MattressRick wrote: » Rohan Ashy Steak wrote: » How someone can hold so much bitter begrudgery for a man they haven't met is frightening. Who else do you know who'd be travelling from Kerry to Antrim for club finals? Giving the game exposure at his own expense and asks for nothing in return bar a bit of respect. Last year I remember him being at the Kerry, Cork, Clare, Galway, Waterford, Antrim and Down finals. This isn't mentioning other non-final games around the country. Farcical to suggest there's anyone else around the country travelling to this extent, because guess what? There isn't. I don't like attention seekers and that's all he is. It's laughable to think he's doing it to promote hurling. He's got nothing else to do and craves attention so I'd prefer to see people who go to games for the love of their county getting sorted with all Ireland tickets first, then if there's any spare sort out people like buff Egan who only wants to go for himself and his profile, not to promote the game. And he is asking for something in return, giving out about Rory o Connor having 2 premium tickets. Wasn't that an expectation that he should be getting the same treatment?
Rohan Ashy Steak wrote: » How someone can hold so much bitter begrudgery for a man they haven't met is frightening. Who else do you know who'd be travelling from Kerry to Antrim for club finals? Giving the game exposure at his own expense and asks for nothing in return bar a bit of respect. Last year I remember him being at the Kerry, Cork, Clare, Galway, Waterford, Antrim and Down finals. This isn't mentioning other non-final games around the country. Farcical to suggest there's anyone else around the country travelling to this extent, because guess what? There isn't.
dulux99 wrote: » This, end of story. His entire shtick is aimed at young kids who wind up following hurling as a result of following him. You see him at the games and he is a genuine celeb amongst kids. What he's doing is great for the sport. Times are changing, social media personalities like him are what's going to appeal to young people kids and get them interested in the game. For those saying he gets the tickets for free - you're just stating things as fact without any evidence at all. If you do have evidence then I'll hold my hands up but I've not seen a single thing to prove that he gets tickets for free.
dulux99 wrote: » Your main gripe with him is that he's an attention seeker? He's obviously an attention seeker, the aim of the game is to get as many views as possible.Sure anyone who's any bit in the public eye is an attention seeker by definition. Do you dedicate as much time to knocking any other social media personalities?
corner back 2 wrote: » Having read through the posts on here ( and also the Mayo thread about Carnacon and Cora Staunton) I'm glad to see that the great old GAA tradition of knocking and begrudging anyone who tries to do better for themselves is alive and well. Buff is harmless craic and genuinely loves hurling. So what if he posts it on social media if you don't like it don't read it.
cms88 wrote: » His own club won an Intermediate championship last weekend. How much coverage did he give it?
ProudDUB wrote: » If you think that the Cora/Carnacon posts in the Mayo thread are about knocking people who are trying to better themselves, you are completely missing the point. Which is yet another great GAA tradition. :rolleyes:
corner back 2 wrote: » Really have you read the thread and other social media about the situation. Mayo people queueing up to vilify one of their greatest ever footballers. Not saying she is right or wrong but begrudgery is right there for all to see. As I saw elsewhere if you can't beat them, ban them.
ProudDUB wrote: » The overall tone of the posts that I have read (both here and on social media) is perfectly valid criticism of a player at the end of her career, that does not seem to want to play a lesser role in the Mayo team and has thrown her toys out of the pram as a result. Such a scenario has been going on since team sports were first invented and will keep on going on while sports teams are comprised of human being and not robots. Calling it like it is, does not equate to someone being villified.
corner back 2 wrote: » So you have evidence it's all her fault?
ProudDUB wrote: » No, I don't. I am expresssing an opinion. Is that not what this place is all about?
dulux99 wrote: » Haha not that it really bothers me but it's funny to see an argument from one thread spill into another thread with absolutely no context for the rest of us who were discussing Buff.
Realt Dearg Sec wrote: » Worth remembering that nobody gets more annoyed about what buff does than buff himself.
Rohan Ashy Steak wrote: » I'm pretty sure Buff was at the Galway-Limerick league match this year. A Clare supporting Kerryman was in Galway to watch that match when most Galway supporters couldn't be bothered showing up at their county ground to do so. So... how exactly does he not deserve a ticket?[/QUOTE And what about the lads who go to these matches who don't have an online following to boast to and claim they're such big fans!?
Rohan Ashy Steak wrote: » I'm pretty sure Buff was at the Galway-Limerick league match this year. A Clare supporting Kerryman was in Galway to watch that match when most Galway supporters couldn't be bothered showing up at their county ground to do so. So... how exactly does he not deserve a ticket?
Glebee wrote: » I see hes in Ennis this evening for a club game. fair play Buff
bruschi wrote: » Who said he doesn't deserve a ticket? If he really wanted one, he'd have been able to get one. He has enough contacts at this stage to ask around. Considering half of his retweets in the aftermath of the game were about the likes of Danny healy rae and the Baldy Fella who both got premium level tickets, it doesn't seem the issue is about not having access to a ticket, but been given a free ticket. Also, should be noted that as much as I dislike Healy Rae, there was pictures of him in the early hours celebrating with kilgarvan after they won the day before. The fact he was caught snoozing at half time of a minor game shouldn't be held against him.
cms88 wrote: » That's the problem with him. It's not even the fact that he thinks he should be given one, he thinks he's entitled to it. As I've said he fell out with Kilgarvan because he wasn't given the ticket he was entitled to in 2013. Entitled to were his excait words
bruschi wrote: » I don't follow him so wouldn't know, but if that's the reason that he doesn't even go to his own club when they play in a county final, then he isn't worthy of any ticket. A true hurling man. Yeah. Gaa starts and ends with your club.
Poor_old_gill wrote: » Just to play Devil's advocate- there are an awful lot of people in Dublin whom I know that are not affiliated with any club yet still support Dublin and go to see Dublin play. Are they not true GAA people?
nice_guy80 wrote: » Club first, county second. Only there for the big games.