Christy42 wrote: » Do you honestly believe Trump knows or cares about any of that?
Would an increase in German defense spending result in a decrease in US military spending? Especially given how much Trump has increased it by.
As has been said before, Europe is spending as much as Russia or China so I fail to see the big deal from Trump's point of view if France is overspending (or whoever) is covering for Germany. If the funds are not being spent appropriately that is a different story.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_military_expenditures In fact this calls bull on it being underfunded. Again it might be misused but about 2/3rds of Russia's spend is not a terrible place (unless you feel only the Chinese and US spend enough which seems ridiculous given the issues in both countries).
Unless Putin goes way more gung ho and suicidal Germany is unlikely to need much to defend itself in any case. OK ISIS would be the exception there but they operate weirdly in comparison to a military force.
EdgeCase wrote: » The US arguably also grossly overspends on military stuff, most of which is basically a way of funnelling money into aerospace, weapons makers and even tech companies. You could easily draw a line between many of the technologies that we are using today online to post on this forum and historical US defence spending that ended up spinning out industries. Effectively, the US uses military spending as a way of creating jobs and stimulating economic activity, much like the way some European countries did in the 19th century. It's the one area where the US Federal Government spends big and the GOP seems to think it's great. European countries tend to spend big on social programmes, education, health and welfare and have more direct impacts on living standards that way. So, I'm not really sure that Europe matching the US on defence spending Euro-for-Buck would do much more than give a huge boost to Airbus, Thales, BAE Systems and Dassault and umpteen other European defence companies. I would suspect Trump actually in his own head sees this as some way of funnelling money back into US contractors, which in reality it probably won't. It might just lead to a whole load of more orders for Eurofighters and so on.
everlast75 wrote: » Firstly, fair play to you for answering the questions. I note Rigolo thanked you for doing so, despite refusing to do it him/herself. I have only read your reply, and before I got a chance to post a substantive reply, others have pretty much made most points. I might come back with others later, I just wanted in the interim to acknowledge the fact that you replied.
RIGOLO wrote: » Whilst the Trump Administration is powering thru Europe like somethign we havent seen since Pattons 3rd, the Trump Adminstration continues to have other wins domestically .
Manic Moran wrote: » Christy42 wrote: » As pixel mentioned this is nothing more than Trump wanting Germany to buy more US bombs and increase the US arms industry. Germany has an extremely healthy arms industry and is one of the largest exporters of weapons in the world, before the UK. Its tanks, planes, rifles, ships, trucks are not American. Plus given the current environment, Merkel would prefer to have less reliance on American equipment.http://www.thedrive.com/the-war-zone/21679/the-german-air-force-wants-to-know-if-its-eurofighters-can-carry-u-s-nuclear-bombs“It’s no longer the case that the United States will simply just protect us,” Merkel said in the 2018 speech, which also lauded French President Emmanuel Macron who was on hand to receive an award. “Rather, Europe needs to take its fate into its own hands. That’s the task for the future.” This could make the idea of buying any type of American aircraft increasingly politically untenable. In any case, any increase in the German defense budget is inherently going to go on German parts for all the equipment it has that doesn't work. Here's an example as to how bad it has gotten:https://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2018/05/germanys-typhoon-problem-only-four-fighters-can-be-made-combat-ready/ As of two months ago: 4 out of 138 Eurofighters are combat ready. 9 out of 244 Leopard Tanks. (Hopefully the 110 or so new ones under purchase will actually work when delivered) 5 of 13 major warships can sail. 0 out of 6 submarines. 16 of 62 Eurocopter Tigers worked. 3 of 19 A400M transport aircraft are flying.And as Der Spiegel's Matthias Gebauer was told by a Bundeswehr source, "We can say with a good conscience that large parts of the [German armed forces] are mission ready, because there is currently no mission." The German military quite simply is non-functional due to lack of funds. Trump is correct on two points: 1) Germany (and others) is not living up to its commitment, and is relying on the efforts of other nations to defend it militarily. He is not the first US president to say so, but he is certainly the most direct/least polite about it. 2) Germany in particular needs to up its defense budget just to make its own military work, and Germany is not doing it. The German minister of defense has said as much.
Christy42 wrote: » As pixel mentioned this is nothing more than Trump wanting Germany to buy more US bombs and increase the US arms industry.
Leroy42 wrote: » Jebus Rigolo, did you learn nothing from the NK debacle. Hold on until the actual details emerge. What you posted could literally mean anything. Diplomats are trained to use language that both says everything and nothing at the same time.
Christy42 wrote: » Is buying US gas and transporting it that far realistic?
relax carry on wrote: » Seriously you must be working for the Trump/Putin administration at this point? Your posts are coming across as unabashed propaganda at this stage. Any chance you can take a coffee break and answer the questions put to you repeatedly on the thread?
RIGOLO wrote: » Whilst the Trump Administration is powering thru Europe like somethign we havent seen since Pattons 3rd, the Trump Adminstration continues to have other wins domestically . Another of Trumps Twitter barrage has delivered the goods... Pfizer have held back on further drug price increases and also promised to roll back recent price hikes. Pfizer says it will postpone price increases after discussions with Trump With one of the drugs mentioned being Viagra, so it represents a personal win also. This adminstration is kicking ass .
everlast75 wrote: » With your refusal to answer those 3 simple questions, hiding behind Danzy who did reply, and then the above post which is complete nonsense and hyperbole, I cannot take you seriously.
RIGOLO wrote: » Whilst the Trump Administration is powering thru Europe like somethign we havent seen since Pattons 3rd, the Trump Adminstration continues to have other wins domestically . Another of Trumps Twitter barrage has delivered the goods... Pfizer have held back on further drug price increases and also promised to roll back recent price hikes. Pfizer says it will postpone price increases after discussions with Trump With one of the drugs mentioned being Viagra, so it represents a personal win also.This adminstration is kicking ass .
RIGOLO wrote: » Your maths is all over the shop... there isnt millions at stake , its billions German GDP is about 3.5 Trillion, Current German Defence spend is 37 Billion ..a fraction over 1% NATO target spend is 2% GERMANY should be spending about 70 billion ... thats an increase of 43 billion on current spending .... Since when has 43 billion being zero impact ... Instead of the US picking up 43 billion in the cost of NATO operations, Germany should be picking up that expense.
Danzy wrote: » 1) Do you think Russia interfered in the US ElectionTo a degree yes, but in a Micky Mouse fashion, it certainly did Putin no problems that certain sections of the Media try to make it look like he is deciding elections, see point 3. Mueller reckons they were spending 1.25 million a month on ads. Both Presidential candidates spent 80 million in total, on face book ads alone. Up to Mid October, both sides had spent about 3/4s of a billion. It would not be an internationally significant or business contribution. It doesn't rank. 2) Do you think Trump aided themNo 3) Do you think Trump is compromised by RussiaNo, this sort of conspiracy nonsense has been in the public conscious for years, probably always been, Manchurian candidates, a puppet of world Jewry etc etc etc. It is easier to blame Russia than to look closer to home for the Democrats.
Danzy wrote: » It is easier to blame Russia than to look closer to home for the Democrats.
Harika wrote: » OFC the military personal wants more money, like everyone wants for himself. The leaders are aware of the threats and prepare properly. US invests so much and with all the NATO power in their back are continuously punched in the face in Afghanistan, got a bloody nose in Iraq and barely made progress in Syria before Russia turned the tide. The lesson out of that is that the solution is not more guns, planes and tanks.