow far more often than east. Still, it's not an annual event.
Balanadan wrote: » I'm sick of hearing the same thing, every facking year.
GAA Beo wrote: » Can't get to the pub, no lift later and the local taxis won't fancy it tonight in these conditions. Local Link and get a taxi they say. Except they only run when they feel like it. Great job again Shane Ross/Fine Gael
DEFTLEFTHAND wrote: » At 15 kph they become a road hazard themselves. A line of frustrated motorists builds behind, it's inevitable then that somebody will snap and attempt a dangerous overtaking manoeuvre. Many accidents and deaths have been caused by this type of behaviour throughout the yrs. It's advisable to inform the Gardai if you see somebody driving in the middle of the lane at 15 kph.
emaherx wrote: » Annual chaos? Really? Oh you live in a different country? Personally I'd rather not waste taxpayers money on equipment that will only really be used every 40 years and maybe played with a little every 10. No we are not as well equipped as countries that live under a blanket of snow and nor should we.
chrissb8 wrote: » Err yes we should be. People will still try try drive & walk out in that weather. There are elderly people who will become isolated as a result of bad weather upto a week at times. And yes why should the country shut down due to bad weather. Why not be a prepared nation? We had snow last year....and we're looking like we'll have it this year. Is that not frequent enough for you? What? Sit on our laurels and just accept it?! There are plenty of reasons to invest in equipment to prepare for the snow. Not have stupid bread & milk rushes because a truck can't make it down the road. It doesn't take much to prepare for it. The money lost in trade and commerce is a disaster in comparison to shelling out a bit of money to be prepared. It makes perfect sense from every perspective to be ready and prepared.