Call Me Jimmy wrote: » Do a simple test, would you like the term toxic feminity, toxic blackness, toxic [any immutable trait]? Would you try and justify it in other cases? Associating toxicity with a whole population? 'oh but it means emotional repression', then say that. Women must have a problem with emotional instability, lets call it toxic feminity... it's just dumb and you'd be forgiven for thinking their was a not-so-pleasant sentiment underneath
While the word "hysteria" originates from the Greek word for uterus, hystera (ὑστέρα), the word itself is not an ancient one, and the term "hysterical suffocation" – meaning a feeling of heat and inability to breathe – was instead used in ancient Greek medicine. This suggests an entirely physical cause for the symptoms but, by linking them to the uterus, suggests that the disorder can only be found in women.[1] Historically, hysteria was thought to manifest itself in women with a variety of symptoms, including: anxiety, shortness of breath, fainting, insomnia, irritability, nervousness, as well as sexually forward behaviour.
nozzferrahhtoo wrote: » I can see it occasionally used that way, but I see nothing to assume it was A) defined to do that intended for that or C) was "imported" with that purpose in mind. I think we can look at both how SOME people use a word, and what that word was originally coined to mean, when discussing it. To focus on one and not the other as you contrive to do here is likely only to serve as a vehicle for your own issues. The first result google throws up for example: "Toxic masculinity is thus defined by adherence to traditional male gender roles that restrict the kinds of emotions allowable for boys and men to express, including social expectations that men seek to be dominant (the "alpha male") and limit their emotional range primarily to expressions of anger." I see nothing wrong with that definition. And I see every good reason to work to move our society AWAY from what it describes. And no, I see nothing in that definition that links it to YOUR definition of it as merely being "bad behavior". Bad behavior appears to be nothing to do with the reason the term was created. Quite the opposite, the behavior "toxic masculinity" describes in that definition is behavior we once thought for male was GOOD not bad behavior.
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » It's a bull**** term imported from America to demonize men.
nozzferrahhtoo wrote: » Heh "toxic masculinity" is probably a phrase that triggers even more than "feminism" does. Part of me likes it but part of me doesn't. The part of me that likes it is the one that understands what it is meant to mean. The part of me that does not, does so because of many of the same reasons as above. It is a buzz word thrown around a bit too much and it is used almost as reflexively as phrases like "Homophobia" often in terms that do not fit what I think it means. Quite often people using it can not define what they think it means. They do not seem to know what toxic masculinity means. Or to be even able to name an example someone who is highly "masculine" but in a way that is not at all toxic. Whereas I can name people who literally ooze masculinity but are, for want of a better term, outright sweethearts. Ah language. It unites us and divides us in some of the most tragic and comical of ways.
Deleted User wrote: » Oh yeah sure no issues with that, each to their own and all. Boards can be a bit of an echo chamber at times, so I was just referring to you agreeing with criticism of the recent podcasts but then in the same breathe you said you hadn't listened to either of them. Not having a go or anything - it's all grand like.
kubjones wrote: » I agree with both sides of this debate and I think the part everyone is getting caught up on is the intent of his use of the word "Feminism". As we all know, it has become a bit of a buzzword at the moment, quite a polarizing one really, based on the misandry that has started to spew from the 3rd and 4th wave. The ones that scream the loudest. I think the problem with the term "Feminism" now is that it has been annexed by these waves, distorting the original message of Feminism which was once equality. What you'll notice about a lot of the first and second wave feminists is that they're abandoning the term feminist and adopted things like "equalist" or other things instead. There's no doubt about the original meaning of Feminism, but the largest advocates of Feminism these days are the man-haters, the ones that spread harmful disinformation and propaganda and to support that movement would mean one was either being disingenuous or misinformed. Part of me thinks Blindboy was giving a little nod to the feminist resurgence while also making a good point. If I were to use an example, its like saying "Its important to smoke because it gets you outside for a while." One positive with a larger negative impact. If I were asked the same question, from experience, I would say men need more positive masculine figures in their life. I had an ex-girlfriend that had a troubled brother, lived in a house with five women, no father around. He was getting into a lot of trouble up to the point that I met her. I propositioned him to come boxing with me some time, he was reluctant, but I managed to force his hand. Once he had adopted a discipline that embraces masculine stereotypes but in a productive way, he became a lot more comfortable in himself and quickly fell out of his habits with bad company in lieu of training to become a champion boxer. He's still at it, but also got himself a job and is making an effort with his family. I have no data to back my claim other than my own personal experiences, and I'm not saying its not important for men to also be able to embrace some traditionally feminine stereotypes either, but there's all the evidence in the world to suggest people aren't blank slates at birth and not all character is learned, we need to be able to take these biological differences into consideration and encourage masculinity in a positive way. But that's just my opinion:pac:
Wibbs wrote: » Not particularly N. The general consensus among most folks around "feminism" is that it's about "equality".
