dieselbug wrote: » Well they shouldn't be hearing it in either place and if a coach needs to swear at 10 year old'd to get his message across then he's not fit to be coaching them. It's not the 10 year old's shortcoming.
PARlance wrote: » Wow. I love the internet.
Bonniedog wrote: » As someone who was involved with under 12s and 14s at same time, the notion of putting 11 year olds, never mind under tens against 14s is mad. There is huge difference in development of lads between those ages. A 9 year old playing hurling against someone 4/5 years older! Now, that be child abuse in my opinion.
Billgirlylegs wrote: » Maybe there is a directive from HQ about it - It's a while since I was involved in under age GAA, so apologies if that is the case. Are you saying that clubs never play U12s on U14 teams? I found the problem was U14 / U16, and some early maturers at 15 could be quite physically imposing. BTW these two were 10yo as stated in the article, and they were training with U14s - not Under 10s playing 14 year olds. I'm not sure at that age that there is that big a difference/problem.Anyway, didn't these boys just go training with the U14s and were invited to join them for the game by the manager?
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Was that corroborated with the manager himself? Or is it the version the parents told kimmage? It just seems strange that there would be such a differing idea between club members. You would wonder if that invitation was to come along to the game rather than actually tog out for example...
Billgirlylegs wrote: » Maybe there is a directive from HQ about it - It's a while since I was involved in under age GAA, so apologies if that is the case. Are you saying that clubs never play U12s on U14 teams? I found the problem was U14 / U16, and some early maturers at 15 could be quite physically imposing. BTW these two were 10yo as stated in the article, and they were training with U14s - not Under 10s playing 14 year olds. I'm not sure at that age that there is that big a difference/problem. Anyway, didn't these boys just go training with the U14s and were invited to join them for the game by the manager?
Billgirlylegs wrote: » I don't know - all of my information is coming from the article/this thread. as far as I know, the assertions in the article have not been refuted. Wasn't it this match that the dressing room scene happened? "You have a jersey today but ..." That suggests to me that the U14 manager was happy to bring them along as part of his setup. As I said previously, if the U14 team were winning their matches, why would the manager call all this mess down on himself?And was there any connection with the U12 bad results and the behaviour of their manager?
cantwbr1 wrote: » A benign interpretation of the jersey/dressing room incident is that the secretary was telling the kids that while they were getting a jersey at sitting on the bench that day but in future they couldn’t go with the U14s and he phrased it badly or the lads picked it up wrong. It was also my understanding that kids can only play up 2 years, so U10s shouldn’t have been near the 14s
blanch152 wrote: » It hasn't been disputed by anyone that the U-12 manager was using bad language to kids. The club didn't act on this. In fact, it seems that the club were prepared to defend the coach all the way and subsequently broke the confidence of the child complaint process. We don't need to know any more than that. The club needs to act in respect of the coach and the relevant officials who broke the confidence.Deliberately breaking the confidence of a child complaint process is enough to have the club suspended. I don't think posters on this thread realise how serious such a situation is treated. That breach of confidence amounts to child abuse in and of itself.
nice_guy80 wrote: » But sure the parents know best
jmayo wrote: » As for Athenry I have heard there were issues with the particular parents and their kids. I think we have all seen it where parents think their kids deserve better and are being victimised or some such.
jmayo wrote: » But the Athenry club made a total bags of this by not doing something when asked and the way they garnered support from the other parents was bullying and not very nice at all, which means they only have themselves to blame for the ban. The sad fact is other kids, coaches and parents in no way involved also suffer.
Glass fused light wrote: » If Athenry officials had not held a public meeting that may have been more relevant. The fact they publicly announced that they had a problem with the parents objecting to a child safety rules being breached and spun it as a parental problem just validated the breach of process problem. The fact that there was a Gardai report of assault back in 2015, should have made the officials sit up and notice to make sure that the coaches were covered by sticking to the child protection rules like glue. They should never have tried to garner support to begin with. They should have tried to investigate and gather the facts, examine the facts in light of the rules and at least tried to reach a conclusion as to whether or not there was a problem. If the club can learn from this the other children will be the long term winners.
jmayo wrote: » Hey if you look at my earlier posts here I have been the one claiming that the public meeting where the parents concerned were not invited and then the "show of support" at the second committee meeting in the hotel, contrary to the express instructions of the committee at the first meeting to keep this confidential, was really bullying and not on. At this stage I think some people in the Athenry club hierarchy need to be removed so that the club can move into the 21st century and for the long term good of the club. It doesn't matter if they have devoted their lives to the club, their operating methods are from a past we all need to move on from and they don't appear to be willing to learn times have bloody well changed.
Smith614 wrote: » Most clubs would have a rule that u cant play in an older grade if you dont play in ur own age group. I've seen u12 players not wanting to play u12 but turning up for the u14 team. If a parent or player doesnt like a coach/selector on a team they cant decide not to play with that team & play with older team.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » I believe that was the intention, personally. I dont believe he was wrong to convey this message, it was just the way he did it that was wrong (completely wrong at that). So that raises the question, if he hadnt made a dogs dinner of it, how would we view this scenario? I actually think kimmage has loaded the article a bit by glossing over the whole putting 10 year old boys up against 13 and 14 year olds (skipping the u12s in the process) part. I find it strange that he didnt attempt to speak to the u14 manager who supposedly welcomed them with open arms, because he is a key figure in this, as his apparent approval, normalises an action for the reader that is in fact highly unusual. When you consider that the u14 team was going very well, which would suggest that this u14 team probably contains some of the best u14 players in the county, along with collectively being arguably the best group of 13/14 year olds in the county, surely two 10 year olds landing onto the panel requires more exploration in the piece? I think these things werent done because they didnt suit the angle he wanted to pursue, which is his prerogative, but then it doesnt really offer a complete set of details either. Im not trying to excuse the secretary, Im just conscious that the details offered seem to direct a particular narrative to the reader.
gifted wrote: » I wonder if the Parents must knew a thing or two about hurling????.....
Happyilylost wrote: » I...One of the parents (the dad) is an Athenry man all his life. And hurled for Athenry. He spoke to the U14 coach before anything happened. ...
evolving_doors wrote: » That's not the issue. Talking about something which happened subsequently is moot. You may as well be saying it was wrong that the young lads were let have ice cream before their dinners... after being sworn at and held in a room on their own by an adult. Unless of course it's trying to sully the reputation and motives of the parents.
evolving_doors wrote: » Unless of course it's trying to sully the reputation and motives of the parents.
danganabu wrote: » I have a strange feeling that this rule may find its way into the Athenry rule book in the not so distant future!!