Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » No idea, and as I said "final totals" Back in 2011 GE the Exit poll showed far smaller return for FF than actually happened, people were ashamed to even tell a pollster they voted FF. Not saying that is the case here but the final totals will obviously be a truer reflection than any exit poll.
Sofiztikated wrote: » What paragon of virtue will you be moving to?
RobertKK wrote: » Taytoland wrote: » Do the No side have the political numbers to block it in the Dail? If you lose you lose. Should just accept it. A bit like the remainers in the UK over Brexit who are still whining and crying about it two years later. Or move to NI which won't be getting rid of it's abortion laws anytime soon. There won't be any problems for the legislation in my opinion. SF will have an EGM to change their position to the government legislation.
Taytoland wrote: » Do the No side have the political numbers to block it in the Dail? If you lose you lose. Should just accept it. A bit like the remainers in the UK over Brexit who are still whining and crying about it two years later. Or move to NI which won't be getting rid of it's abortion laws anytime soon.
suicide_circus wrote: » But why should he pay maintenance for a child he wanted legally aborted? He should be able to have a say over his reproductive responsibility like women will now have.
RobertKK wrote: » Yes and isn't that why the politicians are in the parliament - by the will of the people, you think people who voted for Ronan Mullin or other pro-life politicians didn't know their position or have expectations of them when it comes to certain votes?
The_Brood wrote: » yes, but then it becomes a question of finances. If the man who is the actual father of the child should have the option of not paying for the child - why would other taxpayers then have to be forced into paying for the child?
captbarnacles wrote: » I'll go first: we've had enough of you in politics Ronan
Bannasidhe wrote: » Did you read what I said? I said IF he rocks up years later having decided he wants to daddy after all having declined to daddy in the beginning then he should backdate the maintenance he didn't pay during his not-daddying period. Esstentially if he doesn't want to daddy a baby or toddler but quite fancies having a daddy weekend kick about with a 12 year old then he must recognise that there are back payments due for the previous years as he merely postponed daddying. If he fecks off for ever then let him go. Nobody needs a 'parent' who doesn't want to be a parent and is only there due to coercion. That's my opinion anyway. Keep in mind it is often the DSP who are interested in men stumping up cash so they don't have to - lots of women quite willing and able to financially support themselves would be very happy if their 'babydaddy' fecked off. Just like lots of men wish they were allowed a greater chance to be a real father. Not to mention those ex-couples who can't stand the sight of each other but have no choice due to 'sharing' children. Far too often the poor kids get used as pawns in a battle between two adults who are acting like eejits. Did you not see those posters on lamppost 3 years ago telling us all children need a Mammy and a Daddy???
Taytoland wrote: » Interesting times for Catholic conservatism. The Catholic church is on the back foot in Ireland now and I find myself a bit sad about that oddly enough.
tigger123 wrote: Still can't get over the margins in places like Sligo and Roscommon.
tigger123 wrote: » It'll be interesting to see if there's any pushback for Ronan at the next Seanad elections.
suicide_circus wrote: » Oh grand I wasn't too sure from your post. Absolutely if the chap wants to be in the child's life he should have the right to do so. If he asked for an abortion but the pregnancy goes ahead he should have the right to not be involved in any way. It's about the right to choose.
Sheeps wrote: » The RTE exit poll that says 48% of voters overall were against abortion on demand up to 12 weeks.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » The Healy Rae's and McGraths of this world are very much in touch with their electorate, general elections will tell you that.
tigger123 wrote: » Still can't get over the margins in places like Sligo and Roscommon.
RobertKK wrote: » He can still represent No voters by voting against legislation if he wants which is democracy.
Zubeneschamali wrote: » Said the bitterly disappointed Robert.
Shurimgreat wrote: » Strange one that alright. If someone had a good understanding of the implications of a yes vote they would know the proposed legislation is ready to go and will be enacted in the next few months including the part about unrestricted abortion up to 12 weeks.So its hard to understand how close to 20% voted in favour of something they are actually against. It seems they didn't fully understand what they were voting for.
BarryD2 wrote: » Yep, the fact that he gets elected in UCC says something about the older graduates of that university. Think though, that the shock waves of this result will cause a rethink. Reckon he's gone next time.
Shurimgreat wrote: » Strange one that alright. If someone had a good understanding of the implications of a yes vote they would know the proposed legislation is ready to go and will be enacted in the next few months including the part about unrestricted abortion up to 12 weeks. So its hard to understand how close to 20% voted in favour of something they are actually against. It seems they didn't fully understand what they were voting for.
Grayson wrote: » Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » No idea, and as I said "final totals" Back in 2011 GE the Exit poll showed far smaller return for FF than actually happened, people were ashamed to even tell a pollster they voted FF. Not saying that is the case here but the final totals will obviously be a truer reflection than any exit poll. Taytoland wrote: » Interesting times for Catholic conservatism. The Catholic church is on the back foot in Ireland now and I find myself a bit sad about that oddly enough. I don't. I grew up in a time when our education on abortion was to have Youth Defence visit the school.