Avatar MIA wrote: » Resorting to pedantry?
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » The OP was not involved in this It was his/her friend remember
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » No resorting to the fact that we are dealing with 2nd hand info We cannot trust the word of the OP any more than we could trust the word of a friend of the Garda if they came on here and told that side of the story
Strawberry Milkshake wrote: Wouldn’t the call or text log prove you was or wasn’t on phone?
Captain Obvious wrote: » That's not how it works
Avatar MIA wrote: » This is an anonymous media, where there is little difference between 1st hand or 3rd hand posting. You either accept the premise or dont. Of course calling BS on the whole thing is okay, but simply stating this is " 'Just a Fine', move on" is wrong, imo.
Mantis Toboggan wrote: » Look what they did to Maurice McCabe, OP pay the fine you don't want to be taking these lads on.
LeoHughes wrote: » I would speak to the sergeant If i'm stopped by a guard am i within my rights to take out my phone and videoing it all?
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: And I'll continue to do that until the OP posts the video and the link to a report on the inevitable throwing out of the case in court when that happens.
Wildly Boaring wrote: » What. The OP has specifically said you can only see the driver's head and shoulders. So you cant see his lap and hands. Therefore he has actually zero proof that his phone was not in use.
hunter164 wrote: » If they’re innocent and have proof, bring him to the cleaners. I bet if it was a traveller or a big time drug dealer the Gard would have been a lot different. Instead he bullies an honest tax payer going about their daily business. About time they’re held accountable for their shoddy service.
Avatar MIA wrote: » A person lies in court for the benefit of their claim. They are subsequently proven to have lied because they thought their lie would not be discovered. Is that not perjury?
Captain Obvious wrote: » You should Google perjury in Ireland. There are some interesting articles on the topic.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » Bit of an assumption. I hope the video shows a clip of the guys tax compliance cert so that can be proven too.
shar01 wrote: » Ah now Father. You know as well as I do that if the OP's friend were a member of the Amish* community the guard wouldn't have pulled them over much less spoken to them in a derogatory manner. *Have I done that right:D
Avatar MIA wrote: » Or you could link to the most relevant one, being the expert.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » Your right probably not, but we also cannot assume that the OP friend is a honorable tax paying citizen. Just as we cannot assume that the Garda is a prick.
Paris Salty Self-control wrote: » "The guards don't do a tap!" "The guards spend their days meeting quotas!" Which is it today?
LotharIngum wrote: » This has happened to me before. Garda stops you and gives you a fine for being on the phone while driving and you were not at all. You cant do anything about it because his word will be taken about it. Im not the only person its happened to either. So the same thing happens to a friend the other day except the garda didn't cop on that said friend had a dashcam and it recorded front, back and sound. The garda was very nasty to him and slapped him with a fine for being on the phone while driving. Friend went home and checked the video and its all there to prove his innocence but since yer man was so mean to him he wants to do as much damage as possible. So he wants to go to court and either produce the video there or just go ahead and get the summons and then send the paper to the papers or put it on social media. Basically he is trying to figure out how to do the most damage to this particular gard and to highlight this sharp practice. He doesn't care if it costs him points or fines. Has anyone else ever been accused f doing something by a garda that they didn't and still got punished for the non crime?
Captain Obvious wrote: » Literally the first link.https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/the-haphazard-state-of-perjury-law-1.357008 There is no perjury statute in Ireland at the moment.