Gael85 wrote: » Clare not a bad side. Colm Collins has worked wonders with a limited pool of resources. They lost 7 players that started against Mayo in Qualifiers last year. A lot of the top club players wont commit to county scene and other players have committed to the hurlers. Kerry wouldn't have them issues
ShamoBuc wrote: » Surely ' give youth a chance ' is done by having 7 debutants.
Amprodude wrote: » Surely after today Kerry will take some stopping in winning Sam. Solid performance.
dobman88 wrote: » Yeah Clare aren't a bad side. They only lost by 22 points. I actually heard some Clare fans walking out afterwards delighted that they didn't concede any goals. Clare are a piss poor side and it showed today
dobman88 wrote: » Gael85 wrote: » Clare not a bad side. Colm Collins has worked wonders with a limited pool of resources. They lost 7 players that started against Mayo in Qualifiers last year. A lot of the top club players wont commit to county scene and other players have committed to the hurlers. Kerry wouldn't have them issues Yeah Clare aren't a bad side. They only lost by 22 points. I actually heard some Clare fans walking out afterwards delighted that they didn't concede any goals. Clare are a piss poor side and it showed today
Boom__Boom wrote: » On Doonacha playing with Cromane - he didn't play a single minute in the league due to injury, so it makes sense for him to get some game-time with the club. Regarding Clare, to be fair to them they didn't come and shut up shop and go ultra-defensive, which they could have done if their only interest was in keeping the margin down. I definitely got the feeling that they turned their card in early enough in the first half and by half time pretty much the entire team's main concern seemed to be not picking up any injuries or suspensions ahead of the qualifiers. I wouldn't be too shocked to see them go on a run in the qualifiers if they get any sort of decent draw (they've might well be due a bit of luck in terms of the qualifier draws) There will be tougher days ahead for the Kerry forwards I'd imagine. As for Kerry it was job done and we're up and running. Lots of positives and it would feel a bit churlish to go pointing out the negatives. The fact that the match was over so quickly as a contest though means there is a bit of an asterisk against it and makes it that bit harder to analyse. The aul enemy across the border in their new stadium in a few weeks will probably tell us a lot more about where we are. Maybe it's my age but a Saturday evening Munster final feels all kinds of wrong to me.
Amprodude wrote: » Should be a handy win for Kerry in pairc ui chaoimh. Cork camp all in disarray.
Same As wrote: » Have I missed something here?
dobman88 wrote: » No. Amprodude comes out with the same shtick this time every year. Play up Kerry to the hilt and play down anyone they play. Then when they lose starts with the "how did they lose that" posts. Don't feed it etc etc.
Amprodude wrote: » It's an honest assessment I feel. Kerry are the form team and they are looking pretty good now. Cork be doing well to hold them to <20 points..Clare were a fantastic team and really weren't up to dismantling Kerry.
Poor_old_gill wrote: » When does the novelty of being an internet wind-up merchant wear off?
Mr. Incognito wrote: » When you add them to your ignore/ block list. And you really should. Was at the Game. P Geaney was motm for me by a mile. The conditions were cauldron hot. Kerry ran out of steam halfway through the second half and 7 hungry subs came on and really upped the pace of the game. Lads are obviously playing for places. It remains to be seen how they do against Cork in Cork which will be a stiffer test but this Clare team have given us some frights in the last few years and Kerry simply blew them away The pace at which they passed the ball and the interplay was the quickest I've ever seen from a Kerry team. They are a very well coached side.
ShamoBuc wrote: » Cork had better give ye an infinitely better game than Clare did. That said, I find it hard not to see in or around a 10 point victory for Kerry. That's not playing up Kerry or playing down Cork. It's simply a very realistic outcome.
brocbrocach wrote: » Any obvious change in style?
keane2097 wrote: » I have genuinely never seen anything like what I saw from Kerry on Sunday before in several regards.
brocbrocach wrote: » How so? Emphasis on quick ball? You won't be giving away any secrets!
dobman88 wrote: » :pac: :pac: Do ye see what I mean?? Lol I have to applaud your consistency anyway. Fair play.
keane2097 wrote: » I have genuinely never seen anything like what I saw from Kerry on Sunday before in several regards. I am a lot more confident of having to eat my words about a management bereft of ideas and nous in the coming months.
keane2097 wrote: » Aside from shooting when having advantage there definitely seemed to be a shot clock mentality to Kerry's attacking play in general. One of the best aspects to Dublin's play in recent years has been the speed with which they work a shot opening on the majority of their plays - it would be nice to think we were starting to try and do something similar.
Amprodude wrote: » I thought Kerry had their own style? Its not good if they have to copy Dublins. Just saying.
Bass Reeves wrote: » You again show how little your knowledge is of Kerry football
mickeyk wrote: » I think the biggest changes were the movement up top and the additional pace in the half forwards. I really like Donaghy and I’m glad he’s still there as an option but we have been very static in attack in the past when he is on the edge of the square. JOD dropped deep a lot and the other two never stopped running and making space. Paul Geaney was superb as always, Clifford was well watched and will hopefully grow in to the role. Having genuine pace in the half forwards now is very welcome indeed. I wonder where Donnacha fits in when he comes back. White and Murphy in particular did well coming from deep. Moran had a slow day and probably needed that game to shake off the ring rust, hopefully he is back to himself for the final. Very good performance all around but we need to see more as Clare had thrown in the towel before half time.