Feisar wrote: » The thread hasn't gone down this route, however is it acceptable for a TD to hold up a knickers in the Dáil? Seems a bit cheap and done for shock value, reminded me of Khrushchev taking off his shoe and banging it at the UN.
Deleted User wrote: » As the devil: Any women I know says that thongs are very uncomfortable to wear. Is this not true?
One eyed Jack wrote: » Grayson you know better than that
King of Kings wrote: » that maybe you which i find really weird tbh cos a normal parent would what their child to have the best defence possible. maybe we have different views of parenthood.
Grayson wrote: » Honestly, the thread is getting a bit confusing at this point. I just think we shouldn't infer from someones underwear whether or not they consented to a sexual encounter. I don't think that argument should be allowed in court. I think that implying consent based on what pair of knickers someone put on hours before is just stupid. There's no logical connection between the two. If someone can make that logical connection, then sure it could be allowed. But Thong => Wants to shag you doesn't make any sense at all.
seenitall wrote: » glaring irrational and barbaric inferences about women's sexuality that seem to still hold sway in the 21st century courts.
nullzero wrote: » How a pair of underpants being displayed as part of the evidence in a rape case is barbaric I don't know.
Feisar wrote: » If I decked every woman that grabbed my arse I'd have some rap sheet!
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » AndrewJRenko wrote: » Coming from the person who suggested that 98% of women who reported rape were telling lies, that's just a bit rich. You're the one lying dear. You said 2% of RAPES led to a conviction. I said - correctly - it was 2% of REPORTS. I did not say 98% were lying. There are shades of grey in everything, this included. I demand you retract the false accusation.
AndrewJRenko wrote: » Coming from the person who suggested that 98% of women who reported rape were telling lies, that's just a bit rich.
JMNolan wrote: » A rapist escaped justice.
RWCNT wrote: » AndrewJRenko wrote: » Coming from the person who suggested that 98% of women who reported rape were telling lies, that's just a bit rich. So grabbing a guy below the waist is considered consent to sex in your institution? Hopefully this is well advertised on your website so female students are well informed about the need to act like nuns if they don't want to be raped. Grabbing a guy below the waist out of the blue could easily be classed as sexual assault in and of itself tbh.
AndrewJRenko wrote: » Coming from the person who suggested that 98% of women who reported rape were telling lies, that's just a bit rich. So grabbing a guy below the waist is considered consent to sex in your institution? Hopefully this is well advertised on your website so female students are well informed about the need to act like nuns if they don't want to be raped.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » Nobody has questioned the verdict.
nullzero wrote: » You must have some hoop on ye. Pics or gtfo.
Floppybits wrote: » How could anyone think what underwear a person has on is a sign they wanted sex?
Atlas Rotten Machinist wrote: » Because even the Victoria's Secret lingerie retailer has a "Date Collection" that is exactly as it sounds -- sexy underwear for young women to wear on dates. You can even buy a Date Strappy Thong.
Cleopatra_ wrote: » It is pretty sh1t that your choice of underwear comes into question when you accuse someone of rape. So what if the poor girl wore a thong in anticipation of possibly meeting someone that she'd like to have sex with? That doesn't mean she wanted to have sex with this man in particular. I had an encounter with a man in March, let's just say I consider it rape, regardless of what he may or may not think. One of the many reasons I didn't go to the guards was because I knew I'd be facing all sorts of accusations like this. I find thongs uncomfortable as feck so usually only wear them if I'm hoping there may be a possible ride, but does that mean I'm going to ride anyone at all? Of course not. Jaysus. I also shave my muff and my legs and I'm not always expecting a ride either, I'm doing it for myself. I'm sure some women just like to wear thongs because they make them feel good about themselves or to avoid VPL so the only person who knows why she was wearing a thong is the girl in question, and she shouldn't have to defend herself for such a choice.
vonlars wrote: » Going on a date with someone doesn't even mean you're consenting to sex though ...
nullzero wrote: » If you were raped you need to press charges end of.
SusieBlue wrote: » The real issue being that the barristers remarks were absolutely unacceptable and irrelevant to the case.
Atlas Rotten Machinist wrote: » You're right, it doesn't. But if a woman went on a date with her alleged assailant, wearing sexy underwear in anticipation of sleeping with him, the defense can use those facts to create reasonable doubt in the minds of the jury. It makes it much harder to secure a conviction.
Atlas Rotten Machinist wrote: » The barrister's remarks were evidently effective, given that her client was found not guilty. So she did her job, which was to keep her client out of jail.
vonlars wrote: » Have you thought about taking up a job in a rape crisis centre? They could do with more people like you. Go to any of them and they'll dissuade you from reporting unless you have ample evidence. They know the **** storm you're getting yourself in for.