Boom_Bap wrote: » Just carry your licence.
....... wrote: » I was stopped recently and asked to produce my licence to nearest Garda Station within 10 days. I dont get it. What does it achieve? It made work for me having to go up there, find parking, go in and produce it. It made work for the guy in there, recording the details. And it made work for the guy who requested I produce it, checking that it was produced. But to what end? 3 people have now done some work - for what? For the original guy to just cross out that i did it? Is that all it is - a box ticking exercise? Surely the Gardai know if I have a valid licence or not from the computer system? And if they dont - why dont they? Why is millions being wasted annually on people traipsing up and showing their licence and 2 Guards wasting time on it? Is it just make work?
....... wrote: » Thanks Guard - but Id still like to know the reasoning behind the make work?
how.gareth wrote: » How do you expect them to know you have a license? You could be Someone who’s banned from driving and just give the guards your friends details when stopped and ask him to produce them at the station
Wildly Boaring wrote: » You realise fine could still be winging their way to you?
mickdw wrote: » They would need to be able to bring up on their system an image of your licence or at least the photo from your licence to ID you. I don't think they have that capability so you are asked for your licence and if you don't have it on you, you are given 10 days to produce it. Yes it creates hassle so best to carry when possible but I do appreciate that with multiple vehicles, people can easily leave home without the licence.
....... wrote: » I dont get it. What does it achieve? It made work for me having to go up there, find parking, go in and produce it. It made work for the guy in there, recording the details. And it made work for the guy who requested I produce it, checking that it was produced. But to what end? 3 people have now done some work
....... wrote: » How do I expect them to know? Eh, because they are the Gardai and they are enforcing the road traffic laws, so presumably they have access to the computer system that tells them whether or not you have a valid licence. And if they dont - they really should. I mean they can look up the details of who the car Im driving is registered to, so why cant they look up the details of my licence?
iamwhoiam wrote: » Why not just carry it in your wallet ?
SpannerMonkey wrote: » and how do they know you're the owner of the car or who you say you are . you could be anyone . just produce the licence and stop looking for something to be offended by
....... wrote: » mickdw wrote: » They would need to be able to bring up on their system an image of your licence or at least the photo from your licence to ID you. I don't think they have that capability so you are asked for your licence and if you don't have it on you, you are given 10 days to produce it. Yes it creates hassle so best to carry when possible but I do appreciate that with multiple vehicles, people can easily leave home without the licence. So why dont they have that capability? I mean, when you add up the amount of wasted time over 1 year of people and guards over producing it - all paper based records etc... Surely just give the Gardai access to NDLS data? Or to a subset of it?
mickdw wrote: » I agree. I'm just saying that they must not have that info otherwise they would use it unless of course they were looking for extra money to train up to use it or some other such nonsense that you typically hear. It sounds very simple to do but i guess there are pretty severe data security issues around making that available to every garda on the move.
Cienciano wrote: » Think of it like a small punishment for not carrying your licence. You should have had it with you, you didn't. Not that serious a crime, you don't deserve points. But you now have the small hassle of going to the station and producing it. Perfectly little annoying punishment for not carrying it imho
randd1 wrote: » If you hadn't forgot the licence in the first place, there wouldn't be any make work. And I would assume it was an accident on your part that you did so. So they have the make work because it gives decent people a chance not have a summons or fine thrown at them for absolutely feck all.
artanevilla wrote: » He could have done you there and then, he's being sound by giving you ten days.
....... wrote: » Done me for what? Being forgetful? Thats just more make work! That brings up another interesting point though - why DO people have to physically carry a licence? Again - if the Guards had access to the information then we wouldnt need to be carrying one. Do you not think the whole thing is a bit bizarre?
....... wrote: » Surely the Gardai know if I have a valid licence or not from the computer system?
....... wrote: » Fine what?
ohnonotgmail wrote: » because it is an offence not to carry a licence while driving.
biko wrote: » If you don't have photo ID with you they might not believe you really are who you claim to be. Maybe you're driving your mate's car and give them his name, while you yourself don't hold a licence.