bubblypop wrote: » Has a serving president ever died?
badtoro wrote: » I hope a decent candidate will run against him.
L1011 wrote: » Erskine Childers. Initially FF wanted to replace him with his wife without an election, in the end he got replaced by Cearbhall O'Dalaigh (without an election) who resigned and was replaced by Hillery (without an election!). Hillery served 14 years without ever being voted in by the public. O'Dalaigh would have died in office had he not resigned and of course Lenihan and McGuinness also died before the term they ran for expired.
touts wrote: » So does the clock restart on the death of the president and they can serve 14 years without an election? Does that mean if Michael D somehow lasts another 6 years and 11 months they could just pop Enda Kenny in his place and we wouldn't get to vote for 28 years.
8j1w94vbmnlt05 wrote: » Are these statements really original? Has he said or did anything that would stand him out from anyone else?
pixelburp wrote: The inference seemed clear enough, you're imply he somehow deceived voters who only voted for him because of a promise to serve a single term. And if you don't think people en-masse voted, then why even bring it up as a rod to beat him with?
Etc wrote: » Remember 2011 ? Here's who he was up against... Sean Gallagher Martin McGuinness Gay Mitchell David Norris Dana Rosemary Scanlon Mary Davis. The only name I've heard bandied so far has been Miriam O'Callaghan, I may have missed others but reflecting back on the last list of candidates who would be better and why ?
Bellerstring wrote: » When was the last time we had a President were most people said " They're a really bad/ordinary President".
Bellerstring wrote: » Everone says Mickey D has done us proud and performed his duties as President with absolute excellence. How could he not? Going to sports events, having meet & greets, cutting ribbons, laying wreaths, shaking hands.. When was the last time we had a President were most people said " They're a really bad/ordinary President". They all carried out their duties with dignity and aplomb. He should be on his way. My personal choice would be David Norris, but he said he wouldn't run (again)
Roger_007 wrote: » Most people that I know don't give a hoot who the president is, as long as they are ok at the 'meet and greet' stuff and don't embarrass us on the world stage. The role is largely ceremonial anyway with no executive power. I don't know why some posters seem to think that Higgins has no right to stand again having indicated that he wouldn't at the last election. He is perfectly entitled to change his mind. In a democracy anyone who is legally eligible to stand for any elected office can do so.
Bellerstring wrote: » My personal choice would be David Norris, but he said he wouldn't run (again)
pixelburp wrote: The status of President has barely any executive power, it's a purely diplomatic, aspirational & ambassadorial role - so in that respect Higgins has done Ireland proud and would be happy for him to continue.
Matt Barrett wrote: I'm glad. He's the best president we've had IMO. There is generally an element of ego and novelty for many running, however he's proved himself to be a great ambassador.
pixelburp wrote: » Beyond his age being a negative - to which I'd be a little reluctant myself - do you feel he has done a bad job as president?
realdanbreen wrote: » Whether he has done a good or bad job is immaterial to the point I was making, but of course you know that full well. With all the advisors, aides, PA's, staff etc it is a job that is pretty hard to balls up. By going back on his promise during the last election he has shown that despite all the rawmations and poetry quoting and the breaking into Irish and the pontification that he goes on with he is still just another cute hoor.
pixelburp wrote: » Dunno what the defensive snark is for tbh; the point you seemed to be making was that "many"only voted for him because he said he'd run a single term - it's not an unreasonable ask to know where you got that stat. Citations do tend to be preferred on this forum. Was that your reasoning for voting for him? Maybe most voted for him because he was the best of a bad batch; let's not forget he was up against the likes of Gay Mitchell and Sean Gallagher. Well from what I recall of the 2011 debates, Higgins' age constantly came up as challenge, which IIRC the Pat Kenny TV debate correctly, was where he spoke his decision to run for a single term. As mandates go, it's hardly "build a wall", or "scrap tuition fees" level of failed promises now is it? Be fair. Is he not allowed change his mind, having served his 7 years and figured that hey, there's life in the old dog yet. I mean honestly I'm not sure what people exactly WANT from a President - it's a ceremonial role to fly around the world and make happy diplomacy, keep Ireland's presence on the world stage vaguely relevant. It has no executive power, so what else do you do with it? I'd rather someone at least eloquent and dignified representing Ireland - hell to be really factitious, his love of poetry and 'harmless pixie grandad' appearnce has generally gone down well - and given the election only ever seemed to be an excuse to remind folks that Dana was still around, I'm not going to pillory a man for changing his mind.
realdanbreen wrote: » pixelburp wrote: » Stats on that please: I seriously doubt people en masse voted purely on his decision to run a single term, versus the broadly mediocre to suspect crowd of other candidates. That Sean Gallagher was a serious contender before his gaff about 'brown envelopes' said a lot about the overall standard. The status of President has barely any executive power, it's a purely diplomatic, aspirational & ambassadorial role - so in that respect Higgins has done Ireland proud and would be happy for him to continue. I never said people voted for him en masse and I never said anything about executive power. He said one term, now he's going again, therefore he lied or is there another word for it?
pixelburp wrote: » Stats on that please: I seriously doubt people en masse voted purely on his decision to run a single term, versus the broadly mediocre to suspect crowd of other candidates. That Sean Gallagher was a serious contender before his gaff about 'brown envelopes' said a lot about the overall standard. The status of President has barely any executive power, it's a purely diplomatic, aspirational & ambassadorial role - so in that respect Higgins has done Ireland proud and would be happy for him to continue.
Johnnycanyon wrote: » Sam Russell wrote: » The bill was constitutional so he signed it into law. What else could he do? Refer it to the Supreme Court .
Sam Russell wrote: » The bill was constitutional so he signed it into law. What else could he do?
GarIT wrote: » Even after he tried to get a convicted paedophile released from prison by pretending he was acting in an official capacity?
JustAThought wrote: » while casually signing away the rights of the people,the ownership of water
and facilitating the taxi service in the med courtesy of the army
while pensioners lie terrified in their beds of criminal gangs let run amock tgroughout the country
while the rest of the army sits on their arses because noone has the balls to use them.
This same man declares himself the commander in chief of the army and armed forces at privileged showcase events
but treats law abiding irish citizens with derision by his apathy and unwillingness to make a decision to.improve the lives of our countrymen and law abiding citizens.
Wanderer78 wrote: » Very happy with the job he's doing, best of luck to him
Hotblack Desiato wrote: Generally yes. He should have called out Castro and Chavez instead of lionising them though.
Johnnycanyon wrote: » Refer it to the Supreme Court .
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » You're wrong on both counts, both regarding paedophilia and claiming to act in an official capacity, but never let the facts...etc