Sweetemotion wrote: » We didn't see the video but we do know it contradicted her version of events no matter "how she saw it" There is no better evidence for the defence than that.
He's innocent and now with this crap of not proven. That only provides ammunition for people like Kylith to still cast doubt of his innocence, he may as well have been found guilty.
Deleted User wrote: » It pisses me off that biased clowns like kylith could end up on a jury and ruin a man's life for the sake of their own beliefs.
kylith wrote: » I don't think that the verdict was wrong. They did not have enough evidence to convict so they did not convict, this was the correct choice. What pisses me off in that clowns like Proffessore continue to peddle dangerous ideas that women are responsible for being assaulted because they dance with a man or because of what they were wearing, and also complain that women exagerrate issues like being groped or harassed on nights out. That is a dangerous attitude to have.
Ardent wrote: » Can't believe this went to court. I feel sorry for single men today - interacting with the opposite sex appears to be like navigating a landmine field (with similar consequences).
BattleCorp wrote: » kylith wrote: » I don't think that the verdict was wrong. They did not have enough evidence to convict so they did not convict, this was the correct choice. What pisses me off in that clowns like Proffessore continue to peddle dangerous ideas that women are responsible for being assaulted because they dance with a man or because of what they were wearing, and also complain that women exagerrate issues like being groped or harassed on nights out. That is a dangerous attitude to have. Give me your opinion on this scenario please. I see a woman in a nightclub that I fancy. I ask her to dance. I think she fancies me. I put my hand on her ass while dancing. She's not interested and moves my hand back up. Should I be charged with sexual assault?
RacoonQueen wrote: » Ardent wrote: » Can't believe this went to court. I feel sorry for single men today - interacting with the opposite sex appears to be like navigating a landmine field (with similar consequences). Feel sorry for the normal single women too who have to deal with it as well because men are afraid to pursue normal interactions with someone they're interested in for fear of being labelled a sex pest.
RacoonQueen wrote: » Feel sorry for the normal single women too who have to deal with it as well because men are afraid to pursue normal interactions with someone they're interested in for fear of being labelled a sex pest.
kylith wrote: While you are right, I donmt think i’m 100% wrong either. ‘Not proven is an acquittal used when the judge or jury does not have enough evidence to convict but is not sufficiently convinced of the accused person's innocence to bring in a "not guilty" verdict.
kylith wrote: Do you think that dancing with a woman automatically gives you the right to put your hand on her bum?
kylith wrote: I have no opinion in that because it is a purely hypothetical situation. I’m not going to say anything because each person will react differently; one woman may be grand with it, one may slap you in the face, one may find it agressive or threatening.
[Deleted User] wrote: » How can you ask questions like that when you answer it yourself. Nobody thinks that you have an automatic case. It's about reading the situation and context. If a woman who perceives getting her arse felt as a sexual assault, then perhaps she shouldn't put herself in the position where she could be viewed as a willing recipient. It is not unreasonable for a man to innocently believe he has implied consent in certain circumstances.
One eyed Jack wrote: » That has to be the most bizarre rationale I've heard in a long time, and I've heard some doozys! That someone could be so full of their own self-importance that they think it's unfair on women to deny them the 'pleasure' of being made to feel uncomfortable is quite something :pac: Women are surely better off if men who think like that choose to avoid them, surely?
kylith wrote: » And the women who are afraid to interact with men because if they are assaulted some people will say it was their own fault or they’re looking for attention.
RacoonQueen wrote: » You're interpreted that incorrectly. Intentionally.
One eyed Jack wrote: » I don't like the idea of "the Scottish verdict" any more than you do, particularly because it allows for an acquittal that's not really an acquittal. The accused is supposed to maintain the presumption of innocence provided the prosecution can prove their case beyond a reasonable doubt, therefore leading to either a not guilty or guilty verdict, and this "not proven" shyte means that the accused will indeed always have the presumption that they aren't innocent of the charges of which they are accused, but that there is insufficient evidence to prove the accused is guilty.
The intent is to acknowledge for the alleged victim that the events did happen as they suggested, but that there wasn't enough evidence to find the accused guilty of the crimes of which they are accused. It's the verdict itself casts doubt on the presumption that the accused is innocent, which flies in the face of their right to the protection of their reputation.
One eyed Jack wrote: » Interesting, isn't it? Here we are in a discussion about intent, consent and misinterpretation, and I interpreted your post in a way that seems entirely reasonable to me. Now you're saying I didn't interpret your post as you intended it, which is not unlike the way a person would interpret an invitation to dance. Using your rationale, it's not my fault I misinterpreted your post, it's yours. It's a good thing for women that they would avoid a man who would misinterpret their invitation to dance as an invitation to be felt up and groped, particularly when that same man was only after reminding her to be careful as she was getting married in the morning, and she invited him to dance with the expectation that he wasn't going to attempt to try and take liberties, given his earlier comments to her to be wary of other men who might try and take liberties.
johnnyskeleton wrote: » To give an example, as I understand it anyway, let's say that there is a case where no one identifies the accused person so there is no evidence that they were involved. A Scottish Jury here would find the charge not proven even though there is no reason to think they did anything at all or were even there. Whereas if there was a case where the accused gave evidence that they were on holidays at the time and the jury accepted that, they might be persuaded to find him "not guilty". The problem comes with how people interpret the distinction. Some people will say that "not proven" means that there is some substance to the charge. But to be honest, as we have seen in Ireland, even when there is a not guilty verdict here some people still think that.
