mahoney_j wrote: » Would a much simpler option be just cull a % of herd cell count ,feet poor solids etc .wont solve problem of no growth but will reduce demand straights like hulls and palm are going to get scarce and dear longer this drags on u mentioned tight on winter feed too even if rain comes it’ll take time for grass to recover
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » Admit it, Dawg, you just like hardship:D
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » S Starting on wheat tomorrow... The hits just keep on coming.
mahoney_j wrote: » Would a much simpler option be just cull a % of herd cell count ,feet poor solids etc .wont solve problem of no growth but will reduce demand straights like hulls and palm are going to get scarce and dear longer this drags on u mentioned tight on winter feed too even if rain comes it’ll take time for grass to recover[ If lads are going this route they’d want to pull the trigger fairly lively, can see a lot of cheap cows been bought in the autumn/winter if Mother Nature doesn’t reboot and revert us back to our nice temperate wet climate, after the spring the cash buffers simply aren’t their for lads to spend small fortunes buying in feed to keep cows going
jaymla627 wrote: » If lads are going this route they’d want to pull the trigger fairly lively, can see a lot of cheap cows been bought in the autumn/winter if Mother Nature doesn’t reboot and revert us back to our nice temperate wet climate, after the spring the cash buffers simply aren’t their for lads to spend small fortunes buying in feed to keep cows going
mf240 wrote: » What price are hulls or pke at the moment.
freedominacup wrote: » I don't get your point about the cash buffers. Surely the point of putting in feed is to maintain output? Is pke just gut fill? Feeding an 18% blend at 4kg/HD and a 50:50 blend of soya hulls and maize meal at 4kg. Yields stopped dropping at 29l. I'm hearing lots about yields under 20l. The extra feed is costing me around €1-€1.25/hd/day depending on how much feed you think would be going in anyway. Nothing unusual to be feeding silage here at this time of year so not counting it as an extra cost anymore than I'd be congratulating myself on my brilliant management skills if weather was cooperating and we weren't feeding silage at all. Without that feed yields would be well back. How much? Hard to be sure. I'll let someone else stop feeding their cows and find out. In the first phase of this we threw some paddock bales of dubious quality into the mix before a flush of grass became available. That flush was there by luck not judgement. We knew that the deficit was short term, less than 10 days and we still took a hit to yields that we never got back. Bales were no more than gut fill and I didn't want to open silage pit. If I was doing it again I'd open the pit. If you want milk you have to feed for it. If you don't feed for it you will be without income. From the sounds of things posted here pke is pennywise and pound foolish.
RightTurnClyde wrote: » Used Epricis on them instead this year. Injectable. Noticed a difference in the cows the following day. Finished with pourons, ended up doing the cows twice for the last few years. I have a feeling pourons are adding to parasite resistance.
stretch film wrote: » Suspect its more than gutfill but take your point . It's the next addition after 7 kgs ration and hulls . Can't be feeding silage I need later and availability round here shur you know yourself. The draff man got a mention last week . He's got a long finger atm I'm waiting over 2wks and I'll need to make another call to him I reckon. Agree with feeding cow's . Lots of milk left to produce yet this year.
GrasstoMilk wrote: » 235 in the local merchants. Anyone getting it cheaper?
Never wrestle with pigs wrote: » For burgers?
Keepgrowing wrote: » It’s early July, if cows aren’t worth feeding at this stage they should be happy meals
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » Seven hours round trip with one horse and return home with two...wrong kinda expansion. Bad day. Came back with the foulest, meanest, no-good-bytch of a filly that you could possibly be unlucky enough to afford... Bytch took a lump out of my shoulder. Starting on wheat tomorrow... The hits just keep on coming.
stretch film wrote: » Not a pke fan either ?
gozunda wrote: » Sounds like you have a mean one there alright. A little light grazing might put manners on her. ..;) I've found the hot weather has made pure pets out the horses left off. Normally this time of year they'd have no time for you at all ...
