whelan2 wrote: » Was surprised as lad I ordered them off said Wednesday at the earliest. Thats the worst of the meal bin , you dont have too much warning that you need to order
straight wrote: » 2 crap years
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » Kerry just about 48 hours atm. I am just short of 4 milkings with the storage in the parlour feeders so I'll have to horse a few bags up a ladder when the bin is empty. Fairly p!$$ed off of this year now but at least it's outside the door.
straight wrote: Fair play to you for your honesty. Will you be making any changes for the future like lowering your stocking rate, etc. Not knowing your exact situation but with the weather extremes we're getting I think we'll all have to be pulling back from trying to maximise numbers.
visatorro wrote: » First week in November but prob have an early couple. I don't have anywhere to put the dries. I normally take three cuts then put them there but that's not going to happen certainly as early this year. Urea is right level apparently. The silage I'm feeding will be gone before results come back! I have good silage but it's my winter feed. I'm doing what I can to preserve this. I don't know, plenty will tell me I'm wrong but sure feck them.
Timmaay wrote: I'm half way through my pit of milker silage. Got 120cows milking here at the minute still, have 5 to cull this week but the rest are pulling their weight grand, so I see no point in backing down now, still a good few nice milk cheques to come yet. Milking block stocked at about 2.2cows/ha here, so when the rain eventually comes I'll aim to build up a nice wedge of grass and graze as late as possible, worst case of if the pit of milker silage gone I'll pull the plug on the winter milk this year, and cull any of the late calvers. Definitely bit if a gamble if the drought doesn't end till oct, but I think we are all totally fcuked either way in that case.
Mooooo wrote: » Some going, dairygold are 6 to 8 days. Just flatout
visatorro wrote: » Milking platform at 5/ha. There's a couple of reasons for that this year. Not farm related
whelan2 wrote: » That's the thing about the new deferred payment scheme from Glanbia , what happens if we get the same next year?
yewtree wrote: » I had a look at the lyons research notes http://www.ucd.ie/agfood/about/lyonsresearchfarm/lyonssystemsresearchherdnotes/ No grass in diet due to drought, 9 kg concentrate and maize silage cows doing 1.85kg ms. It appears that high input systems are equally screwed when they run out of grass.
jaymla627 wrote: » Still doing over 2kgsms here on 9kgs and bales, Lyons has been a disaster all year performance wise, extremely poor benchmark for the system they are trying to replicate
GrasstoMilk wrote: » Anyone have prices on cubicles? Quote of 90€ for cubicle and mat from one company ATM
Mooooo wrote: » Not recent but was similar a couple of years ago for individual mat plus cubicle. If you can afford a roll I would go for that, prefer them to individual ones, near on twice the price tho
GrasstoMilk wrote: 5 is a very high sr. what are your running at most other years? 4 for me would be as far as I'd be willing to go to as an sr on MP. We'd be up over 5 here at times when high growth comes but that's only for 10-14 days
Mooooo wrote: » In fairness with Lyons, they haven't had the flexibility of other herds as they are trying to keep parameters the same for the trial work etc. Tbh who hasn't been tested this year it's over a number of years results should be looked at, of course once everything that happens is recorded when conclusions are gathered. I
mahoney_j wrote: Lots of trial work going on in fairness ,1.85 kgms very respectable at this stage considering no grass is pretty good
GrasstoMilk wrote: » Can't unfortunately but it's something that can always be changed.
straight wrote: » What about easy fix mats and cubicles. Are they very expensive. Alot of people are happy with the plastic ones I hear.
GrasstoMilk wrote: » Some use full advice here
jaymla627 wrote: » Lads on heavier ground that’s not burnt up and still green/growing should be spreading away, put out 10 ton here today and another 6 going out tomorrow, if your farm is burnt to pieces and is in shutdown mode, it would be relevant