ReeReeG wrote: » Volunteered at the Sandyford 5k that night then, and cheered my sister on to a 5k PB she's getting dangerously close to my times though..
ReeReeG wrote: » Should be doing my 50th parkrun there in 2 weeks, provided I squeeze one in next weekend en route to Cork. The main thing being that I beat all my siblings to the 50.
ReeReeG wrote: » And suddenly we are into October! I find myself torn between loving colder weather for jumpers and boots, but also wanting it to stay warm enough so I can still run in shorts. If that is my main dilemma in life, then I am not doing too badly.
eyrie wrote: Yes! This is a serious dilemma. Can't even start enjoying hot port season properly yet, till this feckin marathon is out of the way
ReeReeG wrote: » I LOVE a hot port too! We'll have to arrange a hot port recovery session ��
ariana` wrote: » Congrats on 1st finisher in Parkrun (and a 7:07 min/m :eek:) and a 20m long run at a decent clip the next day too, you're going great guns! Enjoy the taper now
ReeReeG wrote: » 17 - 23 Sept Mon 17th: Recovery run home from work. I had been doing 5 miles for these in recent weeks, but I was very tired from the long run session the day before, so was happy enough to keep it to 5k this week. 10.20/m. Tues 18th: The club plan had a steady miles run, but I wasn't sure about doing the full 4 given my race on Sunday, and the fact I was still pretty tired from the Sunday before. In the end, myself and a clubmate did 2 easy, 2 steady and back to 2 easy for a lovely evening's run. 9.12/m average. I'd done yoga at lunchtime too, because I knew I couldn't make my Wednesday class. Weds 19th: I'd planned on skipping my usual Wednesday easy 20-30 miles this week anyway, which worked out well as I ended up with a hectic workday. Thurs 20th: Hmmm. I went to the core yoga class (pilates woman is back next week, yay) and am getting ever closer to achieving the crow pose. We did a lot of inverted stuff however, and I really went for it. Within 30-40 minutes of getting back to work, I had the beginnings of an optical migraine (only able to see out half of each eye), which is isn't sore, but bloody annoying. I knew if the headache followed, I was done for... and it did left work early, Luas was down and no bus for 40 mins.. and then it drove right past because it was full! Somehow got a taxi which took forever, and straight into bed when I finally got home. So yeah, I missed my planned run with a friend. Think I'll be more cautious of this in yoga in future! Fri 21st: Ended up not trying to chase miles, thanks to sage advice from the Mentored Novices Thread Sat 22nd: Easy, easy parkrun. Averaged 9.11/m which isn't really easy enough but the effort honestly felt very low. At around 3.5km I came across a man up from Tralee who was starting to struggle so I tried to help him along. He was doing fine from my viewpoint as he was still chatting.. but then he ended up light headed on the last straight. Felt a bit bad then :-/ Flew to Amsterdam later that day. The race was organised through work (our HQ is there), and I was staying with a friend from the office, who very kindly picked me up from the airport and had a carbo-licious dinner prepared for me Sun 23rd: RACE DAY The Dam tot Damloop is a huge event in Amsterdam. I think the numbers throughout the weekend are in the region of 45,000 participants (there is a 5 mile on the Saturday evening). There are a series of waves, so the event runs really smoothly. Our wave was a Business, and wasn't until 13.45, so I watched some of the elites from the comfort of my friend's couch that morning. The men's was won in 45 mins (sick) and the women's had an exciting sprint finish where one woman basically elbowed the other out of the way!! You could cut the tension with a knife on the podium by the looks of it! Anyway, made our way over to Centraal Station where the rest of the work crew were, and the bag drop etc. The weather was MISERABLE - rain, wind, kind of cold due to the rain... proper Irish weather. I wasn't too bothered by it though, prefer that to lots of sun for running! Did a bit of a warm-up with one of the lads who runs a lot and appreciated the value of a warm up. Some of the guys would be hitting 10 miles for the first time ever, which is so great! Hope they catch the bug Lined up and listened to the Dutch race briefing and understanding nothing. I was determined to keep the first mile close to 8 mins so I wasn't in danger of going too hard too soon. The ideal would be 8 mins all the way, with a hard last mile to nip under the 80 mins.Miles 1 - 3: 8.00, 8.03, 7.54 The start was smooth enough, as bizarrely everyone walked to the start line and only ran once you crossed it? So it meant very little bunching... not sure I am describing it well but it was