Royale with Cheese wrote: » Now I've got another email telling me the entire business park is putting on a Rainbow Fair pride party tomorrow at lunch, complete with drag DJ.
Badly Drunk Boy wrote: » I work for an American multinational manfacturing factory where they're doing loads of this lately. Sending e-mails, hanging posters, and the organised a group of 30 people to a Pride event in Dublin a while ago, making special t-shirts for them and anyone who wanted one. There are 420 working there, and I know of 5 gay people. I know there might be more but I doubt if there are many more. I've worked there 22 years so I know most people.
jcorr wrote: » Lol at drag DJ. Will the dj play village people.....that would be priceless
Changingtime wrote: » I get it. Diversity and inclusion. Being comfortable coming out. Remove discrimination from workplace. But Jesus when can we move on?
mickrock wrote: » It'd be great if they had an impersonator doing some of the great gays of the past. John Inman: "I'm free!" Larry Grayson: "Shut that door!"
Greyfox wrote: » Well for more than 2,000 years people coming out have not felt comfortable so if it takes a while its grand as its still nothing compared to the many years the catholic church spent doing damage to gay people. People need to cop on and get over themselves and accept gay pride is a good thing and stop moaning about little things that are easy to ignore
Ted_YNWA wrote: » If anything it was having a negative effect and turning people against the LGBT community.
Changingtime wrote: » I'm one of many fed up with this. If anything it's causing me to be spiteful and annoyed with the LGBT community. Which will subconsciously probably make me discriminatory.......which kinda defeats the purpose
kunst nugget wrote: » Whatever about companies cynically using Pride for good publicity, I think this says more about ye than it does about the companies. It's like the comment I kept reading in the run up to the marriage equality referendum - 'Oh, I was going to vote Yes until people kept pushing it in my face!' That's honestly a really stupid fúcking reaction. 'Yeah, I used to like the gays until my workplace started promoting Pride and putting up rainbow flags and now I hate them. I'm allergic to flags and bunting and I came out in hives and it's the fault of the quares'. It's true that lots of people are finding it overkill but most rational people would be able to see that it's the companies that are overegging it for likes and good PR and not go about blaming all gay and trans people for it.
Changingtime wrote: » Here's the hard truth. There are more important and more divisive issues in ireland and in the corporate workplace. I'm not saying just because there are more important issues we shouldn't have focus on gay pride. But the reason there are so many posting here is because it is now ridiculously disproportionate to the issue. And why - because it is socially pc and corporate image friendly and the thing every one is doing. Wish companies would grow balls and take a lead and active engagement on drug use, mental health, male suicide, male views of women, homelessness, corruption in local govt, racism. And yeah, gay pride too. But Jesus that's all anyone is doing of late. You'd didn't really address my points. Again: "I haven't come across a single discrimination case in this area in my career (20 years in financial services). Women's equality and sexual harassment - yes. Even witnessed a harsh example of racism that led to sackings and I had to give witness statement. Maybe these areas are not too hip enough for coloured lanyards or attractive enough for company advertising and social media profile. Pro-rata time spent on LGBT is massively excessive. I'm one of many fed up with this. If anything it's causing me to be spiteful and annoyed with the LGBT community. Which will subconsciously probably make me discriminatory.......which kinda defeats the purpose"
Changingtime wrote: » I voted yes. I don't "hate the gays"..Again, same point and apols if I'm sounding like a broken record. It's too disproportionate to other issues that are more divisive, more relevant, and more impacting in the workplace and in Irish culture.
Changingtime wrote: » And you can't blame the companies alone, it's a bandwagon that far too many people have jumped on in dramatic fashion. how you can't see why this creates a resentment, I really can't fathom.
Changingtime wrote: » I voted yes. I don't "hate the gays"...
Diversity for Hire wrote: » I don't care about gay pride and I don't want to hear about in work.
Changingtime wrote: » "I haven't come across a single discrimination case in this area in my career (20 years in financial services). Women's equality and sexual harassment - yes. Even witnessed a harsh example of racism that led to sackings and I had to give witness statement. Maybe these areas are not too hip enough for coloured lanyards or attractive enough for company advertising and social media profile. Pro-rata time spent on LGBT is massively excessive. I'm one of many fed up with this. If anything it's causing me to be spiteful and annoyed with the LGBT community. Which will subconsciously probably make me discriminatory.......which kinda defeats the purpose"
yourdeadwright wrote: » How about we scrap gay pride day and just have an equality day, that can Involve everyone, male, female, gay straight, black white whatever,
gmisk wrote: » IMO pride is already pretty inclusive as it is....have you been to one before? I dont think I have ever seen such a mix of people. If you want an "equality" day why not start one? Pride has it roots in LGBT history "Stonewall etc)...so why should it be renamed or totally changed? There are still plenty of causes for LGBT+ people to campaign for at home and abroad especially when it comes to trans rights IMO. There was also huge overlap in people who campaigned for Repeal and a yes vote in the marriage referendum for example.
nullzero wrote: » Take abroad as an example, how about campaigning for the rights of LGBT people in Islamic countries, or the rights of women in Islamic countries?
Sponge25 wrote: » I have nothing against what two adults do beyond closed doors so long as it's legal (because it's none of my buisiness) but prancing down the street in gimp suits and openly marching with NAMBLA (The paedo organisation) is where I start to see these marches for what they are. Marches to normalise every form of deviancy they have not yet normalised.
nullzero wrote: » I always thought NAMBLA was made up by South Park.
mariaalice wrote: » Why are workplaces getting involved in all of that carry on at all, wellness, a charity of the year ect and some of it is bizarre, in one place where my husband worked they had mindfull chocolate eating it was one chocolate. The same company let all its contract staff go with one day's notice. What do companies get from it?. As far as I can see, behind the happy-clappy we care about our employees, US multinationals are ruthless.
kunst nugget wrote: That's honestly a really stupid fúcking reaction. 'Yeah, I used to like the gays until my workplace started promoting Pride and putting up rainbow flags and now I hate them. I'm allergic to flags and bunting and I came out in hives and it's the fault of the quares'.
sbsquarepants wrote: » Some things are too fúcked up even for south park!