Wanderer78 wrote: » again, those scary foreigners, and their scary foreign ideas, moving on...
Odhinn wrote: » Star prizes for being obtuse. The fact is that state repression caused people to "double down" in relation to their religion. Theres no reason to believe the same would not be true of Islamic traditions.
Wanderer78 wrote: » im agnostic, and i think we re doing grand
timthumbni wrote: » Rampant child abuse? You are a winner sir...
Roger Hassenforder wrote: » Its starting to work out ok, small steps. We're getting there. We've abortion, divorce, a gay Taoiseach, nondemonination schools... You'd imagine though, with such expressions, of the negative impact of the more virtuous, you'd be anxious we dont take a step backwards, by tolerating a manifestation of a most fundamentalist intolerance.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » Feminists and women in general on this thread should realise that these guys are not your allies.
The Crowman wrote: » Whats with the Islamic obsession with "modesty" in women? Its a word you keep coming across in these discussions.
Wibbs wrote: » I've read some daft things in my time and that's right near the top of the pops of daft things. The last time I saw perspective that slanted was in a Georges Braque painting. Cultural relativism; a social ideology masquerading as a fact.
Odhinn wrote: » For a few hundred years being a catholic was a great disadvantage in this country. Look how that worked out.
FTA69 wrote: » Have you ever spoken to a woman in a hijab or niqab? The idea that you’re going to help a woman by forcing her to tog off at the pool is loopy mate. Muslim women aren’t dopes. They also happen to believe in Islam and often have deep concepts of modesty. They don’t want or need you to insist they wear a bikini for their own good.
One eyed Jack wrote: » Like I said - it’s a matter of perspective, and we’re no better or worse in the West as a society than they are in the Middle East.
Deleted User wrote: » And I was recently at a pool resort in Spain, where there was a group of M.Eastern men (ethnicity) living in the area (learned through conversation), who insulted or made obviously inappropriate gestures towards the women in their bikinis or more modest swimsuits. Women wearing Burqa's, Hijabs, and all-covering swimwear doesn't solely affect the women themselves. It affects those around them. Allowing such habits, encourages Muslim men (and women) to retain their attitudes (learned/developed in their original country/culture) while living in the West. It reinforces the difference, and encourages a dual attitude towards perception regarding behavior. Wearing a bikini on a beach, a short skirt on a street, or a sexy outfit while out for dinner, is all part of western culture. Most people would see such, and ignore it beyond their own appreciation (internalized or vocalized)... but we have laws to reduce the harassment that women receive... because it's wrong. It shouldn't be happening. However, allowing a subculture to dress differently due to their religious beliefs encourages that belief to be pushed on to others. After all the reasons why the Burqa or Hijab are worn is not to do with the garment itself... it is what is to be hidden. To show modesty. To show respect.
FTA69 wrote: » Have you ever spoken to a woman in a hijab or niqab? The idea that you’re going to help a woman by forcing her to tog off at the pool is loopy mate.
Muslim women aren’t dopes. They also happen to believe in Islam and often have deep concepts of modesty. They don’t want or need you to insist they wear a bikini for their own good.
emo72 wrote: » I remember a holiday in Spain sharing a communal pool. There was a woman head to toe in some black plastic suit swimming. Yeah it's none of my business but I had a strong reaction thinking this is so wrong. Just couldn't reconcile that a woman had to do this to get a swim. I get the feeling these women aren't fully interacting when they leave the sanctuary of their homes. Horrible way to exist. These women need our help.
Wibbs wrote: » My "answer" would be pretty simple; don't import the problem in the first place. The problems of multiculturalism are massively reduced by massively reducing multiculturalism in the first place. The last few years of opening Europe up to the many hundreds of thousands from very different cultures is to me beyond moronic.
One eyed Jack wrote: » Just to pick two recent examples in AH alone off the top of my head, there’s a woman on trial by social media for having too many children, and how she is nothing more than a leech and a drain on society, and then there is the more recent thread about a woman whom I gather there are a few posters would only wish she would wear a burqa to cover herself up :pac: Like I said - it’s a matter of perspective, and we’re no better or worse in the West as a society than they are in the Middle East.
bfa1509 wrote: » Of course I would not ban burkas/hijabs. I would follow Sebastian Kurz, the austrian president. He made the very valid point that Islam is more than a religion, it is a set of political ideologies (sharia law) and that it simply could not co-exist with his own government. So he closed down seven mosques and plans to expel 40 imams from the country. And before you say "Oh, that's racist. Oh freedom of religion", come back to me in 10 years when we will have much bigger problems on our hands than people wearing burkas/hijabs.
wakka12 wrote: » Second class citizen would mean more restrictive laws governing one group differently to another Which happens many muslim women, such as not having been able to drive Western world has no such lawsWestern world treat women a lot better, it just goes without saying
bluewolf wrote: » Who has the answer, i don't, but i think more proactive positive things that they all must do, rather than things that only 50% must not do, would be a better approach. And i think it will be a lot more subtle than this one public image