Wibbs wrote: » However it takes only the most scant of enquiry into modern feminism to see that this is a nonsense on more than a few levels.
Wibbs wrote: » Like I have pointed out ad nauseam on this matter, find me any feminist talking head - and in the mainstream, so this idea it's only the fringe elements are to blame goes out the window as an excuse - that states anything that goes against the credo that women are always victims and it's always men's fault. Good luck with that.
Wibbs wrote: » That same ad nauseam point of mine has yet to be tested to anything like the point of failure. You yourself multiquoted me but left out the points that would contradict that credo.
Wibbs wrote: » I would reckon that's down to the "soft" mental illnesses being more palatable. Before someone has a fit, I am NOT saying depression and anxiety can't be truly terrible conditions, even fatal for sufferers to go through. What I mean by "soft" is that they're not as obvious and hardcore compared to a disease like schizophrenia. Someone suffering from that terrible illness appears more "mad" to the layman. It's a more disturbing and messy condition. One might also suggest that depression and anxiety are more "fashionable" conditions and far more individuals suffer from them. The rates of schizophrenia are stable over time too, whereas depression and anxiety appear to vary over time.
Deleted User wrote: » Once again I'll say I see what you're saying. But I'll have to disagree, I don't think he should have to clarify something he doesn't necessarily recognize. If that rule was applied to everyone, then nobody would ever get to the point for the amount of clarifications they'd have to make.
nozzferrahhtoo wrote: » As with many things alas, I think we have a single word "feminism" which has come to mean too many different things to too many people. And as always when a word comes to mean too much, it ends up meaning too little.
Me. Earlier wrote: And these young lads know it, because they're not idiots, they see that this "inequality" he speaks of comes just as much from women in their circle - something he didn't address at all, not a shock as Women™ are always blameless to feminists
Ditto. The sequel wrote: He repeats the notion easily dismissed that modern feminism is about equality. It is not. The clue is in the name. When was the last time a talking head feminist addressed areas where inequality goes against men? And I'd not expect them to. On the rare occasions they might skirt the issue, it's down to like the placcy bagman said "patriarchal thinking" and still somehow men's fault.
Well bugger me, it's a triptych wrote: However: While it's all great in fantasy land that Women™ aren't too pushed by financial security in potential partners, the reality and one backed up by acres of research across the world is that Women™ on average seek out Men™ slightly older, taller and more successful than them. They certainly don't on average seek out younger, shorter poorer men. So some young lad on minimum wage or the dole, far more likely to be less educated than women his age and yes earn less(no doubt yer man also believes the wage gap in it's entirety) and that gap is widening year on year, how is he likely to fare in the dating game?
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » Nice smart aleck response. I explained in the next sentence which you responded to so there;s no need for your snark response.
Ash.J.Williams wrote: » A mate had a bad episode recently, he met random people of all ages on his walkabout and everyone of them knew something was up and called his home. He was hospitalised that day.
nozzferrahhtoo wrote: » To you. But until such time as you can explain what is wrong with it, rather than scream words like that at it,you are not really progressing the conversation. Nor, I suspect, do you wish to.AGAIN all his point appears to be is that men who are suffering anxiety or similar due to the idea of some disparity between the sexes...... could alleviate that suffering by realising the disparity is not there..... or helping to fight for change that removes any disparity that is there. And I am genuinely struggling to see what you guys take issue to within that point. It is a simple "IF X is causing your suffering then realising X is not real..... or realising X is real but you can help in the fight to remove X..... could benefit you". Now you are the one flinging words out without clarifying them and not being clear. What do you think "equality" means? Why do you think that your definition of it describes something that is nonsense? And what the hell is the link with marxism because no use of that word I have ever engaged in has required any link at all to marxism. But again people are too keen to attack terms rather than content. You throw out bile at words like equality and marxism and at no point engage with the content that was in play when the words were used. "Equality" for me means removing the many archaic notions of gender roles that are no longer relevant (if some of them even ever were) and not treating people differently, where possible, due to what sex they happen to be. Now you can either explain why THAT position is nonsense and engage with it, or you can moan about the word used to refer to it. But the latter is devoid of anything useful or helpful or honest that I can see at this time. We all should have something to offer in any relationship we enter. So yes a man should have something to offer a woman just as the woman should have something to offer a man. But there is nothing I can think of that he should have to offer a woman (or another man if he is homosexual for that matter) by virtue of his being male. And vice versa. And the content of his point in that clip suggests that is what he is getting at.
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » But it's all piffle.
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » And my guess his attitude is making men more miserable. Putting aside the equality nonsense - a crude marxist term that has for some reason become mainstream
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » a man *should* have something to offer a woman. That doesn't mean they are not equals in a relationship.
