The Backwards Man wrote: » Once upon a time I was falling in love, now there's only light in the dark
RobbingBandit wrote: » Nothing I can do except let out a big durty fart
Bob Harris wrote: » Why isn't it called an apartment crisis? Or a high-rise flat crisis?
van_beano wrote: » ...or a condominium crisis :cool:
CPTM wrote: But to play devil's advocate - doesn't the government still have a massive stake in one of the biggest mortgage lenders in the country(AIB); a mortgage lender with many loans in arrears? Doesn't it make sense to bring the value of those struggling assets up so that the customer can clear the heavy debt before the government has to??
CPTM wrote: » The Transport crisis is (or will be) the next thing as soon as they fix the housing crisis.
Berserker wrote: » It won't. It'll be health followed by personal debt.
CPTM wrote: » The problems within the health sector are worse but for a smaller proportion of the population..
emilymemily wrote: » Is there anyway of solving it? whats causing it?
Allinall wrote: » There’s a lack of concrete evidence.
Wanderer78 wrote: » Would helping to raise those asset prices cause problems for those that don't already own homes but would like to, and who truly gains from these rising asset prices, and what role does the financial sector play in all of this?
emilymemily wrote: » In fairness the housing crises isnt just in Dublin, it seems to be growing country wide as prices go up everywhere. 8 years ago you could rent a 2 bed apartment in the centre of a town for 500 - 600 euro. Now you'd pay that for a room sharing in an apartment in the same area. Tbh though it doesnt explain the house prices, rents prices etc in the rest of the country, my little home town where theres no opportunities has tripled in rent prices in the last few years, ive friends living rurally just outside the town paying 1,200 a month for a 3 bed house while trying to support their young family on one income.
emilymemily wrote: » One thing I noticed though, people are adamant to live in Dublin city center and wont even think about moving outside the city to a commuter town. I was speaking to a couple of Spanish lads who where giving out about their rent and cramped living conditions. They were living in Dublin city center. I said to them why don't they consider renting in Wicklow, Meath, Louth, Kildare or a town outside Dublin like Skerries or Swords, its an hour or less on the train or bus and doesnt cost that much but they shot down that notion before I could finish my sentence. Their attitude was like how dare I even suggest they should travel to work. It just came across a bit entitled, like id love to live in Dublin but I cant afford the standard of living that id like so I dont live there. I just think its mad the way so many people are determined to live in Dublin, knowing theres a crisis, Dublin is way over populated, its a tiny city and can realistically only accommodate so many people.
whisky_galore wrote: » So that's ok then... shur it'll be grand. Only those people who get sick with no health insurance, that must be a small number. It's not like anyone's going to die or anything...
Geuze wrote: » (1) Yes, reduce land and building costs, so as to boost supply. (2) Demand exceeds supply.
Cina wrote: » Maybe if Irish people didn't have such an elitist view when it comes to owning a house and would actually be happy with apartments, like most countries are, then there wouldn't be a crisis. Anything that is being built in Dublin is usually some massive housing estate that's just a complete waste of valuable land. Considering the population of Dublin is predicted to grow by about 500,000 in the next 30 years then I don't see any of this getting solved anytime soon unless there's actually a proper effort put into building high-rise apartments.
kylith wrote: » part of the issue there is the state of renting in this country. In many European countries a tented home is just that - a home. You can decorate as you like, you supply your own furniture: you can more or less treat it as your own in that regard. Here you can’t even have a pet in rented accommodation. Rents are exhorbitant, there’s no security, and the state of some places is revolting.
zom wrote: » As there is lack of skilled workforce building even simple house is expensive and poor quality. We better go for expensive high structures where there are much more quality factors like balconies or fire protection for example.