seamus wrote: » I'm a little surprised Gallagher and whatshisface are still seeking nominations tbh. I think it would have been taken for granted that, "Hey, I'm a businessman who you know from TV" would be a sure fire way to kill any election campaign after Trump's farce. Interesting to see what'll happen over the next four weeks. My gut feeling is that unlike 2011, county councils will be far less generous with their support, and so circus candidates like Sharkey, O'Doherty and even Gallagher, won't get any support unless their pitch is something special. Aside from SF's candidate, I can't see the Oireachtas putting anyone else forward. Even the far left groups will be happy to leave "lefty" Michael D in place rather than get egg on their face by running some niche lunatic.
B0jangles wrote: » Wasn't it revealed last time around that Sean Gallagher's major skill as a businessman was knowing how to qualify for government entrepreneurship grants? Like, he was good at getting the state to give him seed capital to start a business, but they mostly seemed to fail once the free cash ran out.
B0jangles wrote: » Wasn't it revealed last time around that Sean Gallagher's major skill as a businessman was knowing how to qualify for government entrepreneurship grants?
Topgear on Dave wrote: » Iv just seen him referred to as a "beloved icon" on twitter. Ah here lads, he's a politician :pac:
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » He's a very well liked politician though. The only people who really dislike him are that tiny cohort of angry right-wing men, who seem to exist mainly on the internet and in texts to Newstalk programmes.
blanch152 wrote: » Up there with Patrick Hillery for the ability to turn up and open an envelope without making a fool of himself, but some of us want more from a President.
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » You say he 'hasn't made a fool of himself' - that's just a less kind way of acknowledging the fact that he hasn't put a foot wrong. In what way do any of the current potential candidates offer 'more' than Michael D?
Yer Da sells Avon wrote: » In what way do any of the current potential candidates offer 'more' than Michael D?
Loafing Oaf wrote: » Or what more could any potential candidate offer at this point in history?
Zubeneschamali wrote: » Luas in Connemara apparently, that's what one of the lads was pushing in Meath.
VinLieger wrote: » Please tell me they are being called out on this garbage each time they spout it? Whatever about a TD promising it theres still the chance no matter how slim it could happen, the president has zero ability to deliver such a thing
blackwhite wrote: » He had plenty of goodies for Meath too - so probably not :pac:https://twitter.com/SeanDefoe/status/1034036915979341824
seamus wrote: » I'm not sure if I'm more surprised by how few of the electorate seem to know what the President does, or how few politicians and presidential candidates, seem to know what the position does. There's certainly a strong argument that the likes of Joan Freeman can use the office to help spread awareness of humanitarian issues, as others have done before her. But the rest seem to think it's some kind of hybrid between a local councillor and a supreme court judge.
VinLieger wrote: » Gemma's latest addition to what the presidency is abouthttps://twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/1034572886248443910 What????
pixelburp wrote: » To play devil's advocate, I presume O'Doherty's intention towards the Presidency would be to use every ambassadorial visit and opening of a car park to make speeches about these subjects. It's not like she'll have any legislative avenue, and presumably she's not so ignorant as to think the Presidency allows that kind of latitude.
Water John wrote: » To exercise your true PR democratic vote in Ireland you should mark all the ballot paper. If there are 10 candidates, one should mark it one to ten. Rather than asking who you may put first, who will you put last? At the present time Tally ho Gavin Duffy gets that distinction, for me. Though it's a position keenly contested.
Larbre34 wrote: » Not so, in fact the opposite. Ive worked election counts for 20 years. Ive seen nos. 12 and 13 on long GE ballots count for candidates in the shake up. Why would you take the risk of a vote transferring to someone you abhor? The approach I take myself is to mark the ballot as far I approve of candidates and leave blank the ones I definitely disapprove of. Its no less a true democratic PR vote.