Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

How can Brick & Mortar shops compete with Online Shopping?

• 26-09-2018 10:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 11,714 ✭✭✭✭

Minister Michael Ring has been on a rant today about people using online shopping instead of using local shops. how can local shops overcome the convenience / prices / range that online shops can offer ... and for this reason do you think normal bricks and mortar shop have had their day or will have their day very soon? - times change ... more people shop on line than ever, its the future isnt it? so how can it be stopped? - just like some people have said that big out of town retail parks have killed town centres and made them like ghost towns, arent we just looking at with modernisation again that online shopping is killing bricks and mortar shops?

one of my (whacky maybe) ideas is to look at bricks and mortar shops maybe breaking themould of years gone by and instead of just opening up from say 8am in the morning and closing at 6pm (or 8pm on 'late night's) isnt it time that they maybe look into breaking the mould and maybe openning (OK not 24 hours maybe) a lot longer than they already do? - I mean you can shop 24 hours on online shopping there are no barriers - theres no 8am - 6pm shopping online ... you could wake up at 2am in the morning and be browsing the internet and something could catch your eye and the credit card comes out and in appoximately 1 minute - you buy it (you cannot buy it locally from a Bricks and mortar shop even if you wanted to drive into town and get it because they are closed!) - you place your order and normally within 24-48 hours your goods arrive... and not only that , most times right on your doorstep .. you dont even have to venture out or find a parking space ... or lug your purchase back to the car park if its heavy and the car park is hundreds of meters away!

indeed if shops were more flexible with their hours they could even say to people "look if you order it online you have to wait for your delivery , and pay a delivery charge but if you buy it off us you can pick it up straight away!" and use it as a selling point ... but for convenience I dont think they can survive much longer just opening from 8am to 6pm - they pay their rent/rates for 24hours but are only open a fraction of that time . Now I know it would most probabaly be a nightmare having to pay for overtime and get extra staff for the shops and security if it is going to be open late at night and extra electricity/heating and there could be times when only 1 or 2 people could be browsing around and they might think it not worth it and costing more to open than stay closed but its worth a try isnt it? - even if they have tried it in the past and it didnt work out theres no telling it could fail again ?

that I think just maybe one Idea at 'trying' to beat online shopping and get shoppers back shopping in traditional bricks and mortar shops.

The old adage of people being 'asked' or told to "shop Local" simply isnt enough , its not working and I dont think it ever will ... long gone are the days where most people were loyal to local shops - there may be the odd few people that still do these days but they are dying out (sorry to be blunt but its true) ... a lot of people dont have the money to be loyal and spend money in a shop if they can get it online cheaper - they are out for a bargain, and for convenience and choice and its whats happening and this is the future , you cannot stop modernisation i suppose ... if something better comes along people will use it.. and people are. - so anyway as I say people like yer man getting his knickers in a twist and blaming shoppers for not shopping local and people using the old terms of "if you dont use it you will lose it!" and "shop local" and "support Local shops/local jobs" and all that .. maybe if local shops start breaking out of their comfort zones of what they have been used to trading for decades and do some radical stuff and new ideas then maybe they might be able to compete with online traders? - or is it as I say that most bricks and mortar shops , and town centre shopping had its day or will have its day very soon?

• Site Banned Posts: 386 ✭✭Jimmy.

Welcome to 2002, Jesus wept perharps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

Met the local post man today and I was amused to notice that he had at least a dozen parcels similar to the one being dropped of for my daughter containing chinese beauty products which girls buy online for a few euros.

He told me he is busy most days with these types of small online orders.

Similarly I find it easier to but hardware online especially if it is specialised and not needed that day.

As for guitar strings the local shops charge 7-8 euros for a set of six acoustic strings and I can get them online for €1.50.....and they never break.

The big name brands are always breaking.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Maybe the bricks and mortar shops have been lobbying the lads in Leinster house next.

Funny thing is though, as much as I love buying bargains online, I hate to see boarded up ghost towns etc, no commerce taking place etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I think its a bit over dramatic to say shops might have had their day soon, walk around centre of dublin, its nearly hard to walk around without bumping into people most days and rents are accordingly sky high due to demand

Personally I hate internet shopping and nothing beats browsing things in real life, buying it there and then. Ill only buy online if I can't find something in town. Theres many other forms of commerce in towns centres that aren't shopping though, hairdressers cafes pubs etc

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭n!ghtmancometh

Most of the unique shops, cafes and restaurants in Dublin City Centre have been replaced by UK/US chain rubbish like Deals/Poundland, Starbucks, Costa, Cafe Nero, TGI Fridays, Boots, Nandos and multiple tacky tourist shops.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,714 ✭✭✭✭Andy From Sligo

wakka12 wrote: »
    I think its a bit over dramatic to say shops might have had their day soon, walk around centre of dublin, its nearly hard to walk around without bumping into people most days and rents are accordingly sky high due to demand

Personally I hate internet shopping and nothing beats browsing things in real life, buying it there and then. Ill only buy online if I can't find something in town. Theres many other forms of commerce in towns centres that aren't shopping though, hairdressers cafes pubs etc

maybe I should have made it clear about rural towns / small towns .. and I think that is what the minister is citing / blaming people for shopping online rather than using local shops to do all their shopping - i'd say places like Dublin and the life are a whole different story to rural areas / small towns of Ireland.

