Graces7 wrote: » there was no gun..not even a realistic replica... do the police not have eyes? Telescopic sights?
Graces7 wrote: » https://www.rte.ie/news/europe/2018/0803/982953-stockholm-sweden-shooting/
Gatling wrote: » Standard beat cops in Sweden and most other countries who have armed police use 9mm -.45 pistols , At 4am it's difficult to tell the difference between a toy and a real gun and considering many real pistol can be pretty small and compact it's difficult to distinguish. If this man was well known to police as having a mental disability and lack of ability to communicate it may have been a different outcome ,I wouldn't blame the parents for allowing him to run away ,he may have the IQ of a three year old but he was an adult there is only so much you could do to stop him , for all we know his parents were asleep in bed when he wandered off
Potential-Monke wrote: » We don't know exactly what happened so we can't blame anyone yet. But with the evidence we do have (male with mental disorder walking around town at 4am with what looked like a gun) it looks like the cops didn't do anything wrong. We don't know what the interaction was, we don't know what was said, how that man acted if confronted, he could have pretended it was a real gun if he has 'the mentality of a 3 year old' who somehow managed to run away from home quite often. I'll wait for all the facts, but as it is now, we can't say who was right or wrong. And the best part about these threads are the people who say 'Why not give a warning shot, why not use a taser, why not blah blah blah'. Ye are not cops in a country where getting shot is a possibility. You cannot imagine what that decision is like. Cops don't shoot to kill, they shoot to incapacitate, and if it ends in death so be it. They aim for the largest part of the body, the torso. No, you cannot shoot a gun out of someones hand, no you should not taser someone with a potential loaded firearm (restricts muscles and if the finger is on the trigger it will fire, there are videos out there showing this). Playing devils advocate, why did the parents allow a man with mental issues and the intellectual capacity of a 3 year old run away? He does this often, so it sounds like the parents let him do it. Same in this country, person runs away for whatever reason, family ring the cops and that's that. Why weren't they out looking for him? Did they give a description, state he had a toy gun, explain to the cops his intellectual capacity, give a photo so it can be put out there. I've no doubt if those cops got a description it may have ended differently.
Raging_Ninja wrote: » With a little under half the population we've had 1 person killed by the Gardaí and there are years where there are no police-involved shootings.
bluewolf wrote: » I can't edit easily on phone so - regarding where to aim - torso is a usa thing, iirc. I read this a while ago:https://improvingpolice.wordpress.com/2015/08/06/a-note-from-sweden-on-use-of-force/
Potential-Monke wrote: » It's the main point of aiming here in Ireland and in the UK too. This warning shots, shoot at the legs craic, it's stupid imo
TG1 wrote: » But I highly doubt the unfortunate police officers involved in the above mentioned incident are delighted with what they've done.This is probably going to affect them for the rest of their lives. A bit of compassion for people going above and beyond on a daily basis when it does go wrong is not a bad thing. .
Wanderer2010 wrote: » some of these cops couldn't care less how many people they kill during the day and just go right on with their lives and sleep soundly every night. Now that's terrifying...
Potential-Monke wrote: » It's the main point of aiming here in Ireland and in the UK too. This warning shots, shoot at the legs craic, it's stupid imo. If you need to shoot, it's serious enough to require you to shoot to incapacitate. What happens if you shot the armed man in the leg, he drops and shoots a civilian? Cop would be held responsible for that. In theory it would be great to shoot the legs, back up, reasses, etc, but again, imo if it warrants a shot being fired to begin with, that shot should be at the largest mass of the suspect to prevent anything further from happening. If a warning shot is something that can be done, then it's not necessary. The only time an Irish Garda or American cop are advised to fire is to prevent a threat to life. And where do you fire the warning shot? Over their shoulder, into the air, into the ground? Ballistics would show that that bullet could end up anywhere if shot into the ground or air. Shooting over his shoulder, where would that go? It's not safe to fire a warning shot, full stop. I'm sure Scandinavian countries are trying to be less aggressive that our American counterparts, but gun crime is only starting to become a problem there. Gun crime in America has been around since day dot, so they're not only experiencing it now, they're used to it, it's part of life, and it has shown them that aiming for the largest mass is the best policy to prevent further incidents. I'm sure Sweden and co. will change in the future, but American cops won't ever change to shooting legs or giving warning shots. Simple line to remember that I mentioned above. If a gun has to be fired, it should be to stop a suspect. Warning shots and shooting limbs should be kept to the movies.
The man frequently ran off on his own, according to his father Rickard Torell, adding he could not understand why police had shot his son.
the_syco wrote: » Shooting warning shots may be a good idea when dealing with someone who doesn't have a gun, but if the perp does have a gun, shooting warning shots will make the perp assume that the cops are shooting at them, and return fire.
Gatling wrote: » I know we've had multiple cases here where people with replica guns have threatened to shoot guards (including armed) who have them essentially surrounded them and yet no killings
the_syco wrote: » I suppose they opened a dialog? The parents of the dead guy mentioned that their son wasn't able to talk much.
TheBoyConor wrote: » Graces why on earth would you want this thread deleted? Usual Irish attitude of when something we don't like or can't handle happens the first instinct is to censor it, cover it up, smother it and sweep it under the carpet and pretend it didn't happen. Child abuse, domestic violence, rape, pedophilia etc and now police shootings. You should be ashamed of yourself for trying to brush this one under the rug.
Gatling wrote: » Having downs and autism's could have left him non verbal ,and not actually able to communicate with someone who doesn't know what's he's trying to say or do , He was probably more or just as scared as the cops called to someone waving / carrying a gun at that time of the morning , possibly add flashing lights and torches and a gang of lads (cops)shouting at him to comply , terrifying situation