Muckka wrote: » Is she into Unicorns ? German ???
Muckka wrote: » East Clare is full of them,
fryup wrote: » yep, Tuamgraney, Scariff, Mountshannon etc is a hippy mecca....nice people on the whole although their personal hygiene is questionable
topper75 wrote: » All about the money. Who is funding? If it is the state - they can **** off. If they are self-funded (trusties!) then I am obliged to live and let live I suppose. I sometimes cross over with them on the Venn Diagram of life through musical pursuits. I recall one cafe gig being seated next to a middle-aged couple who paid zero attention to grooming or bathing. They stank like a nasty science experiment. Not nice. They probably thought they were just being 'natural'. Basically some of them need to become 'mindful' of their scent and think more about their fiscal 'footprint'.
Muckka wrote: » Guess why he's called Roadkillbob
Feisar wrote: » Can you imagine the furry cup? It'd be like battery acid!
JohnnyFlash wrote: » Weed smokers, lefties, vegans, questionable hygiene, dreadlocks - plenty to dislike about the average crusty.
DaDumTish wrote: » ah jaysus , batin down on the hippies ?? whats next , the disabled ?
Poor Uncle Tom wrote: » I think you will find you are obliged to live and let live either way........
FTA69 wrote: » I knew a load of them back in Cork and they're a pain in the hole, good for buying grass and acid off sometimes but that was about it. You'd meet the odd one who was sound but even then they'd be a bit floaty; on about psychedelic trance and f*cking fire poi and yoga and the like of it. I've no time for most of them, they'd bore the arse out off you with all manner of mad waffle. I can't trust anyone who was born and raised outside of Clonakilty but still has a posh English accent. In fairness the ones I knew were the somewhat more well-heeled and normal types, their parents were just a bit 'alternative'. I did go to Coole Mountain once and the f*cking state of them, shower of unwashed glorified junkies living in filth and most of them never worked a day in their lives. I remember asking one fella how he managed trips to Nepal and it was "ha ha what do you think man, save up the dole!". As if none of us have anything better to be doing like. Hippies give me the proper hump.
LessOutragePlz wrote: » No suck thing as hippies anymore just crazy left wing liberals now.
topper75 wrote: » Obliged? Yeah. The same obligation I have to live with scabies, mice, and cockroaches.
Greentopia wrote: » ... almost EVERYONE I've ever dealt with in social welfare offices and Intreo. "Oh, you mean Horticulture" 'ticks box'...eh no :rolleyes:...
Rows Grower wrote: » .... Then they started playing and singing "Molly Malone". In Irish. It took about 30 seconds of sheer disbelief for it to actually sink in what was happening. I started laughing and tried to remain inconspicuous but the more the wife elbowed me into the side to stop the more uncontrollable it became and to my eternal shame it spread around the bar. Every where I looked people were trying their best not to show they were laughing. No one could talk. At the end my wife was actually crying with silent laughter an she wasn't the only one either. They got a massive round of applause, cheering and whistling when it was finished but then your one who was kind of the spokesperson for the group made another speech and she was very angry with the audience who once again broke into fits of laughing, she stormed out the door in a huff and two minutes later came back for her coat and stormed out again. We saw her in a cafe the next day, she bought a takeaway coffee paid with ten euro and said keep the change as she swanned off out the door. It was like being on an acid trip.
gozunda wrote: » Sounds hillarious - I presume they murdered the tune but why was yer one so angry? Did they ever go back to playing music in the pub after that?
Rows Grower wrote: » They were brutal as a group, plus the english accents trying to sing in Irish being read a sheet didn't help, as didn't the choice of song. She copped the laughing during the performance and was non too pleased. We haven't been back to Schull since but I wouldn't be one bit surprised if they are still playing that very tune in the same pub to this day, it seems we were just lucky enough to be there for it's public debut. That was the summer of 2017, not 100% sure but I think it might have been O' Regans pub.
FTA69 wrote: » I can't trust anyone who was born and raised outside of Clonakilty but still has a posh English accent.