Boscoirl wrote: » Nobody wants to be friends with people they work with.
Sal Butamol wrote: » Aha definitely the bog so
Wanderer2010 wrote: » I don't think Irish people would see themselves as unfriendly as such but in my experience Irish people fall into two categories when it comes to making new friends: 1. The people who have the same friends since they were 4 or 5, for lads its the people they walked to school with, played hurling with, went on the sessions with and all grew up and and lived nearby, marrying local girls, and their whole lives revolve around stags, weddings and local session with the same 20-30 people. Nothing wrong with that, they are fundamentally decent, good people. But anyone trying to break into their circle? Forget about it, they aren't interested. 2. People who for whatever multitude of reasons, don't have any or many friends in adult life so they try to branch out and join a few clubs and revolve their lives around the odd social occasion and are open to meeting new people but they inevitably take much longer to make longer and deeper connections with people.
numnumcake wrote: » I find it difficult to make friends as an Irish person with Irish people so I can definitely appreciate how someone from abroad would struggle. I had a tough upbringing as parents had alcohol/mental health issues and being from a rural area I was seen as an outsider even when I started school. I’m an only child with no cousins so had very poor social skills and was painfully shy. As a result I don’t have an friends as an adult from school/home. My confidence and social skills improved when I went to college however found it hard as most groups were people that had each other from home. Any friends I did have went their separate ways after we graduated. So now I find myself in a big city and have made some great friends at work however at the weekend they are with their own groups of friends so I spend most weekends alone. I have a lot of aqaintences but no solid long term friendships. I get so upset looking at social media and seeing groups of friends going out and traveling the world something I have missed out on and won’t get that time back. I’m only in my late 20s but dread getting older as I know it will get harder to break into a group of friends it’s probably something that realistically will never happen. I don’t blame people I think it’s just our culture to not really welcome “outsiders “ into groups.
Wanderer2010 wrote: » .........2. People who for whatever multitude of reasons, don't have any or many friends in adult life so they try to branch out and join a few clubs and revolve their lives around the odd social occasion and are open to meeting new people but they inevitably take much longer to make longer and deeper connections with people.
babi-hrse wrote: » Nobody wants to get stuck with a headcase that seemed nice but then after working alongside for a week thought they seem fun I'll invite her on a night out and let her know we do this every Thursday. Only to find out person is an absolute nutter when out of the office and drunk going on about every wrong done to them and getting into full on arguments. Irish people have a hard time coming right out and saying to a new colleague after such an event ok I thought you were sound but your a nut so your not coming out with us ever again It's easier to play the long game if they see your grand and hear more about what your like in your own time after a few weeks you'll make headway. Making friends is a cautious investment having the craic is cheap
Deleted User wrote: » Finnish groups of friends are apparently the most difficult to break into from what people who've lived there have said to me.
we'llallhavetea wrote: » I think it's an age thing as some other posters have said. I'm 33 and couldn't think of anything more annoying than have someone trying to befriend me. No thank you, i have enough humans in my life.
the purple tin wrote: » I hardly ever get time to meet up with my current friends, never mind trying to make new ones.
JackieChang wrote: » A French lady told me today that Irish people are very "closed". We are one of the "most friendly people in the world" on a Saturday night (drink obviously), but we'll never be seen again. Come Monday we don't want to hear about them. She works in a big multinational corporation and is finding it hard to make friends with Irish colleagues. I'm posting this as it's actually the millionth time I've heard this from a foreigner. What do you think?
fando wrote: » So true. Want to get rid of an Irish person? Try to elevate small talk into something more serious, they'll be gone in a second. The Irish behave like they are still under British rule, constantly on guard......
the purple tin wrote: » There is nothing worse than being sold a lemon, friend-wise. Usually it occurs when a friend of yours makes a new friend who turns out to be a complete prannie. Then you by extension, have to have to hang around with them too, against your better judgement. :mad: .
the purple tin wrote: » There is nothing worse than being sold a lemon, friend-wise. Usually it occurs when a friend of yours makes a new friend who turns out to be a complete prannie. Then you by extension, have to have to hang around with them too, against your better judgement. :mad:
Balanadan wrote: » I always got on better with the Southern English than the Southern Irish.
LirW wrote: » The Irish are super clique-y, people are friends with the same people from a young age until they are old. When I meet with my partner's friends it's really difficult to integrate because they often talk about things and people they got to know over the years. That said though, they're really welcoming and try to get to know you, they aren't unfriendly. It's just hard finding into a very established circle of friends, throw cultural differences into to mix and it's even harder. I think it's easy to get talking to the Irish but difficult to befriend them properly.