downcow wrote: » I was never away anywhere but thanks for your concern. This might shock you but I have spent most of my life working in peace building. I suppose it’s my interest to learn from other opinions that brings me on here. Your question is a good one. It is a connondrim for both unionists and nationalists to know what to do.From where i am looking they should help us get rid of the backstop. They should encourage the Eu to have more confidence in its self and be prepared to negotiate a future for Eu and UK without the need for things like the backstop. They are a big block 10 times plus bigger than the UK so shouldn’t need a backstop to negotiate a good deal. The other thing I would suggest nationalists would do, thankfully I have just witnessed them in some numbers doing this evening ie joining me in showing there disgust for anyone use the conflict and troops on the border as s cheap bargaining chip. Fair play the the nationalist of Newry who were on the news tonight.
Strazdas wrote: » I could see this becoming a news story in Germany. This is a sitting MP of the ruling party speaking on live TV - and being very deliberate and calculated in his insults towards German people.
Bit cynical wrote: » Zubeneschamali wrote: » One day, perhaps after an election, another referendum, or a new Bronze Age in the former UK, there will be a deal between England and the EU. And it will include the backstop, as agreed in December 2017. No good for us in that case.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » One day, perhaps after an election, another referendum, or a new Bronze Age in the former UK, there will be a deal between England and the EU. And it will include the backstop, as agreed in December 2017.
Bit cynical wrote: » I disagree that it would solve nothing but we've got to be realistic about what can be achieved. A free trade deal where there are no tariffs on goods means an easier patrolled border. A border where there is no trade deal whatsoever requires intensive border infrastructure and monitoring.
Bit cynical wrote: » We already have the CTA and reciprocal working arrangements between the two jurisdictions, so a trade deal even along the lines of Canada would solve many problems. This is less desirable, however, than what was envisaged under the backstop, but it looks like the backstop is dead forever. It has only served to delay and complicate proceedings to Ireland's disadvantage.
Bit cynical wrote: » I know people have said that the UK will surely realise the error of their ways within six months and come crawling back in humiliation to the EU, but remember that not too long ago we were pretty sure that they would accept any deal that was given to them. We now think they will come crawling back because that is the only hope we are left with.
ilovesmybrick wrote: » I'm pretty pro EU, but I'm critical of a lot of how it works. As is a large proportion of the country I now live in. However, you can be critical of a governmental institution while also realising that its the best available and working to fix that within. This is not a hard concept and the cornerstone of democracy.
FrancieBrady wrote: » What is your problem with the backstop? You have been assured by Westminster that it doesn't alter your position in the UK
downcow wrote: The backstop can lock us in forever to a situation where we have entirely different arrangements to the rest of the UK (and please don’t again bring up the current devolved matters which are chosen by the people -some crazy discriminatory stuff I know). It leaves us under the control of the Eu while rest of UK leaves. I is completely undemocratic. And it is not needed.
downcow wrote: » The backstop can lock us in forever to a situation where we have entirely different arrangements to the rest of the UK (and please don’t again bring up the current devolved matters which are chosen by the people -some crazy discriminatory stuff I know). It leaves us under the control of the Eu while rest of UK leaves. I is completely undemocratic. And it is not needed.
Infini wrote: Same myself. There's thing's that I wont like or be critical about the EU but the whole point is to hammer away at them till they cop on and fix something if there's a problem not pull a "screw you guys I'm going home" routine because one cant get their own way. The whole reason the EU came about was because of the need to pool resources to protect all involved its less costly and offers more protection. The problem with the UK is they cant see that and its going to bite them in the áss when its too late.
ilovesmybrick wrote: » Okay, maybe I'm only speaking for myself as someone that remembers the end of the troubles and the checkpoints, and is from the Republic, but this is not a ploy to force the North to rejoin the South as you have been making out or insinuating the past while. This is the result of a poorly considered decision by Cameron. You already have many different arrangements than the UK. That has been a fact for a very long time. The South has done incredibly well from membership of the EU, as has the North. Northern Ireland has no devolved government at the moment. You're only representatives are the hardline DUP members in Westminster, and for around two years now what has the UK done to right this democratic deficit? You say you're left under the control of the EU if there's a divergence. What control do you have now?
judeboy101 wrote: » Actually the EU did cave. As an EU citizen I cannot fly to switzerland in the morning and get a job. Firstly if the region I get the job in has higher than average unemployment, the job must go to a swiss first. Secondly I must prove that I have integrated into swiss society. That's not from, that's quotas by stealth.
murphaph wrote: » Got a link for any of that? AFAIK there is FoM for EU citizens in CH.
Infini wrote: » Based on what? The whole "backstop" is meant to be a case of "In case of Emergency" and temporary. It's basically meant to be superseded in the long run with a trade agreement. The whole point is this is not a physical border between the UK and NI its a trade one and mainly to keep sub standard products out and allow NI to be used as a backdoor. There's no details on this position that affect you negatively. It hardly leaves you under the control of the EU either. Hell it doesn't even stop you exporting to Britain. The whole hysteria on this is more of "oh noes it seperates us..... somehow" but is utterly lacking on where this practically affects you. On the other hand were seeing how being removed from the EU IS going to practically affect you aka Trade slowed to a narrow flow because of lack of permits and people being cut off which is FAR more acute and will hurt severely.
Professor Moriarty wrote: » It's not just German and French people that are disliked. Writing in The Telegraph yesterday, Ruth Dudley Edwards called An Taoiseach Leo Varadkar a "useful idiot". Nice to see the Tories sharing the love.
downcow wrote: » If the backstop is so benign they why don’t you do us a favour and have all the checks you want at the Irish see moved to the French ireland ferries. I would love to know how you can keep telling me to just knuckle down and accept it while you don’t want anything to compromise free movement between you and France. Try to step back and look at what you are saying
downcow wrote: » We can elect mps. Ok sf don’t represent anyone but their voters could vote for a party that do. I don’t know how you define ‘hardline’ I don’t vote dup but I have to accept they are the biggest party in NI. Would you refer to sf as hardline? I’m interested.
Professor Moriarty wrote: » Ruth Dudley Edwards called An Taoiseach Leo Varadkar a "useful idiot"
downcow wrote: » Fixed that for you! But I mightn’t be around long because what’s good for the goose dare not be said about the gander I fear “The sad truth is the Irish are utter idiots of the moat dangerous kind because theyre too incompetent and stuck in their blinkered views of the world to actually be rational.”