tretorn wrote: » I have to agree, he seems to have complained about everyone he ever worked with and in fairness we have spent enough time on him now. I wouldnt like colleagues to be going snitching about me behind my back, there has to be an element of trust between people working together. The Government have kicked the Gardai up and down the street over this and to be honest I think the vast majority of the Gardai work very hard and do a very good job, we can do without plenty of politicans but we wont last five minutes without the Gardai. I was led to believe points were being cancelled all over the place but it turns out very few points were actually cancelled and most of the cancelled ones were cancelled for recorded reasons. I think the new commissioner saying he isnt sure that Callinans costs will be paid will make the general body of Gardai very angry. They are probably angry enough about the top job going to an outsider and who can blame them.
Arghus wrote: » It's usually the awkward feckers who challenge the status quo. But, I see what you mean. But in the case, considering what he helped bring into public light about the culture in the force, then, I guess, too bad about the fellas he worked with.
FranklyAnne wrote: » Seems an odd sort of fellow, upset colleagues every station he went to
Wheety wrote: » Are you a Garda?
tretorn wrote: » I have to agree, he seems to have complained about everyone he ever worked with and in fairness we have spent enough time on him now. I wouldnt like colleagues to be going snitching about me behind my back, there has to be an element of trust between people working together..
FixdePitchmark wrote: » we have all come across people who are hard to work with and for. He seems like a guy who pulled everyone up for everything and we are only hearing his side of the story now. A reporter who covered the story before - said much the same as above. It is no excuse for what happened - but I'm sure people didn't like working with him.
KaneToad wrote: » The content is important enough to be presented in a factual manner without the need for arty abstract images and mood music to manipulate the viewers. Let the facts speak for themselves.
eagle eye wrote: » There's a lot of ordinary people who had dealings with him who wouldn't call him an honourable man. The way he was treated by senior management was horrific and he did a good thing by bringing in corruptness to light but that doesn't make him a saint.
TallGlass wrote: » I am sorry but the RTÉ Player is a joke, it's hopping and buffering all over the place here at 512k. Do RTE invest in anything other than paying high salaries, this is not the first time this has happened when I have gone to watch a popular live programme.
Ashleigh1986 wrote: » Awkward ??? The man wanted other gardai to be like him. He was paid to do a job and he wanted to do it right . What da **** is wrong with people in this country ??? Members of the force were drink driving , not turning up for work , cancelling penalty points . This really is a banana republic . Full of gob****es that do a job , take the pay and do **** all .
Sycamore Tree wrote: » You turned off the program so why are you still commenting on it?
cursai wrote: » Seth Brundle wrote: » I still don't believe that it was a copy/paste mistake by a lone contractor Theres defo more to that story. I'm also a great believer in the saying 'there's no smoke without fire'. Well never know the truth of it.
Seth Brundle wrote: » I still don't believe that it was a copy/paste mistake by a lone contractor
mynamejeff wrote: » Wheety wrote: » Are you a Garda? lol every time some one doesn't immediately agree with your particular opinion they must be the 5o right ? its like watching a child throw a tantrum do you think there are rows of lads and lassies in the Phoenix park typing furiously into social media and boards to counter the partially validated claims of one man.
cursai wrote: » No but that doesn't mean I can't have an opinion. Are you a journalist?
JustAYoungLad wrote: » TallGlass wrote: » I am sorry but the RTÉ Player is a joke, it's hopping and buffering all over the place here at 512k. Do RTE invest in anything other than paying high salaries, this is not the first time this has happened when I have gone to watch a popular live programme. 512k? Thats 1990s tier bandwidth. No wonder its buffering!
mynamejeff wrote: » lol every time some one doesn't immediately agree with your particular opinion they must be the 5o right ? its like watching a child throw a tantrum do you think there are rows of lads and lassies in the Phoenix park typing furiously into social media and boards to counter the partially validated claims of one man.
Alf Veedersane wrote: » His colleagues turned up at the scene of a suicide locked. And then drove off in the unmarked car. Yep, upsetting people like that must make him the odd one.
Alf Veedersane wrote: » At least Drew Harris is considering asking for the plug to be pulled on funding his defence.
Seth Brundle wrote: » I'm curious to know if any if the friends who turned their backs on the couple have since apologised.
Icsics wrote: » Unbelievable, I hope the McCabes get millions
brooke 2 wrote: » And I hope we don't have to pay for Callinan's defense!
Sycamore Tree wrote: » Think about that for one minute. If he hadn't recorded the meeting in Mullingar, he would have been ruined by the lies of 2 senior Gardaí (Part 2 will cover this).
cursai wrote: » Theres defo more to that story. I'm also a great believer in the saying 'there's no smoke without fire'. Well never know the truth of it.
cursai wrote: » What did he actually expose? That some people didn't like him? He's a media strawman
FixdePitchmark wrote: » This may seems a bit controversial what happened to him is sick. But he does seem like he was an awkward fecker to be honest. You wouldn't like to work with him.