deco nate wrote: » But I'm sure your man will be back to post yet again that posters on here are angry men. While yet again adding nothing else to this thread. Just like he/she does on all threads he/she posts on. But hey, putting a smiley at the end of the post means you won't get a ban.
WinnyThePoo wrote: » There are a lot of angry men on this thread. Angry that everyone's not as outraged as they are.
Venom wrote: » Sadly it's only going to get worse now that the outrage mobs have seen they can effect multimillion dollar tv shows and movies by doing nothing more than tapping away on keyboards and phones. This nonsense really needs to be stopped in its tracks but until the perceived loss from firing an individual from a project outweighs ignoring the mob, I don't see this stopping anytime soon.
Call Me Jimmy wrote: » Brian I'm very interested in your opinion of hate speech laws (or policies on social media). Given your take on this, I assume you strongly disagree with them?
Venom wrote: » keffiyeh wrote: » The boogiemen you see around every corner are hilarious. Are you a yank? Is this Reddit? Then why are you using idiotic terms like 'the liberal left'? Also, I love the irony of your witch hunt comment, when it's actually your team (the radicalized right) that are known for that, including the recent firing of James Gunn from directing Guardians of the Galaxy (not that I think he should be working for Disney with a Twitter history like that, but still, your assertion is both ironic and very disingenuous). I wonder if it's more down to an agenda or ignorance on the subject in question, that result in such false statements from you. Roseanne was not fired by the actions of people on the right. James Damore was not fired by the actions of people on the right. Justine Sacco was not fired by the actions of people on the right. Aziz Ansari did not almost lose his career over the actions of people on the right. So apart from Gunn who's firing I disagree with, who exactly have "the radicalized right" gotten fired? keffiyeh wrote: » I like how there is not even a hint of what she actually did to get fired in this post. It's frothing 'outrage mobs' who have nothing better to do apparently. It definitely has nothing to do with her saying black people look like apes and being an incredibly anti-Semitic edgelord (while being Jewish herself). Nope. I love how there's a bunch of Irish lads heartbroken over Roseanne's plight, a Z Lister who hasn't been popular in 20+ years. I love all this genuine concern for the poor woman, there's clearly no other agendas at play here. Nope. Just loads of Roseanne fans on here. Haha. I didn't mention what Roseanne did as it's pretty well know at this point, except it seems to you. She (Roseanne) claimed Valerie Jarrett (but not all black people as you claim or black people in general) looked like one of the stars of the Planet of the Apes movie in full makeup.
keffiyeh wrote: » The boogiemen you see around every corner are hilarious. Are you a yank? Is this Reddit? Then why are you using idiotic terms like 'the liberal left'? Also, I love the irony of your witch hunt comment, when it's actually your team (the radicalized right) that are known for that, including the recent firing of James Gunn from directing Guardians of the Galaxy (not that I think he should be working for Disney with a Twitter history like that, but still, your assertion is both ironic and very disingenuous).
keffiyeh wrote: » I like how there is not even a hint of what she actually did to get fired in this post. It's frothing 'outrage mobs' who have nothing better to do apparently. It definitely has nothing to do with her saying black people look like apes and being an incredibly anti-Semitic edgelord (while being Jewish herself). Nope. I love how there's a bunch of Irish lads heartbroken over Roseanne's plight, a Z Lister who hasn't been popular in 20+ years. I love all this genuine concern for the poor woman, there's clearly no other agendas at play here. Nope. Just loads of Roseanne fans on here. Haha.
professore wrote: » And that woman doesn't look black.
Sal Butamol wrote: » keffiyeh wrote: » Sal glad you've got nothing to say except 'lol'. Reality is a bitch when you have an agenda innit. Your grasp on reality is tenuous, at best. I really have better things to be doing than arguing with someone who thinks up is down and left is right.
keffiyeh wrote: » Sal glad you've got nothing to say except 'lol'. Reality is a bitch when you have an agenda innit.
Hapax Legomenon wrote: » According to the Serious Men of Boards...
Omackeral wrote: » Racism is serious, no matter who's espousing it.
keffiyeh wrote: » You're showing your racist card too early by calling it ambiguous..
SnakePlissken wrote: » Highly hypocritical of Brian? to have thanked this post when he's so adamantly stated he can't consider someone a racist based on six years of tweets... but one Boards.ie. post is sufficient is it Brian?
keffiyeh wrote: » *Except when 'concerns' about it are coming from the radicalized right you can dismiss them safely enough, because of the hidden agenda and whataboutisms. Not saying this writer isn't one, haven't looked into her stuff, if she is, **** her too. It's not an either or situation.