One eyed Jack wrote: » You say it's about reading the situation and context, but then you still go on to at least try and hold the woman in that scenario responsible for the man's actions. Whether or not it's reasonable by his standards to believe he has implied consent to do anything, isn't in any way relevant, because it is up to the individual woman in question whether he actually has her consent. To give you an example by way of illustration, say a woman thought it was perfectly reasonable to assume she had implied consent to kick men in the nads because every man she's ever met before was kinda kinky like that. Would you say it was the man's fault for putting himself in the position where the woman has a reasonable belief that she has his implied consent to kick him in the nads? I would certainly hope not, and the same applies when a person, regardless of their gender, assumes they have implied consent to do anything. It might be entirely reasonable to them, but the person they're doing it to, may disagree, and may indeed make a complaint to the authorities, who will then be the arbiters of what a person could or couldn't have reasonably believed given the circumstances of each individual case.
kylith wrote: » I have no opinion in that because it is a purely hypothetical situation. I’m not going to say anything because each person will react differently; one woman may be grand with it, one may slap you in the face, one may find it agressive or threatening.
Do you think that a person should not report what they view as an assault because a third party doesn’t think it’s that bad?
Do you think that dancing with a woman automatically gives you the right to put your hand on her bum?
Hagar7 wrote: » Jack,for God sake open your eye,regardless of what you think about Scots Law it works perfectly for us,if not,then it would have been changed years ago.
Olsky wrote: » In my opinion the puritanism and sexual repression demanded by the #metoo movement has begun to exceed anything achieved by the catholic church at the height of their powers or the victorian puritans centuries ago. Having largely succeeded in getting rid of any flirting or physical contact "in the workplace" they have now turned their attention to "inappropriate" touching in nightclubs. Any like any orthodoxy people are terrified of challenging it. Read the court report on the trial below and give your opinion.https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2018/06/18/john-leslie-goes-trial-accused-nightclub-sex-assault/
kylith wrote: » So it's her fault because of what she was wearing? And dancing is an invitation to sexual assault now? Seriously? How is 'don't grope people' somehow a statement worthy of such outrage?
professore wrote: » There you go putting words in my mouth. A hen dancing with a strange man a few days before getting married is an invitation to something. Just as a stag dancing in a bar with a strange woman is. That much is obvious.
ohnonotgmail wrote: it is. It is an invitation to dance.
Deleted User wrote: » If I am dancing with a girl and I am reading non verbal cues that she is interested and would be willing for me to go further and I put my hand on her arse, that is not a criminal offence. If she refuses and objects to my advances, I'd apologise and not attempt again. Its hardly sexual assault.
professore wrote: » Some of the posters live in a cloud cuckoo land where relations between the sexes are totally transparent from the man's side while the woman reserves the right to be as mysterious and indirect as she wants. Normal human sexual interactions are messy and full of grey areas by their nature. A straight woman asking a strange man at a bar to dance is quite unusual - this implies some sort of sexual interest in him. If she then dances close to him it would be expected for him to try to feel her arse. If you can't see that then you are totally blind. It's quite difficult to feel a woman's arse if she is dancing in the nuns approved arms locked on your chest mode - this is only practical if she has her arms around you and her body against yours. If he is the polite type and asks "Is this OK" for every interaction then I can tell you now this guy is never getting laid. Biggest turnoff in the world. Anyway she can deny he ever asked her in the first place and then it's her word against his, and in a reversal of the Sharia law tradition, a woman's word is worth the word of two men. What is going to happen is that normal guys with decent careers and something to lose are going to stay away from women altogether - far too risky - and the aggressive toxic unemployed types that feminists pretend to hate will be the only ones left.
professore wrote: » Some of the posters live in a cloud cuckoo land where relations between the sexes are totally transparent from the man's side while the woman reserves the right to be as mysterious and indirect as she wants. Normal human sexual interactions are messy and full of grey areas by their nature. A straight woman asking a strange man at a bar to dance is quite unusual - this implies some sort of sexual interest in him. If she then dances close to him it would be expected for him to try to feel her arse. If you can't see that then you are totally blind. It's quite difficult to feel a woman's arse if she is dancing in the nuns approved arms locked on your chest mode - this is only practical if she has her arms around you and her body against yours.
If he is the polite type and asks "Is this OK" for every interaction then I can tell you now this guy is never getting laid. Biggest turnoff in the world.
Anyway she can deny he ever asked her in the first place and then it's her word against his, and in a reversal of the Sharia law tradition, a woman's word is worth the word of two men.
What is going to happen is that normal guys with decent careers and something to lose are going to stay away from women altogether - far too risky - and the aggressive toxic unemployed types that feminists pretend to hate will be the only ones left.