Keepgrowing wrote: » Honestly I’ve never fed it so can’t comment. I’m not a great believer in “filling” cows. I reckon if you're going to the bother of feeding milch cows be sure it’s good gear
freedominacup wrote: » jaymla627 wrote: » If lads are going this route they’d want to pull the trigger fairly lively, can see a lot of cheap cows been bought in the autumn/winter if Mother Nature doesn’t reboot and revert us back to our nice temperate wet climate, after the spring the cash buffers simply aren’t their for lads to spend small fortunes buying in feed to keep cows going I don't get your point about the cash buffers. Surely the point of putting in feed is to maintain output? Is pke just gut fill? Feeding an 18% blend at 4kg/HD and a 50:50 blend of soya hulls and maize meal at 4kg. Yields stopped dropping at 29l. I'm hearing lots about yields under 20l. The extra feed is costing me around €1-€1.25/hd/day depending on how much feed you think would be going in anyway. Nothing unusual to be feeding silage here at this time of year so not counting it as an extra cost anymore than I'd be congratulating myself on my brilliant management skills if weather was cooperating and we weren't feeding silage at all. Without that feed yields would be well back. How much? Hard to be sure. I'll let someone else stop feeding their cows and find out. In the first phase of this we threw some paddock bales of dubious quality into the mix before a flush of grass became available. That flush was there by luck not judgement. We knew that the deficit was short term, less than 10 days and we still took a hit to yields that we never got back. Bales were no more than gut fill and I didn't want to open silage pit. If I was doing it again I'd open the pit. If you want milk you have to feed for it. If you don't feed for it you will be without income. From the sounds of things posted here pke is pennywise and pound foolish.
Gawddawggonnit wrote: » Nice to see such a swing to home grown cereals...you know the stuff...it’s called barley, wheat, oats, beans etc. It’s a byproduct of growing straw. Lol.
Waffletraktor wrote: » They're only grown by the peasant classes and not real farmers so are unimportant.
jaymla627 wrote: » It's the sub 20 litre cows I'm referring to, if on a winter/drought diet your talking 6kgs 18% nut 300ton 4kgs soya hulls 220 ton and 8kgs dm silage, probably talking the guts of €3.50 plus a day on feed alone, to produce 7 euros worth of milk, our 17cent a litre.... Wouldn't touch pke/hulls either buffer mix here in at 4kgs is soya/beet pulp/flaked maize/peas/barley getting this blown in at 255 ton and its a lot better value at that then hulls/pke given extra milk response
GrasstoMilk wrote: » jaymla627 wrote: » It's the sub 20 litre cows I'm referring to, if on a winter/drought diet your talking 6kgs 18% nut 300ton 4kgs soya hulls 220 ton and 8kgs dm silage, probably talking the guts of €3.50 plus a day on feed alone, to produce 7 euros worth of milk, our 17cent a litre.... Wouldn't touch pke/hulls either buffer mix here in at 4kgs is soya/beet pulp/flaked maize/peas/barley getting this blown in at 255 ton and its a lot better value at that then hulls/pke given extra milk response You obviously have the excess silage already to fill the rest of the gap with! Hulls going in here tonight. Ye might all scoff at what a herd like mine is yielding but it's worked for us for 40 plus years and we've done pretty Okay I think
jaymla627 wrote: It's the sub 20 litre cows I'm referring to, if on a winter/drought diet your talking 6kgs 18% nut 300ton 4kgs soya hulls 220 ton and 8kgs dm silage, probably talking the guts of €3.50 plus a day on feed alone, to produce 7 euros worth of milk, our 17cent a litre.... Wouldn't touch pke/hulls either buffer mix here in at 4kgs is soya/beet pulp/flaked maize/peas/barley getting this blown in at 255 ton and its a lot better value at that then hulls/pke given extra milk response
Mf310 wrote: » jaymla627 wrote: It's the sub 20 litre cows I'm referring to, if on a winter/drought diet your talking 6kgs 18% nut 300ton 4kgs soya hulls 220 ton and 8kgs dm silage, probably talking the guts of €3.50 plus a day on feed alone, to produce 7 euros worth of milk, our 17cent a litre.... Wouldn't touch pke/hulls either buffer mix here in at 4kgs is soya/beet pulp/flaked maize/peas/barley getting this blown in at 255 ton and its a lot better value at that then hulls/pke given extra milk response Sounds a good balanced mix is that plus nuts in parlour?
GrasstoMilk wrote: » You obviously have the excess silage already to fill the rest of the gap with! Hulls going in here tonight. Ye might all scoff at what a herd like mine is yielding but it's worked for us for 40 plus years and we've done pretty Okay I think
yewtree wrote: » You will be grand, always remember milk yield/cow has no relationship with profit. Dairy farm systems are complicated the idea that you can pick one thing (milk yield) and predict the profitability of the entire system on it is utter nonsense. Anyway your probably in the top 10% for milk solids sold.