jimgoose wrote: » Sometimes you'd almost think this modern notion of "consent" is synonymous with "effective communication"!
freshpopcorn wrote: » Thanks for the reply. I personally find a lot of things regarding this in the media confusing. Take the repeal the eighth campaign I heard multiply people saying a woman should have the choice to do anything with her body. You can't really argue with that. Then they were coming out with the line No woman would ever put themselves in a position where they would give consent to group sex. I know people who'd gladly engage in it. I don't really know how any person in the media could engage in any form of sexual activity to be honest because it could end up ruining there careers.
Triceratops Ballet wrote: » and I'm a feminist!! :eek::eek::eek:
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » That bold part might be the most eminently refreshing and sensible thing I've read on this issue, kudos.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Are you not a feminist? You live and learn. Between the sex and the WhatsApp exchange, they did lose their job. That might surprise you to know that can happen. You still seem to find it hard to fathom. That’s why the consent and related discussion is necessary. Particularly for people in the public eye who represent organisations. This really isn’t a feminist issue. It’s just the IRFU looking out for its players and itself.
Triceratops Ballet wrote: » In a perfect world we'd go back in a time machine and we'd all have these lessons in school and we'd have a much better attitude to sex and a much healthier discourse around the subject in general, but we don't have a time machine and unfortunately somebody has to be the first. IMO consent is a two way street, but from my own experience nobody seemed to be willing to tell young girls to be open to and embrace their sexuality, the message is very much focused on the bad outcomes of sex (teen pregnancy and disease) if kids, of both genders were taught to own their sexuality and had open conversations about the same and understood how to give and attain consent things would be much clearer for everyone. (actually even the word consent implies it's something that's being taken from one person to benefit the other rather than it being a shared experience)
LirW wrote: » I wouldn't say you can't allow it because it's up to them but it might be unwise for certain people to engage in casual sex with strangers because of their status. Simply because there's a serious risk to leave themselves vunerable to exploitation and could ruin their hard earned reputation. In a perfect world this wouldn't happen but we're not living on a rainbow farm so it's probably in their own best interest to think hard about your actions. That is probably basic PR 101 when representing a sport institution.
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Phrase it whatever way you like. I bet paddy Jackson didn’t know the risks he was taking and he paid a high price. Im a rugby fan and hated to see things unfold as they did with Jackson. I’m delighted the IRFU is looking after it’s players. There’s no need to turn everything into a feminism issue. This is the IRFU protecting its players and its reputation. Makes good sense to me. Believe me, I'm no feminist! My point stands, why should there have been risks to having sex with an enthusiastic partner and those "risks" only borne by men ?
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Phrase it whatever way you like. I bet paddy Jackson didn’t know the risks he was taking and he paid a high price. Im a rugby fan and hated to see things unfold as they did with Jackson. I’m delighted the IRFU is looking after it’s players. There’s no need to turn everything into a feminism issue. This is the IRFU protecting its players and its reputation. Makes good sense to me.
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » I'm yet to be convinced why SOME men (not all) are to attend these mandatory brainwashing sessions classes. What good can they do if consent is not a two way street - i.e. are you giving consent when you don't mean to? Does your behaviour and words indicate a giving of consent ? That kind of thing.
freshpopcorn wrote: » I'm not not nit picking at you now but do you think people in the public eye shouldn't be allowed to use certain words in texts or shouldn't be allowed to take part in different sexual experiences. Would any of these thing even be discussed in consent class.
LirW wrote: » At the end of the day the players are in the spotlight and hugely popular, they are the faces of a lot of reputable companies and all that returns excellent revenue. They are idols to a lot of children out there and the IRFU as well as the clubs are very family friendly institutions that include children, men and women. They'd be stupid to have their reputation ruined because of scandalous headlines, often the outcome doesn't matter but the damage is done when you have a header like "Paddy Jackson on trial for rape accusations". Sponsors do not want to be associated with that and cut ties and will eventually send their money elsewhere. I am by the way in total favour of consent classes in schools for all children. But especially people in the public spotlight need to know better and they need to know how to not get into situations like that in the first place because it can quickly get out of control.
Wibbs wrote: » ...it seems what really winds people up is apparent hypocrisy.
LirW wrote: » At the end of the day the players are in the spotlight and hugely popular, they are the faces of a lot of reputable companies and all that returns excellent revenue. They are idols to a lot of children out there and the IRFU as well as the clubs are very family friendly institutions that include children, men and women. They'd be stupid to have their reputation ruined because of scandalous headlines, often the outcome doesn't matter but the damage is done when you have a header like "Paddy Jackson on trial for rape accusations". Sponsors do not want to be associated with that and cut ties and will eventually send their money elsewhere.
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » Believe me, I'm no feminist! My point stands, why should there have been risks to having sex with an enthusiastic partner and those "risks" only borne by men ?
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Well as I asked above, As I said above, “Do you think the Belfast lads knew they were risking their careers when they were having sex with the wan or sending WhatsApp messages the next day?” Because that’s what happened. And I fail to see how a class in something that shouldn't happen, can happen. They aren't the one's who need education - clearly the f**ked up society that automatically demonises men's sexuality does.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Well as I asked above, As I said above, “Do you think the Belfast lads knew they were risking their careers when they were having sex with the wan or sending WhatsApp messages the next day?” Because that’s what happened.
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » Why should an experience of consensual sex lead to one's career being ruined ? If these classes also involved women and reminded them that enthusiastically consenting the night before and experiencing regret the next day is NOT rape and never will be - that would be a start.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » And would you both consider yourselves to be experts in the law regarding consent? Do you think the Belfast lads knew they were risking their careers when they were having sex with the wan or sending WhatsApp messages the next day? I’d bet anything that paddy Jackson wishes he had those discussions beforehand. I would say he’d most likely still be playing with ulster abc Ireland if he had known the risks.
Paulzx wrote: » Kintarō Hattori wrote: » ...Raised well, I'd consider myself a balanced individual who doesn't force himself upon anyone and knows what boundaries are and what no means. I would be of the same opinion. I was raised to know the difference between right and wrong. It's an insult to basically be regarded as a potential rapist and to be told you need programming to ensure it doesn't happen.
Kintarō Hattori wrote: » ...Raised well, I'd consider myself a balanced individual who doesn't force himself upon anyone and knows what boundaries are and what no means.
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » And plenty of women (myself included) would rather choke than be considered a feminist.
Redneck Culchie wrote: » Is the irony in that these consent classes have to be mandatory and forced on men not lost on people? You aren't allowed to refuse consent to take part in consent classes.
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » Oh ffs.
Deleted User wrote: » Which bit? When he admits he raped yer one?