Goldengirl wrote: » This post has been deleted.
SoupyNorman wrote: » Full on In The Thick Of It behind the scenes. Im sure if Callinan decided to sing, the song would be heard all round Leinster House. Sadly, this is politics. Callinan was given a frictionless path to retire and get his handsome pension (300k up front and 85k a year for life) and who know, maybe there is more hush money somewhere. Also, if Callinan knows a few tales then Taylor knows them aswell and wouldn’t you know it he gets to retire early which was at the discretion of The Commissioner…why grant that so easily? At a high level, Maurice Mccabe has achieved the impossible really. Against all the unbelievable odds he has come out the other side, in his wake there are serious questions to be answered by Callinan, Tusla and many others but we’ll probably just have to cut our losses on them unless we miraculously find the 20 or so phones…imagine reading those texts. Again, sadly, this is politics – Callinan wanted to bury Mccabe, were the serving Ministers for justice aware or somewhat aware (I believe so) but they skirted the fine line between the two until the victor emerged.
trashcan wrote: » Meh, Leo was after Endas job at the time and this was just part of his strategy in positioning himself. As ever, he had one eye (at least) on the media. On the Tuzla thing, it really is bizarre. If they honestly believed what was on their file, why on earth did they not act on it sooner? Is that how they'd normally deal with children they deem at risk ?
Goldengirl wrote: This post has been deleted.
nice_guy80 wrote: » I wonder how many other Gardai in the past were intimidated in order to shut them up
Heighway61 wrote: » For me, a corrupt Tusla is just as frightening as a corrupt police force.
Sycamore Tree wrote: » Tusla only came into being in 2013 as an independent agency to protect children. It's hard to fathom that senior members of the Gardaí would use it as a tool to silence a good and honourable family man. It's beyond sick really. Zappone should be asking a lot of questions.
tayto lover wrote: » I keep being drawn to the Late Late Show years ago when Gay Byrne was the presenter. Haughey's and Lenihan and a few others were being interviewed. They told the story of being in a pub late at night when the local garda came in and took out his notebook. He was greeted by the words "do you want a pint or a transfer". The audience were in fits of laughter at the politicians scaring the sh1t out of the garda. I couldn't believe the reaction of the audience and the neck of the politicians to tell the story live on tv. I often thought of this and about another poor sod of a Garda called Geary?that the Sunday World reported on in the early 1970's who dared cross a politician by chasing him out of a pub late at night. He was transferred all around the country with his wife and young family until he hadn't a bean left. He resigned from the Garda as every time he settled in a new town or village he was then sent to the opposite end of the country. Things like this are not new.
davidmarsh wrote: » The man who owned that pub went on to become a justice minister.
davidmarsh wrote: » McGuiness and others were working away in the background and raising the issue but from memory alone, Leo was one of the first (if not the first) TD to publicly back McCabe, openly and by name. "Distinguished is the word I'd use" he said. Fair play to him I say. If you trace it back further again, the crusade only gathered real pace when Noel Brett went to Leo.
spurious wrote: » I really find it difficult to believe that out of all the cases Tusla handle, that the one they make this cock-up on (cutting and pasting between reports? Is that their normal way of doing business?) just happens to be one could put everyone against Mr McCabe. Qui bono? Those who wanted him to shut up. I'd be checking everyone in that department and their extended families for connections to Gardai.
davidmarsh wrote: » He had to live in a caravan so he could send money home to the wife and kids and keep the show on the road. The man who owned that pub went on to become a justice minister. (Edit: or defense minister).
Alf Veedersane wrote: » Also went on to bug the phones of journalists. Marvellous CV.
NIMAN wrote: » As a father of young children, I found the child abuse claims made against him probably the most sad. How people in authority could organise for those claims to be made.
bubblypop wrote: » I presume you have some proof of this? That someone in authority organised a claim against him?
bubblypop wrote: » NIMAN wrote: » As a father of young children, I found the child abuse claims made against him probably the most sad. How people in authority could organise for those claims to be made. I presume you have some proof of this? That someone in authority organised a claim against him?
Strawberry Milkshake wrote: » You have a close Garda connection don’t you?
Edward M wrote: » That's unfair perhaps, BP is a concise poster, very helpful in such matters.