Gintonious wrote: » We basically have a 2 tier F1 now. The top 3 teams cars lapped everyone today...everyone.
chicorytip wrote: » Most F1 drivers are the sons of wealthy and ambitious fathers who bankroll their careers. Motor Racing is a very expensive pursuit so it's necessary to have serious financial backing in order to become established in the sport. Hamilton is a notable exception to this coming, as he does, from a poor background. His success is attributable to sheer persistance and determination as well as driving talent, obviously. I wouldn't be too hard on Verstappen. He seems pretty mature and level headed to me. Some of the older, less talented drivers are clearly jealous of him resulting in him receiving their unjustified criticism.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: With that said, I think Jos Verstappen is a scarry man. He’s determined he’s going to win his world championship by hook and or by crook. I suspect max has a touch of the Michael Jacksons about him where he never really had a childhood so he can’t really grow up. Max was in serious full time motor racing at an age when most people were acting the maggot and figuring out how to grow up.
PukkaStukka wrote: » We all remember Senna's first year in Toleman and winning brilliantly in this second Grand Prix for Lotus. Thereafter his '85 season was hampered by poor decisions he made in the cockpit which ran him out of fuel whilst in the lead. To address this, the then team manager Peter Warr has the turbo boost pressure preset and the boost knob removed so Senna would keep within the limits. And this actually got Senna into the right mindset which funnily enough was espoused by Jackie Stewart that "In order to finish first then first you must finish". That's where Max has gotten it wrong - I think he needs to mature as Senna did and loose some of the aggression that perpetuates mistakes. The raw speed is certainly there but he needs to drive with the brain as much as the right foot. I've no doubt that if he does this, he may well go on to become one the finest drivers of our era.
vectra wrote: » Consider Could Nothing solid in those words to be fair.
weisses wrote: » Luckily people who know what they are talking about have a different opinionhttps://www.thecheckeredflag.co.uk/2018/06/mercedes-toto-wolff-would-consider-hiring-max-verstappen/
Gintonious wrote: » https://twitter.com/autosport/status/1005054988140404736
Gintonious wrote: » The catch for RB is that he is hugely marketable for them, there is even talk of a Dutch GP now as well. He is also only 20, so would be a tad unfair if he were to get the bullet for good at this stage. Saying that though, he has hit someone or something at every GP so far this year, so RBs patience for him has to be wafer thin right now. If he has a clear GP this weekend and gets some points, he might be able to redeem himself. Its mad to think as well that without the mistakes he has made so far this year, he would be probably 2nd or 3rd in the standings easily. Right now he is 3 points ahead of Alonso (tells you how good Alonso is, and how bad Max is right now).
Joeface wrote: » i just looks like something for jousting
Top of visor opening lowered by 10mm to incorporate advanced ballistic protection that achieves unprecedented levels of safety during impact from debris. Extended areas of protection on sides to offer compatibility with latest single-seater headrests and closed car seat-side head protection systems, ensuring energy management is exactly where headrests are positioned. Helmet shell construction using advanced composite materials to ensure it is not only tough but also resistant to crushing and penetration. Test methods include variable crash speeds to account for different accidents and a range of weights to account for different mass headforms.
vectra wrote: » I said it from day one. He has zero respect for anyone else on the track, I am seriously hoping this crash sequence will continue and he gets a Danny Kvyat as a result. He is an absolute danger to be on track with. Bring back Maldo :pac::pac:
H3llR4iser wrote: » New "pearl" from Max - "One more crash question and I might headbutt someone"http://www.espn.co.uk/f1/story/_/id/23723550/max-verstappen-one-more-crash-question-headbutt How incredibly stereotypical. I'm starting to think this isn't just another young lad believing himself to be God's gift to mankind, this fella might actually be as stupid as he comes across.
Gintonious wrote: » He is well on track to be another "what could have been" so.
g1983d wrote: » Guess his father taught him a thing or 2
Harika wrote: » I think this was mostly in the aero department, as they had no team anymore no development was needed there. Mercedes always had a powerful but thirsty engine, what helped Renault in the pre MGUK area.
skipper_G wrote: » Was watching the missed apex podcast series they did with Matthew Carter who was team manager at Lotus (now Renault). Well worth listening to for plenty of reasons, but one was his comments about Renault engines. *In the aftermath of multiple championship wins with Red Bull, they took the foot off the gas and reduced their workforce while Mercedes for example was massively expanding in preparation for the hybrid engines. *I'm paraphrasing because I can't remember which episode it was in.