wonga77 wrote: » JOD living off the hype of a few years ago, offers nothing.
FourFourFM wrote: » Very harsh.
wonga77 wrote: » Huge ask to get a result in Clones next weekend. Too many passengers on this team, JOD living off the hype of a few years ago, offers nothing. Same ole subs as usual far too predictable. Fair play to Clifford, the only plus from a horrendous display. I have zero sympathy for Fitzmaurice, he has alienated the players from the club scene and has made this bed for himself. He doesn't seem to have learnt a single thing from the last few years
windy shepard henderson wrote: » Fantastic stuff again tonight , the defensive structure is probably the best in the country at the moment , whether its cork Clare or whomever this Kerry team is miles ahead of most of the country , I highly doubt galway would give ye a game the way ye are shaping up at the moment ,
Speakerboxx wrote: » You certainly do know your stuff in fairness, fair play to you.
dobman88 wrote: » Ah he's trolling, take no notice, I'd say he's a Clare man. I called him out on it at the time. I believe the term I used was "blow holing". Don't feed it etc etc.
cms88 wrote: » More of the same questions to be asked once more. Since lasts years semi final how many games have the likes of Young, Maher and Walsh played? Be it with club or county? Subs that made no scene and took too long to bring on. Some very below par displays from the likes of Sean O Shea, Jack Barry amoung others. Another thing once again no sign of Ronan Shanahan yesterday. EF seems to have a thing against him when it comes to the championship. Something that's also worrying is the amount of players, more so in the last two years, who seem to have gone backwards. The likes of Crowley etc just don't seem to have kicked on from 2014 at all Also once again no plan when it comes to kick outs. Not sure how many were just kicked 10 yards to a fellas feet. All and all once of if not the worst display in 20 years.
mystic86 wrote: » Special mention for Clifford, 1-5 today, 1-4 from play - at the end of last year the talk was will Clifford be brought up to Senior for 2018, and if so will he be able to make the step up successfully... we now find ourselves in the position where Clifford is our main man. Startling to think about, serious praise must go his way.
keane2097 wrote: » I think JOD is getting a bit more flack than he's due. His performance obviously suffers by comparison with '14, but taken on it's own I thought he tried hard, got on a lot of ball and tried to do the right things with it. I thought he was having a far greater impact on the game than O'Shea, McCarthy and O'Brien when taken off. As CT alluded to, P Geaney was incredibly disappointing yesterday. While some guys were guilty of having little impact despite trying hard, he was guilty of having a negative impact while appearing petulant, casual and disinterested. I believe we had more than one turnover - in a tight game on a rotten day - from him not deeming it necessary to bend his back and pick up the ball. He trotted around the middle for large parts showing no real desire to take the game by the scruff of the neck, made some dreadful decisions costing us two gilt edged goal opportunities. When leadership was badly needed you look to one of the best forwards in the game and find him constantly busy engaging in handbags with a corner back who shouldn't be able to lace his boots. It's hard to see how we will be able to improve enough in a week to go to Clones with any confidence of winning. I hope we at least see more energy and a better attitude.
Stoner wrote: » What struck me watching the game was how little impact the subs made. They did nothing.
windy shepard henderson wrote: » Watched a lot of what kerry have been doing under age in the last 4 years or so . But between yesterday and today it must act as a watershed for a number of players for the future , blame fitzmorris all you like but players attitude needs to be considered Two years ago if that kildare u20 yesterday team met that kerry minor team of 2016 they would have been hammered , as for today ....bad and all Clare and cork are that was a huge drop off in work rate
munster87 wrote: » Yeah kickouts were especially poor. You could see the runs being made and in fairness to the Galway lads they were hounding the runners, but there seemed to be no plan to them at all, which in today’s football is unacceptable
keane2097 wrote: » Burns didn't do much, Maher I thought was poor and Tom O'Sullivan I thought was a fairly sizeable improvement on Begley marking Burke. The three subs at the end were brought in with five minutes to go in normal time and I would say the ball was in play for about 90 seconds between that and injury time. They had no real opportunity to make an impact. A general feature yesterday was the incredible number of lengthy delays as the ref pootered around doing whatever it is he does. The ball never seemed to be in play. I would be interested in a stop clock of 65 minutes to the final whistle of how long the ball was in play. It's mind-boggling that things could be going so badly that you decide you need to make three subs at the same time, but somehow it's five minutes to go when this becomes apparent to you.
Bass Reeves wrote: It is Fitzmaurice he reverts to type every time. This bull of blaming young players all the time is 5hite. I like to know why Morley was dropped. I think he was dropped rather than injured. I think it effected the team. I think Fitz wanted young in the team and taught we beat Galways and matchtime would bring on Young. Not a fan of Mike Geany but imagine Donnacha replacing him on the bench pissed off Paul. Sean O' Se and Stephen O Brien are virtual clubmates of Morley. I think Fitz pissed off a section of the players. This will happen if players see selections not on merit. Jack Barry was disinterested yesterday as well.
DDC1990 wrote: » You 'think he was dropped and not injured'? Morley taking no part in the warm up was a ploy so? I suppose Morley pretended to be injured so Fitzmaurice could play his buddy. Sean O'Shea and Stephen O'Brien played **** in solidarity with Morley? 8 championship debutants this year but Fitzmaurice is not giving any chance to young lads. Mikey ****ing Geaney! It's bad enough losing yesterday and the u20's without having to read utter bollox the day after as well.
keane2097 wrote: It's mind-boggling that things could be going so badly that you decide you need to make three subs at the same time, but somehow it's five minutes to go when this becomes apparent to you.
DDC1990 wrote: » Paul Murphy's "dive" in the first half, which the referee flapped his hands at him and told him to get up. I'd be very interested to see the free count.
wonga77 wrote: » Maher has played little if any club football for a good while now. Same with Killian. Its a real bugbear of mine. Apparently the extended panel as in the lads who make up the numbers at training were stopped from playing with their clubs on saturday. That is madness. Obviously im sure the county training games are competitive enough but im sure marking the same faces every night at training must become a bit of a chore. Players need to be back with their clubs a bit more, facing different teams, players and scenarios. Lose the next day and Fitzmaurice is surely gone? Im surprised Donaghy didnt get 10 minutes, we were crying out for something different...