Omackeral wrote: » I'll just stand by original statement that racism is abhorrent no matter who is doing it.
Brian? wrote: » It is. You don't find the false outrage from the alt right a little galling though?
Brian? wrote: » SnakePlissken wrote: » Highly hypocritical of Brian? to have thanked this post when he's so adamantly stated he can't consider someone a racist based on six years of tweets... but one Boards.ie. post is sufficient is it Brian? Can people please stop calling me a hypocrite. Who was being called a racist in the post I thanked?
Omackeral wrote: » It would be on par with the leftists burying their head in the sand being purposely obtuse or making excuses. I've said it before and I'll say it again, the far right and the far left are two sides of the same coin.
keffiyeh wrote: » What the **** did you just say? So because *you* think she doesn't look black she can have her appearance likened to that of an ape? Jesus Christ there are literal full blown racists in this thread where the hell are the mods? Incorrect. I've been following the radicalized right very closely since 2014. You are one. Hence why you're unhappy about my comments.
SnakePlissken wrote: » He/she claimed Profesor was showing their racist card based on a single post, you thanked this claim so I can only assume you read and agreed with it... it's not as if there are certain posters who blindly thank posts just because they belong to someone in the clique.
dark crystal wrote: » What Jeong wrote was undeniably racist and I cannot abhor this rabid divisiveness that seems to have risen to crazy proportions between the 'left' and 'right', men and women, natives and immigrants, etc. etc. ad nauseum. Divide and conquer never leads to anything good imo. Look what it's done to politics in The States. Sure, everyone has a right to their point of view, but the name calling thing has gotten so juvenile and ridiculous, it's beyond parody at this stage. You can't on one hand deride the POTUS for his insanely juvenile tweets and then justify hiring a person who tweets childish inflammatory garbage like Sarah Jeong. Yes, that is hypocrisy at it's finest. Social ****in' media doesn't create monsters, it does however let the cuckoos fly over their nests in full view of the public and it can lead to a poisonous kind of group think that infects the more gullible or vulnerable sections of society. Now more than ever, the poison cannot be allowed to get any more out of control. The politics of division have gone too far at this stage and that's precisely why the NY Times should be taking a stand on this issue.
keffiyeh wrote: » It's not a case of 'right' or 'left'. It's a case of 'extremists' and 'moderates'.
keffiyeh wrote: » Yiz aren't American.
Sal you're a little triggered snowflake by the looks of things. You can't refute a single thing I say. You're so triggered all you can choke out is 'troll' and 'lol'. Poor snowflake.
Brian? wrote: » Why can't we apply critical analysis without being accused of being hypocrites or purposely obtuse?
Brian? wrote: » Maybe we should have a meeting of this clique. I wasn't aware I was a member.
keffiyeh wrote: » "Both sides"You're fooling no one, especially with saying cringey ****e like 'leftists'. Seriously anyone I hear saying 'liberals' or 'leftists' just seem like the biggest spas. Yiz aren't American. And aside from being reductive and dismissive, it's incorrect. It's not a case of 'right' or 'left'. It's a case of 'extremists' and 'moderates'.
Wibbs wrote: » Sure, everybody else is "extremist" because they don't agree with you. I do hope this part is ironic.
keffiyeh wrote: » "Both sides" You're fooling no one, especially with saying cringey ****e like 'leftists'. Seriously anyone I hear saying 'liberals' or 'leftists' just seem like the biggest spas. Yiz aren't American. And aside from being reductive and dismissive, it's incorrect. It's not a case of 'right' or 'left'. It's a case of 'extremists' and 'moderates'. Sal you're a little triggered snowflake by the looks of things. You can't refute a single thing I say. You're so triggered all you can choke out is 'troll' and 'lol'. Poor snowflake.
Omackeral wrote: » It's a direct response to the other poster saying alt-right, actually. I'm not gonna lump in the entire left with the nutcases on the fringes. What the f*ck is Yiz? Do you mean 'You'?
keffiyeh wrote: » First sentence is incorrect and just putting words in one's mouth to hear what you want to hear,
confirmation bias is a bitch eh.
Second one is also incorrect. It's not ironic,
this whole radicalized right thing is global hun, unlike left/right dialogue which originated on the likes of Fox, sit down before you hurt yourself hun.