Moonjet wrote: » It's a waste of the OP's time imo. With the current rental market, for every prospective tenant with a "Doggy CV" for the landlord to review, there's probably 20 others interested in the property without any pets.
Julissa Unimportant Caricature wrote: » Getting a reference for the dog is a great idea - and one of the cutest things ever.
Graham wrote: » Mod Does anyone have any useful suggestion how the OP might make the presence of a pet less off-putting to a potential landlord?
Andrew00 wrote: » Just don’t say you have a god damn dog and you’ll be grand ffs. You don’t have to tell the landlord every small detail
Cuddlesworth wrote: » Doesn't help is a complete understatement. It's a huge problem, most landlords will want nothing to do with you.
Jay_mate_jay wrote: » Im genuinely astounded by the negativity surrounding pets and children renting, how are any family's meant to stand a chsnce? Having moved from England where this is not even an issue as long as you can prove you can pay your way and that you won't trash the gaff, I begin to see where the issues lie in the rental crisis. We are lucky at the moment that we are living with family so we can bide our time a little but I'm shocked at so much of a negative response, even more so at the people who thinks it's okay to just dispose of a dog that's been a member of the family longer than my child has! Therefore love has no bounds for both my child and dog
Jay_mate_jay wrote: » I was wondering what tips or if anyone had any recommendations they could lend please We are a very respectable family with good jobs and a very well behaved dog trying to move into a rental home in the Swords area in Dublin but nothing seems to be aligning. Would anyone be able to help please!
Jay_mate_jay wrote: » Similarly its pointless saying 'Just get rid' because quite simply its not an option
Julissa Unimportant Caricature wrote: » When they have to resort to insults or telling people what way they feel about their pet, you know who's the more reasonable objective person. And if they're on their own it's very easy to say they'd sleep on a park bench rather than give up their dog, but if they'd a family? No point in saying "don't get a dog" to people who have a dog already either.
SteM wrote: » No you're right, I don't love my dog :rolleyes:
Hoboo wrote: » Then don't get a dog. It's not a disposable commodity to bin as you see fit. It's part of the family.
Jay_mate_jay wrote: » Im genuinely astounded by the negativity surrounding pets and children renting, how are any family's meant to stand a chsnce?
Jay_mate_jay wrote: » Sorry I mustn't have seen, I do apologise! He is a rough collie kind of average collie size.. He is taken on at least hour long walks a day and has a kennel outside but currently has the choice to be outside or inside as my partber or me are always home Unfortunately I couldn't as we don't drive and work in swords/santry
airportgirl83 wrote: » It's a very cruel thing to say imo You wouldn't think of giving your child away just because you can't find a new apt. I am being very realistic, I know it's not going to be easy to find a place with a dog but it is possible (as I mentioned two of my friends have dogs and are renting). Most people here are so negative, its so sad. Landlords out there are charging huge amounts in rent for badly furnished, disgusting, mouldy, cold apartments, cop on - it is just a dog! Deposit should cover any damages (increase it if you are worried). Like someone said before children could do more damage to your property than a dog. Anyone who tells him to give away his pet to a kennel has no heart. Hope someone will treat you like that one day - dispose, just because you are not convinient anymore.
Dav010 wrote: » Unfortunately not. What happens if the tenant leaves and refuses/can’t afford to pay? LL has to go to a solicitor/court.
Deleted User wrote: » Hi OP I asked the question yesterday: what kind of a dog is it? Big or small? Used to spending time out in the garden or not? Is he walked daily or left alone by himself? Also would you not consider Drogheda, Laytown, Bettystown, Julianstown, Gormanston, all within 20 mins of Swords. I am from Swords originally and live in Drogheda now and there is no comparison. Its lovely up this way and nicer for dogs too! if you give a bit more information the posters might actually give more constructive comments - less negativity.;)
Jay_mate_jay wrote: » If the tenant has stipulated this, then there would be no case. This should give the LL confidence in the tenant?
Jay_mate_jay wrote: » I suppose the anti side of that is that my missus hates the dog hairs on the carpet so nearly follows the dog around with the vacuum haha! I can see your point, its really irritating that one or two irresponsible owners have ruined your perception
The Enbalmer wrote: » I rented to people with dogs twice. Never again. it was the same situation on both occasions. The smell of the dog was pronounced and obvious the minute you opened the door. There was hair all over the carpeted areas even though I was told the dogs "don't shed". from what the neighbours told me the dogs were left in the back garden from 8 am til 6pm yapping and howling constantly. The grass was worn in patches in the garden and there was ****e everywhere..disgusting. The smell took days to get out of the house when they had left and the feckin hairs were a nightmare to hoover up from all the places they had managed to work themselves into. I would never rent to anybody with a dog again and my own personal opinion is this: Dogs are social animals and don't like being kept by themselves for long periods of time and nor should they be kept in people's houses or kept out the back garden for weeks on end. Dogs are absolutely not suitable pets for urban living.