eviltimeban wrote: » Reminds me of an old army story I once heard. Soldiers on maneuvers lost a gun. So they tell their commanding officer they lost five guns. He promptly goes nuts. They go back to him later to say they found four but one was still missing. Not so bad then!
corner of hells wrote: » So they found four that weren't missing at all ?
dense wrote: » Im wondering how exactly did it get into the news? Did the Gardai issue a press release about the happy return of their lost firearm or did the finder phone a journalist to tell them about their excitement about finding it and their sense of civic pride in returning it?
mattser wrote: » Right so. Don't bother your bollox calling them at 3am when you have a burglar. Fire the keyboard at him. Or move somewhere else in Western Europe.
eviltimeban wrote: »
blackbox wrote: » Imagine what could happen in a country where everyone was allowed to carry guns.
Mint Sauce wrote: » This is probably one reason why Guards are not routinely armed here. I wonder if guns are usually left down by cops in Dunkin Dounuts in the U.S, or by European Cops in the French or Spanish equivalent.
Rylee Echoing Flu wrote: » Speaking as someone who's regularly armed you've to constantly bare in mind where your weapon is, constantly. I know I'd even check the serial number of my weapon a number of times during the course of a duty to make sure I've got my own weapon. I can't imagine the Guards weapon was missing too long before the member noticed it, and likely shat himself. I can not imagine losing my weapon, even the thought of it freaks me out. And as bad as it is for the Guard today and least there's some relief for him/her that the weapon has been handed in and its safe. Either way the member is in a world of sh*t this morning, and will be for awhile yet. Thing is, its not even that difficult for an untrained person to charge and discharge a gun.
fuzzyduck4 wrote: » Mustve been a member of the public that reported this.
Rylee Echoing Flu wrote: Either way the member is in a world of sh*t this morning, and will be for awhile yet.
Hitman3000 wrote: » I doubt that person will still be a member of the ERU at the end of the month.
seamus wrote: » Yes. It's a surprisingly common occurrence. See that video a few weeks back where an FBI agent was doing some drunken breakdancing, dropped his gun and then shot someone in the leg in his scramble to pick it back up. This incident will actually be taken seriously. The Gardai really don't fcnk around when it comes to weapons. The guy who lost it will need a very strong explanation to be allowed back onto an armed unit again. The main implication here not being, "what if a criminal had found it", but rather "what if a child had found it".
dense wrote: » I suppose it must have, but I'd like to know the motivation behind reporting it to or sharing it with the media....
soups05 wrote: » cops could mistakenly think he stole it or it was an illegal gun, showdown time. I would have rung 999 rather than pick it up.
punisher5112 wrote: They will, the boot opened, it fell out.
Hitman3000 wrote: » The guns aren't just thrown in the boot.....
punisher5112 wrote: » They will, the boot opened, it fell out.
corner of hells wrote: » What would happen to soldier if he lost a weapon ?
A loaded sub-machine gun fell out of an emergency response unit car after it went over a ramp and the boot opened.
cd07 wrote: » I would have presumed that these firearms would have to properly secured in an almost fixed case in the boot of the car on patrol or en route? I've seen they way the American cops have their weapons fixed in a semi-customized hold in their car boots. Just thought it would be same here