Most of the unique shops, cafes and restaurants in Dublin City Centre have been replaced by UK/US chain rubbish like Deals/Poundland, Starbucks, Costa, Cafe Nero, TGI Fridays, Boots, Nandos and multiple tacky tourist shops.

Got to be a market no ? - otherwise they wouldnt have even contemplated opening up there in the first place no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Most of my big spends would be motorcycle gear and training equipment for Judo.

I'd say over 90% of my martial arts equipment is bought online and almost 100% of my motorcycle stuff are online purchases now. The savings are too great to ignore.

The other purchase is books, I haven't bought a book in a shop in years (apart from the Francis Ledwedge book I wanted which Easons had, but I ordered it online and collected it in the shop).

Clothes and food are bought locally.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Bought tyres the other day,should be here tomorrow or Friday I hope. €86.11 each delivered. Cheapest I could get them was €125 but was quoted €145 In another place. Very same items. Know why ppl are shopping on line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Oi 'erd a roumur of a Tesco wot stays open 24 'ours!
    Imagine dat.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Call me cynical but I don't think Mrs Miggins Fine Fashion Emporium on Ballygoflipflop Main Street is going to hold off competition from BooHoo/Asos/Amazon by opening 24/7.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,364 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Well you can't download a pint of milk, box of teabags or a loaf of bread, you have to go to the shops to get these things.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Oi 'erd a roumur of a Tesco wot stays open 24 'ours!
    Imagine dat.

our Tesco in sligo (in the tiger years I think it were) opened 24hours - dont think that it is now ... maybe around 11pm shuts now - dont know the reasoning . maybe found wasnt worth keeping it 24 hours ... (or the staff fell asleep at 2am maybe?) :)

Graham wrote: »
    Call me cynical but I don't think Mrs Miggins Fine Fashion Emporium on Ballygoflipflop Main Street is going to hold off competition from BooHoo/Asos/Amazon by opening 24/7.

Mrs Miggins Fine Fashion Emporium shtuff is all coming back in fashion (for the third time) dontcha know? :) - trouble is they shut at 5.30pm (with an hour for lunch - closed mondays) and thats no good when someone wakes up at 2am and has the urge to buy something from Mrs Miggins Fine Fashion Emporium ... because she is shut! ... you snooze you loose!

Well you can't download a pint of milk, box of teabags or a loaf of bread, you have to go to the shops to get these things.

not heard of Tesco online groceries? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Mrs Miggins Fine Fashion Emporium shtuff is all coming back in fashion (for the third time) dontcha know? :) - trouble is they shut at 5.30pm (with an hour for lunch - closed mondays) and thats no good when someone wakes up at 2am and has the urge to buy something from Mrs Miggins Fine Fashion Emporium ... because she is shut! ... you snooze you loose!

Why are shops open when most people are working?

I could never figure that out. I've worked in many places and bar the lunchtime rush, you don't see the same type of shopper on the weekdays that you see at the weekend.

Even if shops opened 11 to 7, at least people would have a chance to pick something up after work, instead of thinking "oh its Monday, I'll have to wait till Thursday to buy that thing when the shop is open late, but if I buy online I'll have it by Wednesday... "

There's a place nearby that sells coal cheap. They're open 9-5 Monday to Friday.

I'd love to but coal from them, but I'd have to take time off work to pick it up :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,703 ✭✭✭donegal_man

While the days of the physical shop may be indeed numbered I don't think it's for a while yet. I was working until 9:00pm and when I called into one of the late night shops on my way home there were about a dozen people in getting various bits and pieces. Tesco or Amazon may well deliver but if you need a carton of milk or a loaf you're hardly going to wait for them. While I do make some purchases online, mainly books, I'd never consider buying clothes or shoes which I need to try on before purchase. The hassle involved in returning something that isn't as described or ill fitting is just more than I can be bothered with.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

if you need milk or bread and such and live 20min walk to a shop get off your ass and walk it, you will feel better for it.

Big purchases go online for the deals and money saved ie motorcycle gear or guitar strings as mentioned.

I went t my local shop the other day and left my debit card at home, said i would pop home and grab it yer man is like its grand catch me tomorrow, amazon dont offer that. He even gave me a free selection box last christmas the legend

Why are shops open when most people are working?

