_brendand_ wrote: » Well they *can* but is it right that during a housing crisis buildings are left unoccupied and unused? I agree that the more correct way to go about it is to encourage the owners of these properties to use them for such purposes by the appropriate incentives, but I imagine that was the intent of the protest. If you're determined to think that the protestors just wanted trouble and nothing else, so be it.
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » The point I'm making is that you should similarly have to apply for permission to leave a house vacant.
yabadabado wrote: » Hahaha, Jaysus talk about delusion.
Wheeliebin30 wrote: » What about people trying to get home to pick up kids from crèche and have no other alternative?
These Pints Are Savage wrote: » No you shouldn't. And you don't.
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » If your 'success' is based around buying properties and allowing them to appreciate during a housing crisis, while doing nothing with them, then you are neither a decent nor productive person - you're a leech.
_brendand_ wrote: » If you have a house in the center of Dublin which you can afford to not use or rent out, you are most definitely rich, or an idiot (or maybe a rich idiot, but only one need to apply here).
Johnny Dogs wrote: » "More or less at the behest of the building owner".... in other words, you don't know, and AGS are refusing to comment who employed the unknown heavy enforcers. Perhaps the Gards just coincidentally arrived at the same time as the heavies arrived, the two just had a chance meeting upon the street of an early Autumn evening? This is After Hours I know, where anything can happen, the place where people will turn a blind eye to potential skullduggery taking place by people in unmarked vans with missing reg at the front, UK reg at the back right under the Gards noses, because you know they where there to uphold the law. Yet at the same time I think this forum would go into meltdown if there was a thread opened that centred on a clapped out van with missing UK registered plates that happened to be driven by a member of a certain minority group. ...... So as I have already said, it's a bit rich to preach that the Gards were there to facilitate this gang of masked men, who if acting in a security capacity, one would expect to be obliged to wear some kind of identification, let alone be driving a vehicle that complied with our road traffic laws. Maybe I'm wrong, but I would have thought these same folk would expect to see the law of the land applied to each party, impartiality being assumed obviously?
10000maniacs wrote: » Again, it is none of your business how the house is used. Lefties drooling over other peoples property. Quite sickening.
Deleted User wrote: » F**k it, you know what, the Pavlovian worshippers of the system deserve their long miserable commutes if they continue to buy into a concept that treats them so badly in the long run.
NasserShammaz wrote: » How much is it to rent a Guard these days
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » In what way is it deluded?
prinzeugen wrote: » Oh great. The "Shame, shame, shame on you" rent a mob is back is back in action with their so called peaceful protests. I wish they would feck off to Russia or North Korea if they think socialism/communism is so bloody wonder and leave us to it.
10000maniacs wrote: » Again, it is none of your business how the house is used. Lefties drooling over other peoples property. Quite sickening. Earn your own money.
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » It's private property. Here is what angers me about this for those on the moral horse - it's fine to be on that high horse so long as your rights are not being infringed. But there is very short distance between the state telling others what to do with their own property and that happening to you some day. Then you will have a different attitude completely. If you want communism or Venezuelan socialism just say it. It's not a crime. But don't try and dress it up as if your suggestions are something different to that or don't quite go that far or whatever.
Hurrache wrote: » Makes no sense whatsoever inconveniencing the ordinary wurker as many of those involved in politics supporting such protests would say. Why not picket and block the county council and other local government offices, places in which people work who can actually make a difference? Let's see the socialists support that, inconvenience themselves and their colleagues, or is it too much hassle for the protestors to get a bid out to Tallaght, Swords, Blanchardstown and so on?
Noveight wrote: » For the most part they've no focking choice! Sitting on your arse on O'Connell street at rush hour of a Wednesday won't put food on the table nor a school uniform on a young lad.
Johnny Dogs wrote: » Been thinking of maybe turning my grannys old tenement gaff into a knockin shop. She can move in with us for a while so as I can cash up for a while. If the next door neighbours whinge I'll tell them to mind their own business so. This time next year Rodders......
steves2 wrote: » if you want a free house, you shouldn't get to pick where it is.
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » Don't these people have jobs? It's a Wednesday evening...
These Pints Are Savage wrote: » Because I do not like the idea of government forcing me to do something with my property that I have bought with my money. Your comparison does not work. Why don't you lefties move to Venezuela? I hear it's great over there, everyone is a multi millionaire these days!
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » Frankly, I wish all the landlords' bootlickers would fuck off to... I dunno, anywhere, frankly.
10000maniacs wrote: » Again, it is none of your business how the house is used. Lefties drooling over other peoples property. Quite sickening. Earnyour own money.
These Pints Are Savage wrote: » Doesn't work at all. If I want to change my property then yes I have to get planning permission. If I live in a listed building I can't change it one bit. If I don't want to do anything I don't need permission and I don't have to worry about the Commissar coming to seize it. Feels good to live in a free country.