Ulysses Gaze wrote: » Gob****e.
EdgeCase wrote: » Also, excluding Boston, NYC and the Northeastern US where things are fairly normal in general in much of the rest of the country they're *very* shocked by any kind of swearing. There's a definite conservative / puritanical type influence over there about language.
Deebles McBeebles wrote: » I have never once heard an American say, 'he should be shot with a ball of his own sh*te'. Or gowl.
Bigbagofcans wrote: » I've never heard anyone say that. I only ever see them used on Boards :P
Deebles McBeebles wrote: » I got it from a girl I know who is from Darndale so maybe its a regional thing! Another one from the same girl was "ah, ask me lala".
Mad_maxx wrote: » Gowl isn't used in most of Ireland
Bob Harris wrote: » Hoor.
Mad_maxx wrote: » . Swearing in America is a Jewish and Catholic thing Most of the country is protestant culturally, in the eyes of middle America, courseness in entertainment is a Jewish thing going back a century
Isaias Unsightly Wine wrote: » "Yer only shite in a bucket, ya junkies junkies bastard ya."
maximoose wrote: » Frank Reynolds disagrees.
whisky_galore wrote: » Cünt is a term of affection in Australia.
Zadkiel wrote: » T w a t they pronounce it TWOT, makes me irrationally angry
DEFTLEFTHAND wrote: » A lot of those protestant rednecks from the 'Bible Belt' swear like sailors.
B0jangles wrote: » I've noticed a good few young Americans over here saying 'oh my GOSH!!' instead of 'oh my GOD!!' - it's so uptight it actually ends up being kinda sweet
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » Wanker. It means nothing over there, so the Simpsons writers have got away with using it on at least three occasions. Also, in the sitcom Married... with Children, Peggy Bundy's maiden name was Wanker. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pJp7drI8hWQ With regard to the c-word (cunt), Billy Connolly did a very funny routine recently about how Americans rarely use it (yet have no issue with 'motherfucker'). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7XX7Iv2iN0w
History Originally a word meaning the dried faeces left dangling from the wool on a sheep's rear end.
Muahahaha wrote: » Never heard gowl used in Ireland either. I only know it from that Youtube vid in Athlone with yer wan fighting with her fella in the street. Is gowl only a midlands thing?