good! Concentrated on getting the effort right as I knew 700 metres down the road we were heading into a tunnel which lasts about 1km - and presumed no GPS to guide my pace there! The tunnel was horrible. It was nice to be out of the rain, but it was bloody stuffy by the time we came out of it. The slope up out of it was about the extent of any hill on the entire course too which was nice... Somewhere in mile 2 I got chatting to two Irish girls briefly, who live over there. I didn't want to be rude but they were going a tad slow for me so had to push on.. I knew I was feeling able by this point, and did have to catch my pace sometimes when I noticed I'd be creeping up to 7.45 pace. I think we started to get to the prettier roads around mile 3.. hit the 5k mark in 24.45 which I knew was bang on target really and felt good.Miles 4 - 6: 7.54 / 7.53 / 7.54 Into mile 4, ignored a water station as I was feeling totally fine. Can't remember much about the 4th and 5th mile really? I know there was plenty of local support out, which was amazing, and in that weather too! There were random bands, choirs and DJs about the place too. Mile 6, I started to lag a little.. I was finding a niggle in my glute, then my hip.. but really it all came from a mental weakness! Still, was happy to keep the pace up to the end of mile 6.Miles 7 - 9: 8.13 / 8.02 / 7.51 Just after mile 6, I took a gel and slowed for some water (was in cups, great for the environment but bloody hard). I felt like my effort was still high but I just couldn't get above 8.30 pace. I was thinking, well I should still get a PB if you stay at this pace etc etc. Then I thought about the session last week with Maria, and remembered how I didn't think I could up the pace for the last 5k but had done so. I told myself to just TRY lift the legs a little higher, and inject some pace, and see how it feels. I did. And lo and behold, I COULD run back at sub 8 pace again. I was still a little mindful that I wanted energy for the finish, but to be honest I was gunning for sub 80 now. I was going to give it everything I had. Once I was into the second last mile, I was happy to let the pace be 7.40 / 7.45 in the parts where I was hitting it, and I was telling myself that I just had to kill it on the last mile (I was doing the maths like no tomorrow).Last mile: 7.34 I mean, the last mile should be the quickest right?! I was exhuasted, but still hitting the pace I needed. Started coming across a lot of runners from the previous wave here, which was so annoying as it meant more weaving when I didn't need it and I didn't want to miss my goal! My watch buzzed for 10 miles less than 100 metres (I am bad at judging) before the line but I knew if I hit the line with 1.19 still on my watch I should be safe!Chip time: 1.19.47 Could not wipe the smile off my face after I finished! I was so, so happy to hit my goal time! I know I would have been devastated if that was even 1 second over 80 minutes. But really, its not so much the time that I am buzzing about, its the fact I finally dug deep in a race and really gave it everything. I came so close to quitting the goal, and talked myself back into it, which is not something I've ever really managed before. That training session last week helped me so much. I do have to admit also that reading all the HM reports from Saturday inspired me too - I wanted my own success story!! I loved the race, pretty route even in the rain, and the locals were amazing. There was one street in particular where everyone was boozing in their front gardens and having the best time! I loved them. Pretty much a flat course which is always helpful too.Total miles: 24... low enough, but given the migraine, the taper for the race.. I'll allow it. Missed a recovery run tonight due to a late-ish flight home, but c'est la vie. Back to business tomorrow.
ReeReeG wrote: » My PBs to date 5k: 23:46 (Twilight Challenge, Sept 2017) 5 mile: 43:04 (Raheny 5 Mile, Jan 2017) 10k: 50:31 (Dunshaughlin, June 2017) 10 mile: 1:30:xx (Ballycotton, March 2017 [Goodbye my old friend]) Half-marathon: 2:01:xx (Donabate, Sept 2017)
ReeReeG wrote: » 8 - 14th Oct22.48
Huzzah! wrote: » ReeReeG wrote: » My PBs to date 5k: 23:46 (Twilight Challenge, Sept 2017) 5 mile: 43:04 (Raheny 5 Mile, Jan 2017) 10k: 50:31 (Dunshaughlin, June 2017) 10 mile: 1:30:xx (Ballycotton, March 2017 [Goodbye my old friend]) Half-marathon: 2:01:xx (Donabate, Sept 2017) I took a quick look back on your opening post and look how far you've come in a year! Super impressive.
ReeReeG wrote: » Yeah I've been reading all the advice on any thread I see (even the sub 3 ha!) and it does make a lot of sense. Most importantly, it will stop me from taking off like a hare. I am officially suffering the madness though, hopefully yoga today will help!