Buer wrote: » I'm sure that's a potential option available for placenta retention. This scenario is purely about new age health madness and artwork though. The placenta itself is not kept in its frozen state but turned into smoothies, face creams, keyrings, artwork etc.
Deleted User wrote: » Isn't that primarily in case the child requires stem cell treatment in the future?
Buer wrote: » There is a serious appetite (for want of a better phrase) for freeze drying and keeping the placenta in other countries; it's only a matter of time before it becomes something here. They're now being made into face creams, health pills and artwork. An extended family member is a midwife and does it in Australia. Makes about $10k on the side from it. Didn't believe it for a second when she told me.
mfceiling wrote: » So....chip 'an dale. Anyone?
Deleted User wrote: » Ah lads - ye really missed out. Bit of hot sauce on the placenta, full of iron.
molloyjh wrote: » Talking about kids names, we were in the States a few years back. Herself went into a shoe shop so I was sitting outside waiting for her. These two kids came running out with their mother behind chasing after them. “Dale, Chip, get back here!” No word of a lie. You know that moment when you’re looking around for someone else who heard it too. Nobody did sadly. As for our little one, we had a few names in mind but weren’t able to settle on anything until after she was born. It was tough. But as others have said, their name becomes their name. It’ll be grand.
Zzippy wrote: » The midwife was asking us, all polite, if we wanted the placenta. When we looked at her like she had two heads, she laughed - clearly relieved we weren't one of those nutjob couples. She'd had one woman in previously who brought a blender and made a smoothie from it... I nearly hurled.
Podge_irl wrote: » troyzer wrote: » Was I the only one who did this? Does anyone not do that!?
troyzer wrote: » Was I the only one who did this?
Deleted User wrote: » troyzer wrote: » It's like watching the Two Towers and skipping all of the Frodo and Sam scenes so you can just watch the Battle of Helm's Deep.
troyzer wrote: » It's like watching the Two Towers and skipping all of the Frodo and Sam scenes so you can just watch the Battle of Helm's Deep.
irishbucsfan wrote: » Can’t wait to wake up tomorrow morning and read how radically things have not changed
dregin wrote: » Our first is now three weeks old and if I had any advice it's to pack sandwiches for the labour. Loads of them. Mother gets fed in the hospital - fathers are second class citizens and no time to be running out for food
Zzippy wrote: » Congrats! Re food - I was sent out to get myself some lunch. Pub across the road does decent grub and a nice pint. Even had dessert. I was not popular when I wandered back in... "Anything moving, hun?"
dregin wrote: » My wife bought a few books of Irish names and came up with a shortlist, if it we had a girl. We ended up picking one from Irish mythology. A goddess of war, which suited as she had a serious battle during the labour. I'm the 5th in a row of my name, so our first boy would just take that. Our first is now three weeks old and if I had any advice it's to pack sandwiches for the labour. Loads of them. Mother gets fed in the hospital - fathers are second class citizens and no time to be running out for food
Deleted User wrote: » If our children want to be exceptional or unique they can decide that for themselves, we gave them both Irish names that will allow them to blend in. I generally feel sorry for kids whose parents went out of their way to be different.
MaybeMaybe wrote: » How did you all go about picking a name for your kids? My wife and I are having a really hard time of it and we only have a week to go.
Podge_irl wrote: » This genuinely comes across as pantomime.
Zzippy wrote: » Ah them yankee football lads are all on the testosterone shtuff... no wonder they're mad for the ridin'!
[Deleted User] wrote: » I generally feel sorry for kids whose parents went out of their way to be different.