Rex Tasteless Gutter wrote: » So let's get this straight -- Margaret Cash can give interviews in the national media blaming the government and Dublin County Council for the fact that she has seven children and no house. She can appear outside the Dail ranting into a megaphone about how the government should resign. She can post on Facebook that she hopes the Taoiseach dies a painful death. But anyone who criticizes Margaret Cash's antics, or even suggests that she shouldn't have had seven children if she had no way to house, feed, and clothe them, is accused of victimizing her unfairly? In today's Ireland, there are many 28-year-olds who have finished school, gone to university, worked hard in demanding professional jobs, and are still in no position to afford a house or children of their own. The latest census showed that there are nearly 25,000 Irish people aged 25+ still living at home with their parents, presumably because many of them can't afford to move out. And yet the hard-pressed taxpayer is funding the irresponsible lifestyle choices of Margaret Cash and many others like her. That's why people are riled up. It's not about Margaret Cash as an individual. It's about the entitlement culture that she represents, and the "me, me, me" and "take, take, take" of it as she shouts and stamps her feet.
Vicarious Function wrote: As I've said earlier the title of the thread is very specific, relating to an offense that has been dealt with in the courts. That should be the end. IMO, everything that has been on here day after day, mentioning the lady's name is off topic. It is an excuse to be involved in the victimization of this woman, who is as entitled to her privacy as you or me. A lot of what is being said on this thread not only victimizes M. Cash, but attacks the community to which she belongs. Time to close the thread. Way overdue, in fact.
Deebles McBeebles wrote: » Terrible waste of an intelligent post as VF is just going to bat it off with another nonsensical response.
Vicarious Function wrote: » The woman's name is specified in the title of the thread. No indication as to what, according to you, she represents. A bit disingenuous on your part, don't you think, Vox Nihili? As I've said earlier the title of the thread is very specific, relating to an offense that has been dealt with in the courts. That should be the end. IMO, everything that has been on here day after day, mentioning the lady's name is off topic. It is an excuse to be involved in the victimization of this woman, who is as entitled to her privacy as you or me. A lot of what is being said on this thread not only victimizes M. Cash, but attacks the community to which she belongs. Time to close the thread. Way overdue, in fact.
Vicarious Function wrote: » As I've said earlier the title of the thread is very specific, relating to an offense that has been dealt with in the courts. That should be the end. IMO, everything that has been on here day after day, mentioning the lady's name is off topic. It is an excuse to be involved in the victimization of this woman, who is as entitled to her privacy as you or me.
A lot of what is being said on this thread not only victimizes M. Cash, but attacks the community to which she belongs
Time to close the thread. Way overdue, in fact.
ShaneC93 wrote: This just in, she's claiming to have a job now.
ShaneC93 wrote: » This just in, she's claiming to have a job now.
Plumbthedepths wrote: » Collecting social welfare every week is a job now?
Bridget Mushy Viper wrote: » This kind of post is woefully dishonest. I may not be good at a lot of things but one thing I have an aptitude for is clear written communications. In fact it's how I make my living. What I said was perfectly clear. If you need more context, the preceding posts are there for all to see.
KrustyUCC wrote: » Don't like what's being discussed = then shut down the thread Margaret wouldn't have been in the public eye only for the stunt in the Garda Station In fact she had used the media years before thathttp://www.echo.ie/tallaght/article/no-solution-in-sight-with-ongoing-homeless-crisis She has kept herself in the public eye through social media, protests, being on the Niall Boylan show etc She won't stop using the media until she has her ' forever proper home'
Wibbs wrote: » The fact you seem so sure your demands will be accommodated tells me much.
Hector Savage wrote: » How did Niall Boylan treat her actually ?
Purple Mountain wrote: She will say her job is a mother.
facehugger99 wrote: The mouth-breathers need somewhere to spew their two minute hate.
freshpopcorn wrote: He basically asked why did she have kids she can't afford!
Vicarious Function wrote: » Get a life, you people.
facehugger99 wrote: » The mouth-breathers need somewhere to spew their two minute hate.
freshpopcorn wrote: » I edited the thread tittle just so people know that discussion may go on here outside of the Penneys incident. Let's face it Margaret will stay in media until she gets a permanent home off the council!
Vicarious Function wrote: » Some edit, freshpopcorn!Margaret Cash steals court €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc! The new title repeats again the fact that Ms Cash has committed a felony that has been dealt with by the courts three months ago. She's had her comeuppance in by the courts - does that fact have to be repeated every day on boards.ie? That is imposing a punishment on the woman, that we have no entitlement to do and that no woman (or man) deserves. This fact is no longer news yet you have it as part of the thread title. Aftermath or no aftermath, this woman is as entitled as you or me to her name, be it good or bad.
Vicarious Function wrote: The new title repeats again the fact that Ms Cash has committed a felony that has been dealt with by the courts three months ago. She's had her comeuppance in by the courts - does that fact have to be repeated every day on boards.ie? That is imposing a punishment on the woman, that we have no entitlement to do and that no woman (or man) deserves. This fact is no longer news yet you have it as part of the thread title. Aftermath or no aftermath, this woman is as entitled as you or me to her name, be it good or bad.
Plumbthedepths wrote: » No luck having the thread closed I see. Calls for censorship usually end badly just saying.....