gerrybbadd wrote: » The 80s, jaysus. 100 penny sweets for £1. Or a fair amount of other stuff - 10 chomps, or Roy of the Rovers bars. The Wombles As others have said, we would head off in the morning to play in the fields around our housing estates. We would walk for miles, exploring, picking conkers, robbing apples & Strawberries. Heading into a spare parts yard to play in the cars. Heading into a bus graveyard to play. Playing in a massive abandoned grain silo, with asbestos roof. And in the swamps beside it, collecting frogspawn. The mother had some set of lungs on her, she's stick the head out the back window to call you in for the dinner.
Galwayguy35 wrote: » So you are happy people did nothing wrong other than be religious are dead?
Grandeeod wrote: » Seriously? I grew up in the 70s and 80s and I didn't give a flying fook about religion after my communion in '78. I never felt any dark cloud, only a definitive belief that I could better myself with no religion involved. But that was me. There were loads and loads of my generation that harbored this Catholic guilt thing despite boozing, drugging, riding and generally feeling crap because of the link to their "faith". A lot of my generation and maybe the one before it, still live their lives in a very liberal fashion, with all that fooked up religious guilt lingering inside them. Its a pity.
AllForIt wrote: » I lived my teenage years in the 80's. I liked the 80's but the one massive difference between then and now is that the overbearing depressing influence of the Catholic church is all but gone. Not much difference a feeling for eastern Europeans when communism died there. A dark cloud has been lifted. It sends shivers down my spine when I think of all the pious Chatolics I remember from that era. Thankfully they have died off and their nosey intrusive superior attitude with it.
Filmer Paradise wrote: » 30 years ago cars were sometimes eaten alive with rust before they were 10 years old.
Wibbs wrote: » Beat you by a year. 98 Honda with 102,000 miles on the clock. Though to be fair I'm the second owner and only have it twelve odd years. The damn thing is as reliable as granite. Held onto it more by luck than judgement and some life circumstances. Do NOT get me started on that shower of thieving inefficient double talking miscreants. That someone like you is a higher risk with zero points, driving the same car for years, a car that has been in the same family since new? Bollocks.
NewbridgeIR wrote: » I drive a 1999 Corolla (my Dad bought it new). 94,000 miles on the clock.
I do 2,000 per year, no claims, no points etc. Yet, the only insurance I can get is with my existing provider who is increasing it by 10% - 15% each year.
Deleted User wrote: » At least! I've seen those yokes run without oil, engine gets red hot and seizes up after a while, but another drop of oil and its running well again. They'd go right back to zero.
Grandeeod wrote: » And it will go for another 200K miles.
NewbridgeIR wrote: » I drive a 1999 Corolla (my Dad bought it new). 94,000 miles on the clock. Passes the NCT every year. I do 2,000 per year, no claims, no points etc. Yet, the only insurance I can get is with my existing provider who is increasing it by 10% - 15% each year.
Filmer Paradise wrote: » Hard to believe now, but rust was a real problem in older cars. Recently, I sold my '01 car to trade up a few years. This car at 17 years old is still going now. 30 years ago cars were sometimes eaten alive with rust before they were 10 years old. Of course the powers that be want to take out good cars out of that era for 'green' reasons. Insurance reasons condems perfectly safe driveable cars & the government allowes this to happen. My government is a disgrace!
Filmer Paradise wrote: » Hard to believe now, but rust was a real problem in older cars. Recently, I sold my '01 car to trade up a few years. This car at 17 years old is still going now. 30 years ago cars were sometimes eaten alive with rust before they were 10 years old.
petrolcan wrote: » Anyone mentioned cars being held together with their own rust yet?
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » Dana Carvey was in Blue Thunder? No way!
JupiterKid wrote: » Air Wolf - as an 11 year old lad in the 80s I thought this show was the bees’ knees! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8syGlAMTKA
Electric Sheep wrote: » The joy of sitting all day in an unheated school in your wet clothes.
6541 wrote: » Electric Sheep wrote: » The joy of sitting all day in an unheated school in your wet clothes. Its mad to think of that now - in fact sitting around soaked is so alien now, it was frigging normal back in the day. Gangs of drenched kids, its actually kind of funny when you think about it.
6541 wrote: » I always remember been wet. Wet shoes, socks, Wet clothes - maybe that is because we didn't have a bean and walked everywhere. Taxi's never heard of such things. Ah sure its only a shower and you only have two miles to walk home.
The Crowman wrote: » I used to have a giggle at the really crap bit in this where the digger hits the power line. Like something from Captain Pugwash. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BJaG4ngvh4A