Ubbquittious wrote: » No shortage of lads who seem to think they're entitled to be paid €100 to pull a washing machine out from the wall, gawk at it for a minute or two and say Ah sure it's fecked really. I could possibly fix it but it will cost at least half the cost of a new oneHow much is reasonable? Bout 3 fiddy?
kneemos wrote: » Call out charges are a scam. Getting paid to go to work basically.
Ubbquittious wrote: » kneemos wrote: » Call out charges are a scam. Getting paid to go to work basically. Maybe so but I can see how they become a necessary evil. If the washing machine lad doesn't charge he'll be like a blue arsed fly calling every biddy who wants to spend half an hour cribbing that the machine didn't quite get rid of the Guinness stain on her blouse
greencap wrote: » got to consider the cost of the callout to the guy. he's got the cost of the van, the insurance, the petrol, maintenance. just to be available to come to you. before any business is conducted. divide all that up by the number of jobs.
kneemos wrote: » Every business has overheads.
greencap wrote: » and you want to make use of those overheads for free?
kneemos wrote: » I want to charge for work,not getting there.
Del2005 wrote: » So bring your item to the repairer instead of the calling them out. I know a person who was a plumber. He'd have to charge €100 for a job to cover tax, insurance, van tax and commercial insurance, tools and make a living. He got out of the game when his competition were lads on the dole charging €50 cash in hand. No one calls the legitimate person because they charge too much and then complain when they get cowboys.
damianch wrote: » It's just hard to justify a €100 call out for a dishwasher or something like that to find out its banjaxed, when you can get a new one for €200 in Powercity
jonon9 wrote: » Blame the manufactures for making it cheaper to replace than to fix, they want you to buy new not fix old. Also if the repair guy is running a legitimate business than his got to cover himself.
damianch wrote: » Don't disagree, just stating the dilemma for the customer as to why they would be reluctant to pay above a certain point for a call out.
bucketybuck wrote: » Far more pertinent to the OP is the price point where the callout is worth it to the technician. Because that is the real important factor, that technician isn't attending for the craic or because he is charitable, he is doing it because financially it is worth his time and effort. And without a callout charge it probably isn't.