Peterx wrote: » I think you can bluff your way to a half marathon with insufficient training and the full marathon will rip your legs out.
average_runner wrote: » Thought this might be an interesting thread for some. Some people would have a strong 5k time but their longer distance might struggle or vice versa. How do you go about improving your longer distances ? What is the correlation between the 5k up to the marathon?
Itziger wrote: » 5k - 17.50 10k - 36.48 Half - 1.21.06 Full - 2.59.10
TFBubendorfer wrote: » Your full PB is soft
Murph_D wrote: » Which of those distances have you trained for? The HM is obviously relatively slow. I have similar 5 and 10k times but a 1:34 half, 3:22 full. Most people seem to have relatively poor Marathon times compared to their 5k and below.
TFBubendorfer wrote: » Itziger wrote: » 5k - 17.50 10k - 36.48 Half - 1.21.06 Full - 2.59.10 Your full PB is soft
dublin runner wrote: The correlation is essentially ZERO in my opinion. Granted, a 1.40 HM runner won't run a 3.05 marathon but outside those obvious caveats, my point stands. The best way to improve your marathon time is to a) train for a marathon b) run marathons c) learn from each experience d) realise it is just a distance; not particularly short, not particularly long e) running miles will only get you so far - focus on s&c
TFBubendorfer wrote: » All my running life my 5k to half marathon times have lined up very well but my marathon time was always up to 5 minutes slower, and that's despite the fact that I was always training first and foremost for the longer distances. I definitely was not undertrained for the marathon.
Tigerandahalf wrote: » Itziger It is interesting that you hit such a good 5k time off little specific training. Are you a fast guy over 50 - 100m? I'd be slow over very short distances but I tend to have good endurance. I'd say most lads good over the 5k have a light frame too. Weight can have a big say, every kg is worth about 5 or 6 secs a mile I think.
Peterx wrote: » I think we are saying the same thing but using different words. The full marathon is objectively harder than the shorter distances to get right. It's just that little bit too far to run at a "fast" pace. You get less goes at it. The weather has to play ball on the day. You can't get sick and yet you are on the edge of falling apart for all the hard weeks of training. Knowing how fast to go can be the hard part. All that training, the marathon training cycle, you are as fit as the proverbial, of course you want to get a super pb, and then bang, leg ripping walls of lactic death as the average pace starts dropping and then falls off a cliff with 9km to go. Slight hyperbole on my part:)
average_runner wrote: » Trained for the half this year. Followed hanson program. My 5k time and 10k time this year was about 40 secs slower than pbs.
Murph_D wrote: » Did you base the Hanson paces on current 5-10k paces as suggested? Was training manageable at those paces or did you adjust? How did result compare with target?
average_runner wrote: » I went for 1:35 target at first but after kilcock 10 miler i readjust my target to 1:37 or so. Got to 15k in race and then wheels came off. Result was 1:41 in the end.
Murph_D wrote: » 95 sounds about right based on your 10k. How did you find the sessions/tempos/LRs at the prescribed paces (as opposed to the 10m race)? Sounds like there’s something missing in terms of how training played out?
average_runner wrote: » Intervals were grand and i hit them. Tempos i was working too hard to be honest after 5 miles. Lr's i wasnt as comfortable when hitting 13 miles, pace between 5:20 - 5:30 per k. Long runs were just not clicking.
Murph_D wrote: » That’s revealing, and possibly comes back to what Safiri is talking about above. Possible lack of a good base phase before starting the HM phase. What had you been doing before, ie over the past few years? Average mileage etc? You are in a club - how has that affected day to day routine?
average_runner wrote: » Past few years i focused on 5k to 10k. Got sub 20 5k for the first time in those few years a good few times. 5 mile races were between 33:00 to 33:10. 5 day week training with 10 mile long run with pace between 5:05 to 5:15. Took december off last year due to minor injury and times were off since. But on average i do 40 miles a week with usually 10 mile long run.
Swashbuckler wrote: » I've made a habit of telling marathon runners on here they should include 5k/10k blocks in their training during the year. Do you think that's needed or can someone train all year round for marathons alone and maximize their potential at the marathon distance ? Possibly derailing the thread with that question.
Murph_D wrote: » You’d imagine 40/week over a reasonably long period would be enough base to successfully tackle that HM programme alright. Must be another issue - I think I recall you posting a while back about some training difficulties - did you ever get to the bottom of that (if it was you)? The LR is a bit faster than I would normally be doing outside of specific training, I wonder does that have anything to do with it - the old, and often most obvious flaw - insufficient recovery? Not that the long run always has to be slow, but 5:10ish is a good steady pace for LR at this level.
average_runner wrote: » I got to the end of my other training issues. What would your pace lrs be?
Testosterscone wrote: » I have ran 100s if not 1000s of races at this stage and yet I can count on my two hands the numbers of times I can honestly say I have gotten it right in the race and ran to my absolute limit.