Silentcorner wrote: » Each conviction consists of a legal bill picked up by us the taxpayer under the guise of free legal aid. The legal sector refuses to be reformed, despite the Troika making that reform one of the conditions of the bailout we received in 2010. The legal sector makes an absolute fortune on the backs of all those young people, who's lives are pretty much destroyed after the 3rd or 4th conviction, where in this country do you think that bill is at its highest? Why do you think the media never exposes the costs involved and who is benefitting from them?
RaichuMGS wrote: » I’ve said it a few times the past couple of days but a system like the US is what we need to be honest. There’s no bull**** with crimes over there. You can go down for a good number of years for things we’d get yelled at in court and sent away for over here. It honestly feels like unless you murder someone or rape a woman or child you just won’t go to prison. It’s scandalous.
[Deleted User] wrote: » It doesn't reduce crime, though.
RaichuMGS wrote: » Honestly, when chaps can cut about robbing and taking drugs left and right without ever seeing the inside of a cell bar a few hours down at the Garda barracks, why bother behaving yourself? And even if you DO manage to land in prison, you’ve got televisions and games consoles to play. “Anti suicide devices”. Is there any other country that is as soft on convicts as Ireland is?
Blazer wrote: » And this is it exactly. Judges, guards, solicitors etc are all creaming it off the state. The whole system is corrupt as hell.
Roger Hassenforder wrote: » Take a stroll into your local district court. Its an eye opening experience. two tiers of society will become very evident. The lawyers making a fortune out of it, spinning the same yarns, for the same scrotes with the same outcomes, and the slack jawed, slouching scrotes with absolute contempt for the courts & law, society and you. Its a minor inconvenience in their day, be summoned snd pick up yet another meaningless conviction. There will be the odd defendant mortified to be there, terrified. Theyre all in kn the joke.
Peregrinus wrote: » Gosh, yes, there are many countries that are softer than Ireland. Germany, for example. The Netherlands. All the Nordic countries - Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Iceland. Japan. All these countries have lower imprisonment rates than Ireland (as in, they have a lower proportion of their population in prison at any time than we do). And, famously, most of these countries have moe liberal prison regimes than we do. Imprisonment rate-wise, we're about on a par with Croatia, Switzerland and Belgium.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » We are probably a more violent society to begin with. The incarceration statistic on its own isn’t that useful.
Suckler wrote: » The part I've highlighted is the problem here. If we actually took a mature look at prisons and reforming people while they are imprisoned we would see change. Instead we get the mob shouting "they all get playstations" etc. Inevitably when people do get out and have a string of convictions who would employ them? If we had some sort of reform process, we would changed people fit for societal norms emerge. Most people expect prison to be some 18th century Dickensian hell hole; fine, but what do you think they will be like upon their release?
Peregrinus wrote: » If so, lower rates of violent crime in the Nordic countries not be entirely a matter of "to begin with". Nordic penal policy is predicated on the not unreasonable belief that brutalising people is unlikely to be an effective way of reducing violent crime, and so the way to reduce crime rates is through a more humane, not a less humane, penal policy. So the lower rates of violent crime may in fact be the product of the lower imprisonment rates, rather than the cause of them.
murpho999 wrote: » We're not really. We're all people. Ireland is a very safe place to live and no where near as bad as people on the internet make out. Crime here is way down on other countries. Violent crime is also way lower.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » Please try and read the context of posts you respond to.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » The solution to a failing justice system is even more liberalism? Hardly. Why would gang members go straight and work in McDonalds after a few cushy years in the clink. Crime pays.
Peregrinus wrote: » The joke is that anyone imagines that lawyers doing criminal defence work in the District Court are making a fortune out of it.
murpho999 wrote: » Quite capabable of reading thank you. Just don't agree with your point about Ireland being a more violent society.
Suckler wrote: » How are the Gardai 'creaming it'? They don't get a bonus payment every time they arrest the same degenerate. I can't imagine how soul destroying it must be for some members of The Garda, arresting the same knackers ever few weeks only to have them come out the revolving door again.
murpho999 wrote: » You do realise that the worst thing about being inside is having your freedom and access to outside denied. You're in the same building 24/7. The days of chain gangs, torture, solitary confinement etc are gone and do not prevent crime.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » More violent than Norway in the context of what I was answering. Clearly.