MrNightOwl wrote: » Congrats everyone who passed. It's a great achievement to get this far. If you don't mind, could you maybe talk about how specific they were with the competencies? Like, did they say 'can you tell me about a time you had to use your interpersonal skills to solve a problem'? In my interview, they honed in on specific sub-headings within each competency, like, 'tell me about a time you had to use your LISTENING SKILLS to resolve a problem'.
Carles Puyol wrote: » Any one know if our oom can change from now on with only the physical and medical left? I've been up and down like a yo-yo, changing over 100 places after stages 2 + 3. Only real concern I have left is the eyesight test. I think I'm right on the verge and would really not like to have to drop 5 grand on that lasek.
RabbitHeart18 wrote: » It's hard to say because I had quite a few general kind of questions. I have a healthcare background so when I answered with a competency based on that for say, resilience, they then asked me more detailed questions relating to that experience if that makes sense. I wonder if your competencies were a bit vague and if they were trying to lead you? I know for one of mine, I definitely didn't give them what they wanted and they reframed the question. My guess would be that every interview panel is going to be different and slightly subjective so a lot of it could be luck. I felt a good connection with my board and we had a bit of a laugh (probably at my expense), so who knows how much of an impact that had? Sorry if this isn't very helpful, Im sure someone else might have a more insightful response.
Carles Puyol wrote: » Interview results are out. Absolutely over the moon, jumped over 100 places and into lower single digits oom. Best of luck to all ye! Only 2 stages left - getting very close now.
User2206 wrote: » Hey, I’ve just received my stage 2 results and placed in the 700’s (delighted to have passed) can anyone from this batch confirm wether an OOM of this high has been reached for interview yet? thanks
userunkown wrote: » First 350 have had interview or have dates
pedrigo wrote: » Does anyone know whats next now? As in is it medical or physical first and when we'll be called for it? Also does we receive a breakdown of results from the interview?
RabbitHeart18 wrote: » Medical first, then the physical if you go by previous campaigns.
foam wrote: » The OOM you receive after the interview will stay the same going forward.
MrNightOwl wrote: » Just got word I failed. Absolutely gutted. My OOM was in double digits for the first two stages. I even did an interview prep course. I put a lot if work in. The board absolutely grilled me on the day. Asked for 3 examples for each competency and probed all my answers. I used all the buzz words and kept my cool. I can't understand what I did wrong. Hopefully the feedback will give some indication where I went wrong. Just have to try again next year.
Henry2006 wrote: » I thought OOM is fixed after stage 3 I’m pretty sure it was in 2016 campaign ?
userunkown wrote: » Sergeant at the stage 2 induction said that this time the physical would be first. And everyone competing it was to have a doctor's cert saying they are for to do so... If passed the garda medical would follow. Different from every previous campaign
RabbitHeart18 wrote: » really??? Doesn't seem to make much sense. I thought I had loads if time for the physical, that's annoying.
SHIELDSRED wrote: » Hey, Did anyone get this paragraph in their message on PJ when they were told that they met the qualifying standards after stage 3.. ""Subject to you providing original documentary evidence of your eligibility for this campaign, your name will not be forwarded to An Garda Síochána for consideration for the next stage."" I'm a bit confused by this. Thanks