Deleted User wrote: » That's just not true.. he's talked about how people have been abused, how they're educated, how they're raised, religion, sexual orientation... I could go on..
nozzferrahhtoo wrote: » Watcfhing the whole clip in question however I am not seeing how he could be any clearer than he was. He used the word feminism, he made a point, in that point he explained exactly what HE means by the word feminism. And if you take his definition, and parse his point through it, everything makes sense and is clear. Whether you AGREE with the point made then is a different issue. But to suggest he was not clear is not something I am buying at all. He went on to clarify what he meant by it. And what he meant by it is that he sees feminism as making women and men equal and that this attitude he has encountered in some men of "I as a man need to have something to offer women" needs to be replaced by the concept of seeing the man and woman in any relationship as equals. So this view of the man's place to be about "providing for a woman" is outdated in his view and he defines feminism as "Not about females being powerful but about redressing a balance and being about equality". Not seeing any wrong with any of what he said myself to be honest. And rather than listen to what he said on the matter of feminism we see people on this thread introduce THEIR interpretation of "feminism" or "modern feminism" and judging what the speaker said by THOSE lights and definitions rather than his own. So the source of the confusion becomes them, not the speaker. As with many things alas, I think we have a single word "feminism" which has come to mean too many different things to too many people. And as always when a word comes to mean too much, it ends up meaning too little.
Ulysses Gaze wrote: » But he has to be clearer on that if that is the case. You can't go chucking out suggestions like that if you are not clear on it.
Sweetemotion wrote: » The core issue of almost every lad he has ever talked too with mental health issues is because they don't know how can they provide for a woman.
Ulysses Gaze wrote: » But he has to be clearer on that if that is the case. You can't go chucking out suggestions like that if you are not clear on it. The third and fourth wave loons are ****ing poison to both men and women.
Deleted User wrote: » I see what you're getting at but maybe he doesn't consider that to be feminism anyway? I certainly don't. So maybe he doesn't see a need to come out and say it?
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » He said "young men need feminism". You are over-complicating things. He's a tool, and probably said it to get a good review in the Irish Times
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » Besides, let's say you're right. Why in Gods name would feminism be an answer to their problems?
DickSwiveller Returns wrote: » Feminism nowadays
Deleted User wrote: » He said a lad that came to him or some lads came to him and said "I have nothing to offer a woman... how am I supposed to provide for a woman?".. His response was (remember this wasn't out of the blue, it's a response based on the above question): "the fact of the matter is, that is a patriarchal attitude that is no longer relevant to us in the 21st century, neoliberalism has made it is such a way that if you were to go out and buy a house with a woman you must be equal, it's as simple as that. So if young men are carrying around this faulty view that they must provide for a woman? Forget about it. It can't happen. I would say to any young men out there.. feminism is not about females being powerful, it's about redressing an imbalance and equality, and [that] feminism is a very necessary thing for young men to have" Pretty different to what you are saying he said now in fairness... I'm not saying I agree with any of that, but yee are all misquoting him.
Ulysses Gaze wrote: » But Chambers does not differentiate between First and Second Wave Feminism that is for most of what you posted and the bat**** crazy third and fourth wave loons that are shouting online that cis gendered white men need to stop their mansplaining, check their privilege and shut up. That women are the oppressed and straight white men are the oppressors of all around them. Those loons are the most visible feminists in the virtual ecosystem that young men inhabit now. As Bill Maher said...what are poor working class white men supposed to do: 'Cut their dicks off and check their privilege?'
Wibbs wrote: » I see what you're saying N, but I would respectfully disagree in large part because what passes for his "message" is all over the place.
Wibbs wrote: » He conflates "providing for" and having "something to offer" a woman.
Wibbs wrote: » His parting shot about letting a woman pay for the meal on a date an extension to the above
Wibbs wrote: » Feminism is a "trigger word"
Wibbs wrote: » and yes he does claim that feminism is a therapy for young men.
Wibbs wrote: » Ah no SF, I do see what you're getting at and if anything resonates for someone in a positive way I say game ball. I would still say we are talking about it a lot. I personally don't think we need to be talking about it more, we do need to be talking about it more intelligently and effectively. I have the vibe that currently it's more about about quantity over quality, never mind the quality, feel the width and more about various people and groups looking around for a handy bandwagon to jump onto.
I would say his statement of "young men in Ireland need feminism" and following it up by the why's and how this would help them is stating that it would help them alleviate their worries and stresses. The apparently "need" feminism or they're kinda screwed.
This sentence right there is a way of thinking that makes a helluva difference and what marks you out from many, if not most. It's a remarkably rare sentiment to hear from anyone.
Personally speaking I have worked out that if I start from the basic position that I'm a thundering gobshite until proven otherwise it makes life go more smoothly for me and those around me.