tretorn wrote: » He wont be employed again in a hurry. What employer would be happy for someone who is such a stickler for rules that he would be reporting every breach right left and centre. At the end of the day there is a job to be done and for the most part the Garda Siochana does a very good job and the vast majority of people who signed up arent corrupt.
tretorn wrote: » He wont be employed again in a hurry. What employer would be happy for someone who is such a stickler for rules that he would be reporting every breach right left and centre. At the end of the day there is a job to be done and for the most part the Garda Siochana does a very good job and the vast majority of people who signed up arent corrupt.https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda-tony-golden-was-shot-in-the-back-as-he-helped-assault-victim-inquest-told-1.3470901 This very brave man represents what I feel about the Gardai and most people who have needed the Gardai would feel the same.
givyjoe wrote: » If the Guards around him weren't such a fcuking shambles, there wouldn't be breaches to report left, right and centre. Absolutely astonishing post. Were you watching with your fingers in your ears last night, when it was detailed exactly what McCabe was reporting on?:eek: Whatever about most not being corrupt, most doing a good job is extremely debatable. I don't consider anyone partaking in falsifying records on a grand scale (breatalyser tests) to be doing a good job, and remember the assistant commissioner declining to sanction these folks simply because there were too many who had taken part. Fantastic bunch altogether.
cursai wrote: » Nobody is that selfless though. There has to be an agenda.
MrMusician18 wrote: » If I recall correctly wasn't the penalty points scandal found to be a non-scandal in the end? And although McCabe was found to be well meaning in his disclosure, was ultimately incorrect. I thought that the vast majority of penalty points were found to be applied correctly and those that were quashed were done so on reasonable grounds. There was no evidence found of widespread or systematic corruption in relation to penalty points. Correct me if I'm wrong?
tretorn wrote: » That was my understanding too.
Alf Veedersane wrote: » Is that it? He has an agenda because you don't think he could be selfless? Speaks volumes.
givyjoe wrote: » Did you miss the part where he said, if he knew what would happen to him, he wouldn't have started all this? He had no idea what was going to happen, I mean who in their right might would have envisaged what unfolded re: smear campaign etc.
cursai wrote: » Grow up. Stop trying to insult people because you haven't matured enough to be rational or to follow through on a story.
nice_guy80 wrote: » that was an internal garda report
cursai wrote: » Probably the only report in the whole fiasco that had any legitimacy and one that had a concrete paper trail.
cursai wrote: Nobody is that selfless though. There has to be an agenda.
Plumbthedepths wrote: » Reading your comments leads me believe you have an agenda. Would you like to spell it out?
givyjoe wrote: » Sooooo, where are you stationed? The only report with any legitimacy.. hmmm, is that the one which the senior investigating Garda apologised to McCabe on?
Plumbthedepths wrote: » I see the attacks on McCabe are ongoing here. What's wrong lads/lasses did he expose ye for what ye are?
nice_guy80 wrote: » Any sign of those 5 mobile phones and laptops? You know, the ones possibly with information about policing and security in the state? At the highest levels of An Garda Siochána Considering they went after McCabe for a laptop he never even had....
MrMusician18 wrote: I don't really see anyone attacking McCabe, but they are going after the group think hero worship.
MrMusician18 wrote: » I don't really see anyone attacking McCabe, but they are going after the group think hero worship. McCabe was ultimately shown to be wrong about the allegations of systemic abuse of the penalty points system and the **** show in Bailieborough garda station was really a local matter, not a national one. The scandal (and it is a scandal) was how he was treated after he made his well meaning but incorrect allegations, but I don't see how that makes him a national hero.
cursai wrote: Ive clearly stated I have no agenda. Except the truth and not to be jumping on the media bandwagon. I can't believe people are so trusting of Rte and the Irish tabloids. I work with this agency as a contractor and have seen a lot of media stories which were ill informed and self serving. Time and time again.
irish_major wrote: » :pac: I actually don't think there is anyone in the country who thinks his allegations were incorrect, I think a large portion of people wish he never brought them up though because their buddy who is a guard might have a more difficult time removing their points next time.