I could never figure that out. I've worked in many places and bar the lunchtime rush, you don't see the same type of shopper on the weekdays that you see at the weekend.

Even if shops opened 11 to 7, at least people would have a chance to pick something up after work, instead of thinking "oh its Monday, I'll have to wait till Thursday to buy that thing when the shop is open late, but if I buy online I'll have it by Wednesday... "

There's a place nearby that sells coal cheap. They're open 9-5 Monday to Friday.

I'd love to but coal from them, but I'd have to take time off work to pick it up :confused:

that was my thinking as well, thats why i was saying maybe this whole brick's and mortar shop opening times have to radically change - plus we get here in the rural's (dont think it happens in the big cities) but say like a shop closes at 6pm ... well about 5.45 pm the staff start cashing up, pulling down the shutters , huffing and puffing at the last minute shoppers - saying over the tannoy "this store will close in 15 minutes please make your way to the till" ... so they might 'officially' close at 6pm .. but the staff has had enough at 5.45pm - thats all got to be re-worked as well , it makes the customer feel at unease like they are doing something wrong by coming in at 5.45 even though the shop does not close until 6pm (apparently) - then you get to thinking "well if you dont want my custom I shall take it somewhere else" ....

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Just today I bought two trowels for work from Amazon UK. Delivered in three days for less than 60% of what I'd pay in Sligo town. Last week I did every shop in town for a chuck key for a drill. Eventually I found one in Buckley's (I'm sure you know the place Andy). It cost me 9.50. I nearly had a fit. I had to have it there and then. I could have got one online for less than half that but I'd have had to wait three days.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Online shopping and bricks and mortar need to settle this like gentlemen. A duel at dawn is the only solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

sligojoek wrote: »
    Just today I bought two trowels for work from Amazon UK. Delivered in three days for less than 60% of what I'd pay in Sligo town. Last week I did every shop in town for a chuck key for a drill. Eventually I found one in Buckley's (I'm sure you know the place Andy). It cost me 9.50. I nearly had a fit. I had to have it there and then. I could have got one online for less than half that but I'd have had to wait three days.

Chuck key for €9.50??? I can get 4 for that in Dublin from a well known builders merchants.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

mzungu wrote: »
    Online shopping and bricks and mortar need to settle this like gentlemen. A duel at dawn is the only solution.

but bricks and motar dont open till atleast nine ?

mzungu wrote: »

They can have a duel 24hrs a day now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

but bricks and motar dont open till atleast nine ?
    A shame! That's an automatic disqualification. Online wins by walkover.

Not the best way to bow out, but far from the worst.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Funny thing is though, as much as I love buying bargains online, I hate to see boarded up ghost towns etc, no commerce taking place etc.

This is the crux of the matter. I think people need to realise the community benefits with having a thriving local commercial centre. It is a social space, it gives employment, it is easier to handle returns, and it brightens up our town centres.

When I say people need to realise it, I mean all people, the customers, the business owners and the governing councils.

Things like surly shop owners who don't want to offer assistance are as bad as someone who rushes to google to find it cheaper when it comes to affecting local trade. And rates for businesses could also be looked at to try to entice businesses to operate in town centres.

prinzeugen wrote: »
    Chuck key for €9.50??? I can get 4 for that in Dublin from a well known builders merchants.

I know. It broke my heart. I had two of them but they "Evaporated" on a building site. I've an SDS drill but I need a chuck type for a hex shaft mixing paddle.

The only place in town that had one so they can charge what they like. Probably cost them 50c. The same place is not known for their cheapness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

I was wondering after posting in another thread if there could be a market for the mobile shops again.

Converted ambulances selling everything that does not need frozen. (Or even have two vans, one for tinned & fresh and another for frozen).

They did a roaring trade years ago.

sligojoek wrote: »

i know, .. but then you will have us mere mortal shopper being blamed for empty units, boarded up shops because we want to buy stuff like a chuck key for a fraction of the price ... "but you should be paying the 9.50 what your local shop is charging ,we are always being told, because you are keeping that shop open and people in jobs and helping the local economy ... whereby if you pay the fraction of the prices your hard earned money is most probably even going out of the country, let alone not supporting local shops and keeping them open ... thats a terrible thing to do!"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,703 ✭✭✭donegal_man

prinzeugen wrote: »
    I was wondering after posting in another thread if there could be a market for the mobile shops again.

Converted ambulances selling everything that does not need frozen. (Or even have two vans, one for tinned & fresh and another for frozen).

They did a roaring trade years ago.

There are at least a couple of them on the go that I know of around rural Donegal. One is a butcher's, he comes around on Friday with your order and takes next weeks order or you can ring him anytime up to Thursday. The other does selection of groceries and also domestic gas cylinders, again you order the gas from him and he delivers separately from the groceries. Weirdly he delivers gas cheaper than some of the shops that you have to collect from.