IanVW wrote: » Is Conor Power on the senior panel? He should be if not!
914 wrote: » Any official word on attendance today. Stand seemed fairly full and a nice crowd on the opposite bank.
DiscoStew wrote: » They announced it there. Was over 4,000 anyway, think might have been around 4,300. When you see it almost at capacity it’s hard to envisage how county championship could get the go ahead there.
914 wrote: » Ye heard something over the PA but was in the jacks so just missed the announcement.
Alpha Centauri wrote: » Att: 4275
Deisegodeo wrote: » Good to see a decent crowd in attendance again, last year was a desperate attendance so that's positive. As regards the game, was competitive for 25 minutes but then Ballygunner got on top, got the 5 points before half time and kicked on in second half. Not Sure how long Peter Hogan is out injured for but I'd say Ballygunner are hoping he can be back for the Munster campaign, beginning with Middleton in Walsh park in a few weeks.
DiscoStew wrote: » I think Conor works in Dublin so possibly wouldn’t commit to the county. I would be guessing he would be in the thoughts of the new management team for a trial anyway. He’s been a really effective player for Ballygunner in this 5 in a row run and has stepped up his game further this year definitely.
Alpha Centauri wrote: » Good to see attendances up. Few good shots here
thesaturdayman wrote: » Great occasion to be fair. How are we realistically going to host 10k plus munster games here however?
PTH2009 wrote: » thesaturdayman wrote: » Great occasion to be fair. How are we realistically going to host 10k plus munster games here however? Don't think it's possible You have to take into account Waterford season ticket holders, away season ticket holders, sponsor tickets etc. Then if it's on TV a makeshift studio would have to go in somewhere The banks could get way overcrowded
Deiseen wrote: » Where were all of those at Pairc na nGael?
mountgomery burns wrote: » Deiseen wrote: » Where were all of those at Pairc na nGael? There was still 12K in Limerick. There would definitely be a greater demand for a home game, I'd say there could be a 10K shortage if they were to hold it in Fraher Field. But dunno why this is even a discussion, it's never going to happen.
Mastermcgrath wrote: » Paddy Joe has put his own head on the block now by saying its 'Fraher Field or nowhere' so interesting to see how it all plays out. Then again he has a history of shooting his mouth off and having to backtrack on things
thesaturdayman wrote: » He also said that the munster hurling championship format change “would be the worst decision in history of the Gaa “ Turns out to be the greatest! I’m afraid our glorious leader is as bad a judge as Pontius Pilot!
blueflame wrote: » If my memory is correct PJ used a good old political escape route by saying "it is Fraher or forget it - but ultimately it is the Waterford Clubs that will decide where the game is played ...." All PJ and the County Board have to do is persuade the club delegates that after "mature reflection" it is in the best interests of the team, county board and supporters and we will be off on our travels yet again....... To be honest I do not think Fraher Field is near up to it - I think health and safety would limit it to about 6k at maximum and if it is any sort of a wet run up to the games which is possible in this country , that could be slashed even further. I just think PJ's statement was designed to try show those in the West of the county that he was determined in his efforts to redevelop Fraher but even more so to take the emphasis off of what is a more realistic but even more difficult proposition of taking on Munster Council, and looking to play our home games for one year in Nolan Park.
willbeuptuesday wrote: » thesaturdayman wrote: » Great occasion to be fair. How are we realistically going to host 10k plus munster games here however? Lads the most Fraher Field could hold is 7K with a brown envelope to the Health and Safety Authority!! The banks behind both goals had plenty of room for more people but in this day and age there is no way they will allow a large crown onto a grass bank. At the minimum they would expect it to be concreted and have safety barriers. Fraher Field is a non runner full stop, we need to be realistic as the county board don't have the money to pay for even small upgrades to the place. We have to suck it up and move to Thurles until Walsh Park is ready, not ideal but only stating the obvious.
willbeuptuesday wrote: » I do not want to sound like a defender of the County board (As I believe they are holding the County back in so many ways with their continued amateurism) but people need to be more informed when it comes to finances. The County Board do not receive any of the Gate receipts from Championship games, they receive funds centrally for their participation in the Championship and all this money goes to running the board and relating matters. As far as I am aware we receive a % of the national league games (Could be open to correction on this) but their scope to raise money is limited. They need in my opinion a person dedicated to this function, a commercial officer similar to Wexford. This persons sole function is to develop and co-ordinate fundraising initiatives while developing the Waterford GAA Brand to exploit commercial opportunities which our high profile players can generate. This person would build relationships local small businesses as well as larger multinationals which could be mutually beneficial to all involved. This would drive Waterford GAA onto the next level.
willbeuptuesday wrote: » The banks behind both goals had plenty of room for more people but in this day and age there is no way they will allow a large crown onto a grass bank. At the minimum they would expect it to be concreted and have safety barriers.