A man has pleaded guilty to blackmailing the boss of a brewery after a group of Travellers set up camp on its premises. Thomas Ward (43) admitted demanding £20,000 (€22,455) from Thwaites Brewery chief executive officer Richard Bailey with menaces in May this year. Ahead of a scheduled trial at Preston Crown Court on Monday, Ward, of Aspull Common, Leigh, also pleaded guilty to conspiracy to burgle Thwaites Brewery in Blackburn, Lancashire, and conspiracy to commit criminal damage... More than £200,000 (€224,559) worth of damage is estimated to have been caused to the brewery when a group of around 100 members of the Travelling community set up camp over the bank holiday weekend.
UK brewery Thwaites has been left with £100,000 worth of damage and been forced to pour 1,700 pints of beer down the drain after a 100-strong group of travellers invaded its premise, smashed windows and urinated in its offices.
tabby aspreme wrote: » The good news, Traveller story is that some of these families are moving, there is an article in yesterday's Sun, maybe someone can put up a link, to cheer people up.
Rex Tasteless Gutter wrote: » Yup, forgot that one. It's getting hard to keep track. And we haven't even got to the Christmas festivities in Rathkeale yet.
Wheeliebin30 wrote: » Hold on, is Leo Varadkars boyfriends name Matt Barrett? Jesus I only realised that now. The poster who is called that here and criticizes Leo constantly here, well I feel sorry for them. That is more creepy than pathetic. WTF like???
tayto lover wrote: » Ha ha I've never seen you criticise SF and I just wondered why? Let me guess you're a great admirer of their economic policies.
jmayo wrote: » Ehh you forgot beating the cr** out of an amateur soccer referee in a car park after a match.
Working class heroes wrote: » I thought this was a Margaret Cash bashing thread(justified to be fair) Are there not enough Traveler bashing threads on here ? What’s the crack mods?
CinemaGuy45 wrote: » I suppose End of the Road will be along to tell us all it is our responsibility to pay them welfare so their kids don’t go hungry.
Rex Tasteless Gutter wrote: » In the past few months we've had Margaret "De gubbermint is robbing me!" Cash pulling publicity stunts with her seven children before racking up her 39th criminal conviction. We've had Travellers refusing six homes built for them in Tipperary at a cost of €1.7 million to the taxpayer because they didn't come with stables and six acres of land for horses. We've seen numerous additional policing resources required in Drogheda because of a feud involving stabbings, hatchet attacks, kidnappings, and car bombs. And now we have Travellers living in €100,000 camper vans while claiming social welfare. The spin machine must be working overtime in RTE and Pavee Point trying to deflect and cover up all of this. It's clear that "ethnic minority status" has only made the situation much worse, because Travellers now feel that they have immunity from criticism.
Spanish Eyes wrote: » I heard a group of Travellers who are camped/halted out Dublin Airport way are seeking 6 figure sums to move on so that we, as a country, via the taxpayer can build a new runway. You know, to improve our connectivity and our economy. You have to hand it to them. They see a weak spot in the National Governmental/NGO psyche, and milk it for all it's worth. No one will say feck off at all, take it to the courts. Oh no.
Gravelly wrote: » Yeah, I've a Polish acquaintance who has mentioned the whole traveller thing to me many times. He struggles to understand how we let them get away with the whole schtick.
Omackeral wrote: » I think you're gonna enjoy the remix. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E8cbK67QDhc
Mad_maxx wrote: » Strike up a conversation with even a liberal pole and see what they think of how we millycoddle travellers, polish ( big bodybuilding frame) guy I know works in lidl, he takes zero sh1t from the travellers who send their kids in to lift and even less from the parents who try and deny what was staring pavel in the face. The Eastern Europeans are a brutally Frank bunch but it's exactly what is required here
Rex Tasteless Gutter wrote: » An utter disgrace. Media censorship at its finest. Fair play to the Independent for using the T-word and pointing out that these criminal gangs are claiming social welfare while living in or driving luxury vehicles worth hundreds of thousands. The Irish people deserve to know the truth.
Gravelly wrote: » We are a country of soft-headed idiots. No wonder the tinkers think we're all fools.
Gravelly wrote: » ****e in a bucket never gets old. Pure poetry.
Omackeral wrote: » "Our heads are all soft and innocent. The innocence never left our heads." Ha I think I've literally heard that on a call-out video! Hang on, I'll see if I can find it... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wL6aDrzs3Fs Ah it's on the classic Sh1te In A Bucket video. Firstly at 0:25 and then again at 1:38. Amazing.
KrustyUCC wrote: » Christ that will be some story :mad::mad::mad:
Gravelly wrote: » From what I'm hearing, it will make the lads in Tipperary look like saints.
Deebles McBeebles wrote: » Very enlightening. You just don't hear about these stories unless you go looking for them. "We just want stable homes"
KrustyUCC wrote: » https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/storm-damage-sees-traveller-families-housed-in-top-4-star-hotel-823416.htmlhttps://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/cork-city-council-treating-us-like-dogs-say-homeless-travellers-465999.html
KrustyUCC wrote: » A million euro :eek: That story will be fun
Gravelly wrote: » And wait until the scandal of the €1,000,000 traveller council house down in Kerry comes to light.....
gormdubhgorm wrote: » The reason why I made that comparison is because clondalkin is an economically disadvantaged area with similar population as the travellers as a whole. Those are the type of areas that should be compared as many are struggling and there are a lot of similarities. Marry young. Leave school early etc etc.