nullzero wrote: » Candie wrote: » A man can't even put his hand down a womans trousers uninvited anymore without being labelled a creep and being asked to explain himself in court. Where will it all end? She's obviously an attention seeking social media 'ho, and he's just a guy who might have misread a signal - and if he did it's her fault for touching his shoulder to begin with. We all know who to blame for this scenario, and it's not the man who put his hand down a womans trousers uninvited. Of course not. Nice of you to pop in and misinterpret the case at hand and at the same time misrepresent vast swathes of the posters here, but hey men are bad /thread.
Candie wrote: » A man can't even put his hand down a womans trousers uninvited anymore without being labelled a creep and being asked to explain himself in court. Where will it all end? She's obviously an attention seeking social media 'ho, and he's just a guy who might have misread a signal - and if he did it's her fault for touching his shoulder to begin with. We all know who to blame for this scenario, and it's not the man who put his hand down a womans trousers uninvited. Of course not.
nullzero wrote: » Did the case in question deal exclusively with a situation exactly like what Wibbs had described or were more serious acts also involved?
Glass fused light wrote: » exclusively : no with a situation: yes exactly: no like what Wibbs had described : unknown as Wibbs has not made a full disclosure of what "noted girlfriends who woke me up from sleep in a sexual manner" involved. (PS Wibbs, no additional disclosure is requested by me.) or were more serious acts also involved : unknown as above and the court case was reported in a newspaper so the 'facts' are third hand accounts.
Deleted User wrote: » Absolutely no context. It was represented as no different to a man walking up to a woman in the street and putting his hand down her jeans. But you already knew that.
nullzero wrote: » So what you cited wasn't relevant.
kylith wrote: » Deleted User wrote: » Absolutely no context. It was represented as no different to a man walking up to a woman in the street and putting his hand down her jeans. But you already knew that. We all already know the context of this incident.
Glass fused light wrote: » Yeah every case of sexual assault is exclusively and exactly the same.
Wibbs wrote: » One hopes. The case of the guy in the London tube station who was accused by some actress or other of digitally penetrating her also had video evidence which showed he merely walked by her and with some distance between them and that took nearly a year before his name was cleared.
Glass fused light wrote: » like what Wibbs had described : unknown as Wibbs has not made a full disclosure of what "noted girlfriends who woke me up from sleep in a sexual manner" involved. (PS Wibbs, no additional disclosure is requested by me.)or were more serious acts also involved
sbsquarepants wrote: » What was the story there? I only came across it earlier today - did she invent the whole thing, or mistake him for someone else?
Either way, how it can take a year and get to a courtroom before somebody with some authority and cop on says "no, this guy clearly didn't do that" is unbelievable. In fact in the story I read it says the prosecution actually slowed the video to make it appear that he had the time to do it - that's shocking!
ash23 wrote: » So something is wrong and not acceptable. But we should just ignore it and of anyone chooses to not ignore it, they are vilified and told they should just put up with it. And the person continues to do it because they can. So while court might seem excessive, that is the legal system. It's how we decide if someone did something wrong and if they should be punished for it. If there is another way that offers a better solution and isn't "ignore it" I'm all for it.
jmayo wrote: » Can I ask what you and indeed a lot of posters here what they think the punishment should be for this offense? Should he put on the sex offenders register like paedophiles and rapists? Should he face mandatory counseling? Should he face a custodial sentence?
kylith wrote: » We get this in every thread of this kind. Do some people really have difficulty telling the difference between a loved and trusted romantic partner’s actions and a virtual or complete stranger’s actions?
ash23 wrote: » If it were a workplace and someone hugged a person and slipped their hand into their trousers would that be ok? We should just shrug it off? Why should we accept someone over stepping the mark in a bar or a club?
ash23 wrote: » Context is what you're missing. I was replying to a post that basically said it was to be expected in a club. My point was that we don't go into a club and leave our rights at the door. If it's not acceptable to do that to a person in a workplace or a shop or park or any other place then it should not be ok in a pub or club.
nullzero wrote: » You've convinced me, let's get all people who touch inappropriately up in front of a judge right away, there is no other logical way of dealing with this epidemic.
Olsky wrote: » In my opinion the puritanism and sexual repression demanded by the #metoo movement has begun to exceed anything achieved by the catholic church at the height of their powers or the victorian puritans centuries ago. Having largely succeeded in getting rid of any flirting or physical contact "in the workplace" they have now turned their attention to "inappropriate" touching in nightclubs. Any like any orthodoxy people are terrified of challenging it.
Read the court report on the trial below and give your opinion. ... The trial before continues.
munstermagic11 wrote: » Wrong. You introduced the workplace. Nobody has said you lose your rights, you are introducing that yourself. And you continue to miss the context. It’s not the workplace. It’s not a shop or park. It’s a club. People are out on the pickup. The typical PC brigade stuff, trying to out PC others. No wonder the extreme right like Trump/Brexit are winning when the extreme left are focused on stuff like this. The money/resources wasted on this when there are real victims that need help.
ash23 wrote: » Just because someone is out on "the pickup" doesn't give them the right to put their hands in someone's trousers.
ash23 wrote: » An attempted kiss is easily enough avoided. A hand down trousers groping your bottom is not.
nullzero wrote: » But Wibbs felt he hadn't been sexually assaulted
Wibbs wrote: » A partner? So in a previous post I noted girlfriends who woke me up from sleep in a sexual manner. I didn't ask them to do so, I certainly didn't extend any vocalised permission to them, or have some back and forth consent debate on what I would or wouldn't be into. Have I been sexually assaulted? If I did similar with a girlfriend would she have a case? TBH I would view anybody who would suggest I was within an asses roar of being sexually assaulted as addled in the head.
nullzero wrote: » and the case you cited failed to back up your point,
nullzero wrote: » which leaves me wondering what your argument is beyond your own prejudice.
Criminal Law (Sexual Offences) Act 2017 48. The Act of 1990 is amended by the substitution of the following section for section 9: “9. (1) A person consents to a sexual act if he or she freely and voluntarily agrees to engage in that act. (2) A person does not consent to a sexual act if— (a) ...., (b) he or she is asleep or unconscious,
Wibbs wrote: » Short of in the wee hours a girlfriend shoving an ungreased pineapple up my fundament for the lulz, I can't see how serious it could get TBH GFL.
Wibbs wrote: » They are my girlfriends; life, romantic and sexual partners and part of that for me is that my tingly parts are on the menu whenever they might desire that. If I'm not in the humour for whatever reason, or don't like something in particular then I'd say it and would expect and know them to be cool with that. And that goes vice versa.
Wibbs wrote: » The thoughts of having to go through some series of constant consent shite with a lover, or that same lover would take umbrage because I woke up with my hand on her naked posterior would have me out the door faster than a cat in a rocking chair showroom.
Wibbs wrote: » In my experience it's either a major sexual incompatibility(which is fine, folks differ, but a dead loss longterm), a sign of "delicateness", or a power/control trip. The latter would almost guarantee No Access signage up for sexy time after the relationship got locked down. Twice a year and a begrudged puritan hand shandy for Xmas for being a good little boy. I have seen men and yep women in relationships like that almost begging for intimacy or even *gasp* a good root. Feck that noise.
glass fused light wrote: I don't get the weird idea that it's wrong to check that a partner is ok with what is happening by using words. If the person can't do that, then prehaps they need to question if they should be doing what they are doing with the person they are doing it with.
munstermagic11 wrote: » Don’t go dancing, touching another man (that isn’t your husband to be)