Wibbs wrote: » "in one's mouth"? You're putting words in your own mouth? OK. Indeed it is. Oh it is and it just got more so. Like I said irony bypass. A quality Harley street procured one by the looks of it. This may sound like scintillating rhetoric in your head, but it really isn't.
Omackeral wrote: » Critical analysis is welcome, to me anyway. This Sarah Jeong character, however, has shown a sustained racist streak over the past few years and it deserves to be called out as such.
Besides, if you're comfortable condemning swathes of the far right then it's fair to say the far left are game for being tarred with one brush too. Applying one set of standards to one side and another to the other is kinda... and you're not gonna like this... hypocritical.
keffiyeh wrote: » These are a lot of words for what amounts to *la la la I'm not listening*.
Omackeral wrote: » They congregate in room 12 straight after The Serious Men of Boards meeting.
Wibbs wrote: » The irony and self awareness bypass here is truly staggering.
keffiyeh wrote: » Difference being the radicalized right coined that (inaccurate term) and applied it to themselves. Or should I say yourselves. Moderates didn't apply 'leftists' to themselves, it gets used on them by radicalized right such as yourself to dismiss and be reductive about what they're saying. Please do try to follow along. Yiz wannabe yanks.
Wibbs wrote: » Sure, everybody else is "extremist" because they don't agree with you. It seems even if they don't quite agree with you, yet show no sign of being an extremist themselves. All dissent is heresy. Sounds pretty extreme to me. Then again another sure fire sign of an extremist of any stripe is a self awareness bypass. Irony and humour bypass also givens. And a near religious sense of being correct. And yep it is present in both sides. Demonstrably so. Indeed. I do hope this part is ironic.
Brian? wrote: » You don't think the idea that it was satire is enough to investigate beyond the tweets? I do. That's critical analysis. It doesn't seem very welcome though.
What's wrong with condemning the far right? Honestly I can't believe I have to ask that. I can't condemn white nationalists, the KKK or the Aryan nation without doing the same to socialists or I'm a hypocrite? That's absolute nonsense.
Brian? wrote: » What's wrong with condemning the far right? Honestly I can't believe I have to ask that. I can't condemn white nationalists, the KKK or the Aryan nation without doing the same to socialists or I'm a hypocrite? That's absolute nonsense.
Omackeral wrote: » If you're not with us, you're against us. Very fascist sounding. How are you gonna label me a far-right radical when all I've done here is label a racist a racist. Feel free to point out any far-right (or alt-right or whatever it is this week) posts or points I've ever made on this website. I hate racists. Absolutely detest them. This far right nut job can be seen advocating a YES vote for Same Sex Marriage on this website. Ditto for Repeal the 8th. So extreme amn't I? So go on, quote my far right posts. I'll wait. Here's a spoiler, you won't be able to because I never have. You're a liar.
ancapailldorcha wrote: » I'm about as liberal as they come and, yes. She's quite blatantly a racist. I'd also add that I think she's the worst kind of attention seeker who uses social injustice to feed her own spiteful, self-centred agenda regardless of the damage it does to good causes. Basically, a human tapeworm.
Omackeral wrote: » if you're comfortable condemning swathes of the far right then it's fair to say the far left are game for being tarred with one brush too.
Omackeral wrote: » If you're not with us, you're against us. Very fascist sounding.
Wibbs wrote: » Pardon me if I find it up there with believing in creationism that you would be nearly so quick to waffle on about "critical analysis" if these tweets were aimed at any other group. TBH creationism would be ahead by a nose.
Something is either setting out to offend, rile up, or negatively point at an identifiable group of people in a prejudicial way, or it's not. It's not rocket surgery. If someone filters out certain groups because of their own worldview position, then yes, that is a bloody good example of hypocrisy. Even if the person is unaware they're doing it, which you seem to be. Hence I wouldn't call you a hypocrite as it's not deliberate, but I would still see it as hypocritical.
Keepaneye wrote: » Complains about lazy generalisations. Calls people he doesn't agree with "alt right".
Brian? wrote: » Omackeral isn't a far right radical. It undercuts any serious point you may have to start name calling this way.
Brian? wrote: » I'm am extremist. I'm quite capable of recognising moderates. I'm also quite capable of liking people I don't agree with, as long as the debate remains polite. Painting all extremists with the same brush is just another lazy generalisation.
professore wrote: » I agree, however Katie Hopkins writes for the Mail Online which doesn't pretend to be fair and impartial and a paper of record, unlike the NYT. If she stayed with the huff post or whatever then let her rant all she wants.
Brian? wrote: » I honestly think you're owed an apology. I may disagree with you on this subject, but that name calling isn't on.
pickarooney wrote: » This is the worst thing I have ever read and yet I have continued through 13 pages. What the **** is wrong with me?
Omackeral wrote: » Would you be as quick to critically analyse all people who claim that they were only being satirical? If yes, then fair play. I'd doubt it though.
Yes it is nonsense because I never said that. Read it back Mr Critical Analyst. I said,
I also have said that the far right and far left are as bad as each other. Two sides of the same coin was the term I used i.e they're both bad. Therefore, there's absolutely nothing wrong with condemning the far right as I'll happily do it myself. I agreed with you before you needed to bring up the KKK or Aryan Nation.
Outlaw Pete wrote: » Unbelievably, earlier today, as she was eating breakfast, Antifa showed up and chanted 'Fcuk White Supremacy' at her :Phttps://twitter.com/RealCandaceO/status/1026458985967153153
Wibbs wrote: » And yet you as a self identifying extremist fit pretty well into my lazy generalisations.
keffiyeh wrote: » Try again?
Wibbs wrote: » Meh that poster is now at the you smell, no you smell level of the schoolyard. And completely oblivious to it, among a great many things.
keffiyeh wrote: » "Both sides" You're fooling no one, especially with saying cringey ****e like 'leftists'. Seriously anyone I hear saying 'liberals' or 'leftists' just seem like the biggest spas. Yiz aren't American. And aside from being reductive and dismissive, it's incorrect. It's not a case of 'right' or 'left'. It's a case of 'extremists' and 'moderates'. Sal you're a little triggered snowflake by the looks of things. You can't refute a single thing I say. You're so triggered all you can choke out is 'troll' and 'lol'. Poor snowflake.