grindle wrote: » Myself and my sister called all of our friends "the lads" when we were in our teens which is 20-25 years ago at this stage so it's been the norm for a long while.
TheFarrier wrote: » Don’t you fnucking start... 2 hour blazing row with herself last night because she reckons one of my best mates shouldn’t be because she has a vagina...
PlaneSpeeking wrote: » Been there my friend. The best mate's mrs hates me - we've been mates for 20 years! If I looked like Jenna Jameson she might have a point but these days there's a worrying resemblance to Mary Harney. I don't see the problem!!!! Well, apart from me looking like Harney but what ya gonna do ?!!As to the OP - I don't know, I've been going the match with the same group since the late 70s and have been one of the lads since then, so at least 40 years I'd say.
stimpson wrote: » July 19th.
somesoldiers wrote: » Culchie girls call each other “lads” Lads are ye going to the gaa training Lads are ye going to the macra dance Lads gimme a hand rounding up these weanlings
fryup wrote: » when they started wearing trousers
Sleeper12 wrote: » You got a year?
Sleeper12 wrote: » When I grew up in Dublin in the 70s we had lads & lasses. Granted lasses was rarely used but lads always meant guys & never included women. Now lads can mean men & women. Has it always been like this outside of Dublin Or has the meaning of "lads" just become unisex in the last one of two decades?
somesoldiers wrote: » Culchie * Non jackeen girls call each other “lads” Lads are ye going to the gaa training Lads are ye going to the macra dance Lads gimme a hand rounding up these weanlings
D3V!L wrote: » Next thing you know they'll be looking to vote and drive cars !! :eek:
stimpson wrote: It was the same year Marathon became Snickers.
Sleeper12 wrote: » It'll always be a marathon bar to me
Obvious Desperate Breakfasts wrote: » I’m from the West and lived in Dublin before moving to Cork a few years back. Cork was the first place I heard women refer to each other as ‘lads’. I was a bit startled, so I was.